Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Hermitage
 
 [Return to the places menu]

[The Hermitage] [Once upon a time... The Hermitage] [The Hermitage at the time of the series] [Role of the Hermitage] [Important events that happened there]
 
 

The Hermitage
 
The Hermitage: a remote and lonely place! It's a retreat where one can devote themself to their work or peacefully meditate!

Image

By extension, it also denotes a hermit's house or a sort of remote sanctuary for monks and other religious people.
In France, «Ermitage» is a name given to many rustic homes. In the US, the name takes an H and it refers to two other famous buildings: The first one is a museum house built on a ground with a terrace that looks like the one from the series; the second is the house of the president Andrew Jackson...

A name that's intriguing at the very least, used for the house of a simple science teacher... But Franz Hopper isn't just a simple science teacher!
The Hermitage (which, technically speaking, doesn't look like a real hermitage), was the residence of Franz Hopper where the scientist lived, at first with his family, then, after the hypothetical death of his wife, as a hideaway from the Men in Black. It was, in a way, a retreat to finish his great project: Lyoko!

Today, it is only a shadow of its former state... But first, we have to guess how it happened...
 

Once upon a time... The Hermitage
 
Image

We can't claim for certain that Franz always lived in the Hermitage! In Aelita's flashback (Episode 52 “The Key”), we see the family reunited in a Swiss chalet, noticeably at the mountain.

We see it again when Aelita is a little bit older, in the Hermitage this time, for Christmas! We also see her mother comfortably settled in an armchair and Franz Hopper at the piano.

At this time, the Hermitage seems to be a radiant house like we all would like to live in as children in our parent's home. The outside of the place is eloquent! Large stairs, visibly made of marble, and quite a vast garden. Furthermore, the place is remote off in the woods in the middle of the Parisian suburbs. We're not going to evaluate the cost of the house, however it seems that Hopper had some money on him...

Inside, a warming atmosphere with a very well decorated interior. Carpet, trinkets, pretty furniture, sofa, lamp, also a bookcase and Hopper's piano as the final touch. The light floods in through the large windows reinforcing even more the glory of this building.
Besides the hall and the living room, we only see Aelita's bedroom! Entirely decorated in pink, we especially notice a fireplace of decorations, plushes and posters.

As for the rooms, the Hermitage contains two floors, so we can't surmise all the things within. The living room and the hall seem to take up the major part of the ground floor! Upstairs is surely where, in addition to Aelita's bedroom, Franz Hopper's bedroom can be found. According to the number of doors, we can deduce that the house contains other rooms, like a guest room, or perhaps even a little DIY workshop for Franz?

From the hall, we also reach some stairs which lead to an lower level. Regarding this, there is only a few information, just two facts about it that we know to tell the truth. The first fact is that we can find a door there which leads up to the garden. The second is that there's a heating room with an unknown purpose...

In the garden of the Hermitage, we find faucets still connected to the water as well as some pits, but above all, a door which leads to the sewers and from there to the factory, the laboratory of Franz Hopper!

It's through this path that Hopper runs away with Aelita, leaving the Hermitage without an owner.
 

The Hermitage at the time of the series
 
Image

Ten long years without an owner has transformed the Hermitage!
We can, of course, chalk up most of the worn damages to time: The layers of dust which cover the furniture, the wallpapers and the carpets tarnished and probably moth-eaten by the potential parasites...

Yet, the smashed closet doors, the knocked down furniture, the papers thrown all over the place, there's no doubt: the Hermitage may have been frisked and we're not surprised by the identity of the investigators: the men of Project Carthage!
The frisk doesn't really seem to have been too thorough though: many books are still in their place on the bookcase. Even Mister Puck hasn't been discovered in the hole on the wall behind the poster.

After all these years of emptiness, the hypothesis that the Hermitage may have been settled in for a time stays plausible. It also is curious that the world left this house to its own ruin without caring about what happened to the former occupiers. Wouldn't the State intercede? The heroes had only heard of a mortgage contract of the flat.
 

Role of the Hermitage
 
Image

The Hermitage is, since the first episode of season 2, a key element of the plot. Indeed, just from the point of view of the series, it's the third place which has an importance to the evolution of the story after Kadic and the Factory! In season 1, if other places were linked to the action, it was only because XANA attacked there. To see this old building appear suddenly in the cartoon generates some questions.

