Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Supercomputer complexes
 
 [Computers and locations] [The Bases visited by the heroes]

[Back to homepage]
 
 


Computers and locations
 

The Supercomputers of the series, Franz Hopper's excepted, are located in places where they are useful. Therefore, they can mainly be found in scientific or military facilities.
Let us immediately kill the joy and give some criticism: given the cost of those machines, it is very unlikely that they were left in abandoned bases such as the ones in New Mexico and Siberia.

These Supercomputers generate only one Sector each.
This underlines the idea that our heroes' Supercomputer is, by far the most powerful machine at a global scale. Not only can it generate a whole world with five Sectors, but it can also launch returns to the past, which other Supercomputers cannot do. Another significant fact: it is able to manage the scanners as well as the materialisation and virtualisation processes. These protocols, though they are part of running Lyoko, are a pretty feature. They require tremendous amounts of energy and what's more, require an exponential memory since it must contain our heroes' memories and all the information concerning their bodies, converted into digital data.

Except for Hopper's machine, Supercomputers are mainly used to perform calculations of an incredible complexity and length, as you can guess. Nowadays, those are used by the military, meteorologists, or researchers (like NASA, for instance).

If you want to know more about Supercomputers, you can check various sites like Wikipedia; but to look at the technology from the perspective of the series, check Mister Gui's file and Korki's “XANA and the Supercomputer”, “Lyoko” and “the scanners”.

Their location is consistent with the Sector they generate. Thus, out of four Replikas we saw, the Ice Sector was generated by a computer located in the Arctic Circle, the Forest Sector in a jungle, the Desert Sector in a...well, desert, and the Replika of Sector Five was in a space station. There is absolutely no reason why it should be necessary, and it was probably decided by the writers to reinforce the coherence of the episodes.

Image

Since we now know that XANA controlled hundreds of Replikas, we can have fun trying to guess the likely locations for all the Supercomputers XANA had infected.

Those that generate Ice Sector Replikas could be found in other parts of Siberia, in bases or abandoned factories of the former USSR. Another believable place would be the Antarctic. This continent (though this designation is controversial) is scarcely populated and different countries hold parts of it (mainly Australia, the United Kingdom and France) where they installed research facilities.

The Replikas of the Mountain Sector could be located almost anywhere. You don't need to go very high up to encounter military bases (for instance, Mont Verdun, on the hills near Lyon). On the heights, the most common bases are weather stations.

The Desert Replikas are generated by Supercomputers whose localisation is less easy to figure out. Of course, we are not short of American deserts where there could be military bases: the area of only one American desert can be equal to that of France! That's plenty of room.
In the Sahara, we can come across weather stations once in a while, but it is unlikely that they were equipped with such machines.

The Replikas of the Forest are probably located in the Amazon rainforest, or in equatorial Africa.

As for those that generate Carthage, it's anyone's guess: they could be undersea, in other space stations or even in great cities, why not?

If you want to know what XANA was up to in those facilities, visit the pages 2 and 3 of its section.
 

The Bases visited by the heroes
 
The Supercomputer in the Amazon


Image Image

Replika generated: Forest
Localisation: Amazon Forest, Brazil
Output: Cybernetic spiders
Defences: Xanafied scientists and cybernetic spiders
Facility destroyed by: Ulrich and Odd

This was the first facility visited by our heroes. We remember how surprised Odd and Aelita were when, after the Teleportation, they found themselves in the middle of the jungle, wearing their virtual outfits!
Indeed, this base was located in the Amazon rainforest, inside a facility covered in lichen and other plants.

Given its equipment – vivariums and such – the base was most likely dedicated to studying the flora and fauna of that endangered region of the world.

Given the naturally hostile environment (I won't linger on boas, tarantulas and other animal monstrosities that can be encountered in this forest), the base is equipped with a top-quality security system.
The doors are self-closing, there is a whole-building alarm system, and some rooms are secured with entry codes. Odd and Aelita, then Ulrich and Yumi, must confront all of these obstacles (with various levels of success and finesse...).

The Supercomputer itself sure is one of the best protected in the series. It is surrounded by a forcefield for withstanding external attacks.
During their first mission, after doing a bit of exploration, discover the room where the computer is and manage to destroy the field generator, but they are deteleported before they can proceed to the coup de grâce. The xanafied scientists of the facility cost them too much time (episode 78 “Lab Rat”).
Ulrich and Yumi proceed less brilliantly (episode 79 “Bragging Rights”). While Aelita had to use her Creativity power to open the door that protects the Supercomputer room, Ulrich simply breaks the console controlling the door. This piece of strong-arm tactics turns out to be pretty ineffective, since our heroes are now unable to access to the computer. The Teleported Lyokowarriors then turn against the Supercomputer's power generators; Ulrich destroys one, but he then realises that a backup generator unfortunately takes over.
Then, Yumi and Ulrich are deteleported by the cybernetic spiders made by XANA.
In the end, after a splendid fight, Odd is the one who finally manages to destroy the backup generator.