Then comes Aelita's visions! If the young girl gets them during all of season 2, these ones appear most of the time in the Hermitage and with her visions, a new key figure suddenly appears: Franz Hopper!
During season 2, the building in ruins is used as a “tool” to the evolution of the plot about Franz Hopper and Aelita's past. The viewer senses it, and his interest is maintained in this place which continues to make some appearances throughout the course of the episodes, like in episode 31 “Mister Puck” where the plush is found or episode 90 “Wrong Exposure” where a photo containing some notes by Franz Hopper is discovered.
When Aelita sees her memories when they are returned to her by Franz Hopper, the final mysteries are solved! We know that Aelita lived there with Franz Hopper before running away and being virtualized on Lyoko! The Hermitage slightly its interest after that point, unless of course some kind of revelation about the men in black takes place later on!

We are all the same only brought to see the Hermitage on a rare occasion: At first because Aelita, even before returning her memory, felt that something linked her to this house, a strong link which survived the years! It's for that reason that the young girl still goes in the ruins of her ancient house when she is deeply sad and needs some solitude.
The heroes also know that it's a sure retreat when they need to sum up the situation. Thus, it's to the Hermitage the heroes will go after William destroyed Lyoko, and there that they will receive a single message!

We still do not know the future of the Hermitage given that Franz Hopper is dead... Maybe Jeremy will tamper with the papers to get the rights to the house?
 

Important events that happened there
 
- June 6th 1994: Franz Hopper is found by the men in black who come to his home! He is forced to run away to Lyoko posthaste with his daughter, only leaving a plush behind, containing a key to a locker... (Flashback of the episode 52 “The Key”).

- Episode 27 “New Order”: Scared from her visions, Aelita arrives to the Hermitage. The heroes discover the house and are attacked there by XANA. The furniture thrown at them while Yumi and Ulrich were nearly cooked in the heating room of the basement! The heroes discover the way linking the Hermitage to the factory.

- Episode 28 “Unchartered Territory”: The heroes explore the Hermitage! They discover in particular the history book about the Punic Wars, which help Jeremy to insert the code Scipio for the first time!

- Episode 31 “Mister Puck”: The heroes go back to the Hermitage and guided by her visions, Aelita finds Mister Puck behind a poster in what was her bedroom.

- Episode 43 “XANA's Kiss”: After a fall out with Jeremy, Aelita takes refuge in the Hermitage! A polymorphic clone joins her and tries to drag her to Lyoko! Then an altercation follows within the group and a fight between Odd and the aforesaid clone.

- Episode 46 “Deja Vu”: XANA harasses Aelita with visions and wild imaginations. She goes to the Hermitage to find answers but only finds more hallucinations! It encourages her to go to Sector 5...

- "Episode 51 “Revelation”: Odd is trapped in a pit which fills up with water, because of a polymorphic clone. He is saved from drowning by Yumi.

- Episode 65 “Final Round”: The heroes meet up in the Hermitage after seeing the destruction of Lyoko. There, they receive a message coming from the network from Franz Hopper!

- Episode 70 “Skidbladnir”: The heroes christen the Skidbladnir.

- Episode 90 “Wrong Exposure”: The heroes find a photo of Franz Hopper and Aelita, containing notes that will permit Jeremy to create a new program.
 

 
 Discover the layout of the Hermitage in an image thanks to scans from the DS game from Aquatikelfik!

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

L'Ermitage
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[L'Ermitage] [Il était une fois... l'Ermitage] [L'Ermitage au moment de la série] [Rôle de d'Ermitage] [Evénements important qui s'y déroulent]
 
 

L'Ermitage
 
Ermitage : Lieux retiré, écarté et solitaire ! C'est une retraite où l'on peut s'adonner à des travaux ou bien à la méditation !
Par expansion, cela désigne aussi tantôt la demeure d'un ermite, tantôt une sorte de sanctuaire retiré pour moines et autres religieux.

Image

« Ermitage » est un nom porté par plusieurs maisons campagnardes en France. Aux USA, le nom prend un H et il renvoie à deux autres bâtisses célèbres : La première est une maison musée bâtie sur un terrain en terrasse et ressemble assez à celle de la série ; la seconde est la maison de l'ancien président Andrew Jackson...

Un nom pour le moins intrigant, porté par la demeure d'un simple professeur de sciences... Mais Franz Hopper n'est pas un simple professeur de sciences !
L'Ermitage (qui n'a, précisons-le tout de même, rien d'un réel ermitage), fut la demeure de Franz Hopper où le scientifique vécut, en famille tout d'abord, puis, après la mort hypothétique de sa femme, caché des hommes en noir. Ce fut en quelques sortes sa retraite pour finir son grand projet : Lyoko !

Aujourd'hui, elle n'est plus que l'ombre de ses ruines... Il faut d'abord se demander comment en est-on arrivé là...
 

Il était une fois... l'Ermitage
 
Image

On ne peut pas affirmer de façon absolue que Franz a toujours vécu à l'Ermitage ! Dans le flash-back d'Aelita (épisode 52 « Réminiscence »), on voit la famille réunie dans un chalet suisse, à la montagne visiblement.

On la retrouve quand Aelita est légèrement plus âgée, dans l'Ermitage cette fois, pour Noël ! On voit aussi la mère installée confortablement dans un fauteuil et Franz Hopper au piano.

A cette époque, l'Ermitage paraît être une demeure resplendissante comme on aimerait tous en avoir une en partant de chez papa/maman. L'aspect extérieur de l'endroit est éloquent ! Un grand escalier, visiblement en marbre, un jardin assez vaste. De plus, le lieu est retiré dans un petit bois et ce en pleine banlieue parisienne. On ne va pas se lancer dans des estimations de coût de l'habitation, cependant il semblerait qu'Hopper ait eu une petite fortune...

A l'intérieur, une ambiance chaleureuse avec un dedans très bien décoré. Tapis, bibelots, jolis meubles, moquette, canapé, lampe ainsi qu'une bibliothèque et le piano d'Hopper en touche finale. La lumière jaillit à travers les larges vitres renforçant encore plus la gloire de ce bâtiment.
Hormis le hall d'entrée et le séjour, nous ne voyons que la chambre d'Aelita ! Entièrement décorée en rose, on y découvre surtout une cheminée de décoration, des peluches et des posters.

En termes de pièces, l'Ermitage s'étend sur deux étages, on ne peut donc pas soupçonner tout ce qui s'y trouve. Le salon et le hall d'entrée paraissent occuper la majeure partie du rez-de-chaussée ! A l'étage est sûrement située, en plus de celle d'Aelita, la chambre de Franz Hopper. Vu le nombre de portes, on peut penser que la maison renferme d'autres salles, comme une chambre d'ami, ou pourquoi pas un petit atelier de bricolage de Franz ?

A partir du hall d'entrée, on accède aussi à un petit escalier qui mène à un niveau inférieur.
Sur celui-ci peu d'informations, deux à vrai dire. D'une part, on y trouve une porte qui débouche sur le jardin, d'autre part il y a une pièce chauffante, à la fonction obscure...

Dans le jardin de l'Ermitage, on trouve des robinets toujours raccordés à l'eau, des fosses mais surtout une porte qui conduit dans les égouts et, de là, à l'usine, le laboratoire de Franz Hopper !

C'est par ce passage que Hopper fuira avec Aelita, laissant l'Ermitage sans maître.
 

L'Ermitage au moment de la série
 
Image

Dix longues années sans propriétaire ont métamorphosé l'Ermitage !
On peut, certes, mettre beaucoup des dégâts sur le compte de l'usure du temps : Les trombes de poussières qui recouvrent les meubles, les tapisseries et moquettes ternies et rongées par les éventuels parasites...

Néanmoins, les portes d'armoires fracassées, les meubles renversés, les papiers envoyés dans tous les sens ne laissent pas le doute : l'Ermitage a du être fouillé et peu de suspens plane sur l'identité des investigateurs : Les hommes du Projet Carthage !
La fouille ne semble toutefois pas avoir été poussée à son paroxysme : de nombreux livres sont encore en place sur les étagères. Même Mister Pück n'a pas été découvert dans son trou de mur derrière le poster.

Avec toutes ses années d'inoccupation, l'hypothèse que l'Ermitage ait été squatté durant une période reste plausible. Il est également curieux que tout le monde laisse cette maison se mourir sans se soucier du sort de ses précédents occupants. L'état intercèderait-il ? Les héros ont juste eut vent d'un contrat d'hypothèque du logement.
 

Rôle de d'Ermitage
 
Image

L'Ermitage constitue dès le premier épisode de la saison 2 un élément de l'intrigue. En effet, ne serait-ce que sur le plan de la série, c'est le troisième lieu qui présente son importance dans l'évolution dans l'histoire avec Kadic et l'usine ! Dans la saison 1, si les autres lieux étaient liés à l'action, c'était uniquement parce que XANA y lançait une attaque. Voir cette vieille bâtisse apparaître soudainement dans le dessin animé génère des interrogations.