Image Image

Image

The Supercomputer in New Mexico


Image Image

Replika generated: Desert
Localisation: New Mexico, United States of America
Output: Robotic components
Defences: Teleported Kankrelats
Facility destroyed by: Ulrich

This Replika was discovered by Ulrich and Aelita.
However, their first mission is very short and it is mainly about exploring and seeing that XANA is manufacturing printed circuits, in an abandoned military base in New Mexico. However, our two heroes are forced to go back to Lyoko, then to Earth, to protect Jeremy and the Supercomputer from William (episode 81 “A Lack of Goodwill”). So they deteleport each other.

The heroes then come back to this base: Ulrich and Yumi go together and immediately have to face Teleported Kankrelats, until they get to the Supercomputer room, which has been infested by the little creatures.
Bravely fighting their way through, they take the time to gather information and find out that the circuits are meant to control robots such as the spiders they have seen in the Amazon.
Yumi is then needed on Lyoko to protect the Skid from William so she deteleports. As for Ulrich, after a splendid kata, he gets rid of the Kankrelats that dwell in the Supercomputer room and thrusts his twin blades into the computer, wrecking it completely (episode 83 “Hard Luck”).

Image Image

Image

The Supercomputer in the space station


Image Image

Replika generated: Sector 5
Localisation: In orbit
Output: Spiky floating balls
Defences: Spiky floating balls
Facility destroyed by: Yumi and Odd

Odd and Yumi write a new page in history: they are the first polymorphic spectres to go into Space. The Supercomputer that generates the Replika of Carthage is indeed located in a space station that hasn't been opened yet.

After enjoying the view of our planet from the skies, Odd and Yumi head for the computer they must destroy. Their main concern is not to leave any trace: since the station is just about to be inaugurated, they can't afford it. Before they have the chance to think it over, they are attacked by floating balls that are covered in spikes. They flee though the station, until Odd activates a lever that opens an airlock and ejects them into outer space.

Once they're back near the machine they have to destroy, our heroes break a water pipe and watch the H2O spread throughout the station, touching the electrical components of the Supercompter and sabotaging everything (episode 87 “A Space Oddity”).

Image Image

Image

The Supercomputer in Siberia


Image Image

Replika generated: Ice
Localisation: Sakha Republic, Russia
Output: Cyborgs
Defences: Xanafied William, cyborgs
Facility destroyed by: Nobody

The last of XANA's Supercomputers our heroes find is Soviet. Yumi and Odd discover it in an abandoned facility in Siberia, in the Sakha Republic to be precise.
After going though the factory and crossing swords with an unleashed xanafied William, our two Lyoko Warriors discover brains floating in a greenish liquid.
They find the Supercomputer, but unfortunately the mission is aborted as an emergency reaction to the appearance of a new monster on the Replika: the Kolossus. The new priority is now to come back to the Skid and get it to safety (episode 92 “Cold Sweat”).

Another mission takes place in that base. The objective, however, won't be to destroy the computer, but to use it to launch a program that could bring William back to Earth for good (episode 93 “Down to Earth”).
Odd and Aelita then discover a whole army of cyborgs created by XANA. Odd, then Aelita, keep them at bay and hold them back long enough for Aelita to launch the program from a terminal before she is deteleported.

On the Replika, the mission ends in a tie: William is back, the Skid is lost.

Image Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Les complexes des Supercalculateurs
 
 [Des machines et des lieux] [Les Bases visitées par les héros]

[Retour à l'accueil]
 
 


Des machines et des lieux
 
Les supercalculateurs de la série, hormis celui de Franz Hopper, sont placés dans des lieux où ils ont une utilité. Leur emplacement sera donc principalement dans des complexes scientifiques ou militaires.
Autant faire le rabat-joie immédiatement et émettre une critique : Il est peu probable, vu le coût de ces machines qu'on en trouve laissée en plan dans des bases désaffectées comme celle du Nouveau-Mexique ou de Sibérie.

Ces Supercalculateurs ne génèrent qu'un Territoire.
Cela rejoint l'idée générale que le Supercalculateur des héros est de loin le plus puissant au niveau mondial. Celui-ci a la capacité de gérer un monde complet de 5 Territoires et surtout, il peut lancer des retours dans le temps, choses que les autres sont incapables de faire. Autre fait non négligeable, il est capable de gérer les scanographes et le processus de matérialisation. Ce protocole, s'il semble inclus dans la gestion de Lyoko, est bien à part. Il demande une énergie énorme et surtout une capacité mémorielle exponentielle car il doit stocker la mémoire des héros et toutes leurs informations corporelles, lesquelles doivent en plus être converties sous forme informatique.

Les Supercalculateurs, autres que celui du père d'Aelita, servent principalement, comme leur nom l'indique, à effectuer des supers calculs d'une complexité et d'une longueur incroyable. De nos jours, les Supercalculateurs sont utilisés par les services météorologiques ou les militaires ou encore la recherche (comme la NASA).

Pour en savoir plus sur les Supercalculateurs, vous pouvez consultez divers sites comme Wikipédia et pour en avoir une vision en échos avec la série, vous pouvez lire le dossier de Mister Gui et ceux de Korki sur « XANA et le Supercalculateur », « Lyoko » et « les scanners ».

Leur emplacement est lié directement au type de Territoire que la machine génère. Ainsi, sur les quatre Réplikas rencontrés, le Réplika Banquise était dans une zone polaire, le Réplika Forêt dans une zone forestière, le Réplika Désert dans une zone désertique et le Réplika du 5ème Territoire dans une station spatiale. Cela ne semble pas être une nécessité, cela dit, c'est assez symbolique de la part des rédacteurs.

Image

Vu qu'on sait maintenant que XANA contrôlait des centaines de Réplikas, on peut s'amuser à chercher des emplacements probables pour tous les Supercalculateurs que XANA possédait.

Ceux générant des Réplikas Banquise se seraient probablement trouvés dans d'autre coin de la Sibérie, dans d'autres bases ou usines désaffectées de l'ex-URSS. Pourtant, un autre endroit particulièrement plausible pour ces Supercalculateurs serait l'Antarctique. Bien que le continent controversé ne soit que très peu peuplé, les pays qui se le partagent (Je rappelle les principaux : Australie, Royaume-Uni et France) y possèdent des bases de recherches.

Ceux générant des Réplikas Montagnes auraient pu se trouver à bien des points. Il n'y a pas besoin de monter haut en altitude pour trouver des bases militaires (comme le Mont Verdun sur les collines qui bordent la ville de Lyon). Les bases les plus facilement repérables en altitude resteront les complexes météorologiques !

Les Réplikas Désert sont générés par des Supercalculateurs dont il est plus difficile de s'imaginer la localisation. Bien sûr, les déserts américains ne manquent pas de place pour accueillir les bases militaires des USA. Rien qu'un désert Américain peut avoir une superficie égale à la France. Ca laisse de la place.
Dans le Sahara, on peut croiser des stations de météos, mais peu de chance qu'elles soient équipées de telles machines.

Les Supercalculateurs qui génèrent les Réplikas Forêt se situent probablement dans la Forêt Amazonienne, voire la forêt équatoriale africaine.

Quant à ceux qui génèrent Carthage, toutes les idées sont ouvertes ! En mer, dans d'autres stations spatiales ou carrément dans des grandes villes ... Pourquoi pas ?

Pour savoir ce que XANA trafiquait dans ces complexes, visitez sa rubrique aux pages 2 et 3.
 

Les Bases visitées par les héros
 
Le Supercalculateur d'Amazonie


Image Image

Réplika généré : Forêt
Localisation : Forêt Amazonienne, Brésil
Fabrications : Araignées cybernétiques
Défenseurs : Scientifiques xanatifiés et araignées cybernétiques
Complexe détruit par : Ulrich et Odd

Premier des complexes visités par les héros, quelle ne fut pas la surprise d'Odd et Aelita quand, translatés, ils se retrouvèrent en pleine jungle, dans leur tenue virtuelle.
Le complexe est, en effet, en pleine forêt amazonienne, installé dans une base couverte de lichens et autres végétaux.

Au vu de son équipement, vivariums et compagnie, il s'agissait sûrement d'une base d'étude de la faune et de la flore de cette région menacée du globe.

Dans ce milieu naturel assez hostile (je ne mentionnerai pas les boas, mygale et autres monstruosités animalières qu'on peut croiser dans cette forêt et qui ont tendance à être abhorrées des jeunes filles), la base est équipée d'un système de protection très complet.
Les portes sont à fermeture automatique, une alarme est présente dans tout le complexe et certaines portes sont fermées par digicodes. C'est à tous ses obstacles qu'Odd et Aelita, puis Ulrich et Yumi seront confrontés (avec plus ou moins de succès et surtout avec plus ou moins de finesse...)