Vient ensuite les visions d'Aelita ! Si la jeune fille en éprouve tout au long de la saison 2, celles-ci apparaissent le plus fréquemment dans l'Ermitage et avec ses visions, un nouveau personnage clef surgit : Franz Hopper !
Tout au cours de la saison 2, la bâtisse en ruine sert donc « d'outil » à l'évolution de l'intrigue tournant au tour de Franz Hopper et du passé d'Aelita. Le spectateur le sent et son intérêt est donc maintenu dans ce lieu qui continue à faire de brève apparition au fil des épisodes comme dans l'épisode 31 « Mister Pück » où la peluche est découverte ou l'épisode 90 « Médusée » au cours duquel c'est une photo contenant des notes de Franz Hopper qui se fait découvrir.

Quand Aelita voit sa mémoire rendue par Franz Hopper, les derniers mystères sont levés ! On sait qu'Aelita y vécut avec Franz Hopper avant de fuir et d'être virtualisée sur Lyoko ! L'Ermitage perd légèrement de son intérêt, à moins qu'une quelconque révélation sur les hommes en noir intervienne !

Nous sommes tout de même amenés à voir l'Ermitage lors de rares occasions : Tout d'abord parce qu'Aelita, même avant de retrouver sa mémoire, sentait que quelque chose la liait à cette maison, un lien fort qui a traversé les années ! C'est pour ça que la jeune fille se rend encore dans les ruines de son ancienne maison quand elle est profondément attristée et a besoin de solitude.
Les héros savent aussi que c'est une retraite sûre quand le besoin de faire le point surgit. C'est donc à l'Ermitage que les héros iront après que William a détruit Lyoko et là qu'ils recevront un singulier message !

On ignore encore le futur de l'Ermitage, vu que Franz Hopper est mort... Jérémie trafiquera peut-être les papiers pour récupérer la maison ?
 

Evénements important qui s'y déroulent
 
- 6 juin 1994 ; Franz Hopper est retrouvé par les hommes en noir qui se présentent chez lui ! Il est contraint de fuir sur Lyokô en toute hâte avec sa fille, ne laissant derrière lui qu'une peluche, contenant une clef de casier de gare... (Flash-back de l'épisode 52 « Réminiscence »).

- Episode 27 « Nouvelle donne » : Effrayée par des visions Aelita arrive dans l'Ermitage. Les héros font la découverte de cette maison et s'y font attaquer par XANA. Le mobilier s'en prend à eux tandis que Yumi et Ulrich manquent de peu de finir grillés dans la salle chauffante du sous-sol !
Les héros découvrent le passage reliant l'Ermitage à l'usine.

- Episode 28 « Terre inconnue » : Les héros explorent l'Ermitage ! Ils découvrent notamment le livre d'histoire sur les guerres puniques, qui aidera Jérémie à insérer le Code Scipio pour la première fois !

- Episode 31 « Mister Pück » : Les héros retournent à l'Ermitage et guidée par des visions, Aelita retrouvent M. Pück derrière un poster dans ce qui fut sa chambre.

- Episode 43 « Mon meilleur ennemi » : Brouillée avec Jérémie, Aelita va se réfugier à l'Ermitage ! Un clone polymorphe l'y rejoint et tente de l'entraîner sur Lyokô ! S'en suit une altercation avec le groupe et un combat entre Odd et ledit clone.

- Episode 46 « Empreintes » : XANA harcèle Aelita de visions et d'élucubrations. Celle-ci se rend à l'Ermitage pour trouver des réponses mais n'y trouvera que plus d'hallucinations ! Cela l'incitera à se rendre sur le 5ème Territoire...

- Episode 51 « Révélations » : Odd se fait enfermer dans une fosse qui se remplit d'eau par un clone polymorphique. Il est sauvé de la noyade par Yumi.

- Episode 65 « Round final » : Les héros se retrouvent à l'Ermitage après avoir assisté à la destruction de Lyokô. Là, ils reçoivent un message en provenance du réseau de la part de Franz Hopper !

- Episode 70 « Skidbladnir » : Les héros baptisent le Skidbladnir.

- Episode 90 « Médusée » : Les héros trouvent une photo de Franz Hopper et Aelita, contenant des notes qui permettront à Jérémie de faire un nouveau programme.
 

 
 Découvre le plan de l'Ermitage en image grâce aux scans du jeu DS d'Aquatikelfik !