Le Supercalculateur lui-même est sûrement l'un des plus protégé de la série. Il possède un champ de force pour résister aux agressions extérieures.
Lors d'une première mission, Odd et Aelita, après avoir exploré, découvriront la salle de la machine, briseront le générateur de bouclier mais se verront détranslatés avant de pouvoir lancer le coup fatal. Les scientifiques xanatifiés du complexe leur auront fait perdre trop de temps (Episode 78 « Expériences »).
Ulrich et Yumi, eux, opérent avec moins de panache (Episode 79 « Arachnophobie »). Ulrich brise la commande d'ouverture de la porte menant à la salle du Supercalculateur. Aelita avait utilisé de son don pour ouvrir celle-ci, Ulrich a préféré la manière forte. Désormais incapables d'atteindre la machine, les translatés se retournent vers les générateurs d'énergie de la machine. Ulrich en détruit un et constatera avec dégout qu'un générateur de secours prend le relai.
Yumi et Ulrich seront ensuite détranslatés par les araignées cybernétiques conçues par XANA dans cette base.
C'est Odd qui parviendra, aux suites d'un superbe combat, à détruire le générateur auxiliaire de secours.

Image Image

Image

Le Supercalculateur du Nouveau Mexique


Image Image

Réplika généré : Désert
Localisation : Nouveau-Mexique, Etats-Unis d'Amérique
Fabrications : Composants de robots
Défenseurs : Kankrelats translatés
Complexe détruit par : Ulrich

Il fut découvert par Ulrich et Aelita.
Néanmoins, leur mission sera très brève et ne servira qu'à repérer les lieux et constater que XANA construit, dans une base militaire désaffectée du Nouveau-Mexique, des circuits imprimés. Les deux héros seront rappelés de force sur Lyoko puis sur Terre pour protéger Jérémie et leur Supercalculateur de William (Episode 81 « Œil pour Œil »). Ils s'entre détranslateront.

Les héros retournent dans cette base : Ulrich et Yumi partent ensemble et sont d'entrée confrontés à des Kankrelats translatés et ce jusqu'à la salle du Supercalculateur qui en pullulera.
Se battant avec vaillance tout au long de leur parcours, ils prennent le temps d'enquêter un peu, comprennent que ces circuits peuvent servir à contrôler des robots comme les araignées rencontrées en Amazonie.
Yumi sera requise sur Lyoko pour protéger le Skid de William et se détranslatera. Ulrich, lui, à la suite d'un splendide kata, se débarrasse des Kankrelats de la salle du Supercalculateur et plonge ses deux sabres au cœur de la machine, la mettant hors-course (Episode 83 « Superstition »).

Image Image

Image

Le Supercalculateur de la station spatiale


Image Image

Réplika généré : 5ème Territoire
Localisation : Atmosphère
Fabrications : Boules à pics flottantes
Défenseurs : Boules à pics flottantes
Complexe détruit par : Yumi et Odd

Odd et Yumi marqueront une nouvelle page de l'Histoire : Premiers spectres polymorphes à être allés dans l'Espace. Le Supercalculateur générant un Réplika Carthage se trouvera, en effet, dans une station spatiale encore non inaugurée.

Après avoir profité du spectacle de notre planète vue des cieux, Odd et Yumi se dirigent près de la machine à anéantir. Leur principal souci est de ne pas laisser de traces : La station étant internationale et prête à inaugurer, ils ne peuvent se le permettre. Le temps de réfléchir à comment procéder, ils se font attaquer par des boules à pics flottantes. Leur échappant à travers la station, Odd activera une manette qui ouvrira un sas, propulsant les boules piquantes dans le vide intersidéral.

De retour près de l'engin à détruire, les héros briseront une conduite d'eau et regarderont l'H2O se répandre dans la station, touchant les composants électrique et sabotant tout (Episode 87 « Planète bleue »).

Image Image

Image

Le Supercalculateur de Sibérie


Image Image

Réplika généré : Banquise
Localisation : Yakoutie, Russie
Fabrications : Cyborgs
Défenseurs : William Xanatifié, cyborgs
Complexe détruit par : Personne

Le dernier Supercalculateur de XANA que nos héros croisent est soviétique. Yumi et Odd en font la découverte dans une base désaffectée de Sibérie, en Yakoutie plus précisément.
Après avoir traversé l'usine et s'être accroché avec un William translaté déchainé, les deux Lyoko-guerriers découvrent des cervelles flottant dans un liquide verdâtre.
Ils trouvent le Supercalculateur. Hélas la mission est annulée de toute urgence : Le Kolosse arrivant sur le Réplika, il fallait revenir au Skid et mettre ce dernier à l'abri le plus rapidement possible (Episode 92 « Sueurs froides »).

Une seconde mission a lieu dans cette base. Pourtant le but ne sera pas de détruire le complexe informatique, mais d'y lancer un programme pour ramener William sur Terre pour de bon (Episode 93 « Retour »).
Odd et Aelita découvriront une pleine armée de cyborgs conçus par XANA. Odd, puis Aelita les tiennent en respect suffisamment de temps pour qu'Aelita lance le programme depuis le terminal, avant d'être détranslatée.

La suite sur Lyoko se conclura par un match nul : Retour de William, destruction du Skid.

Image Image