Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Forest Sector
 
 [Back to homepage]

[View from the sky] [Characteristics] [Topological characteristics] [Monsters and the Forest Sector] [Appearances in episodes] [Important events] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

View from the sky
 
Image
The Forest Sector on the Holomap
 

Characteristics
 
Temperature: 23°C (73°F)

Climate: Tropical

Characteristics: Twilit

Humidity: Very High

Description: Description for season 1 or the other seasons? Question to ask immediately when we know that the Forest Sector is one which has undergone the most important stylistic changes that occurred between season 1 and season 2.

What remains unique to the Sector in all circumstances is its multitude of pathways that wind across the Sector joining on platforms of average size, often supporting towers. But the symbol of the Forest Sector is its million and one trees, either planted on the pathways, or floating above the vast Digital Void, as if suspended from a ceiling by their branches that we cannot see!

The pathways are sometimes dead ends, forcing the heroes to jump to flee the monsters.
In other cases, they are linked by trunks similar to felled trees on Earth. It even happens that the Lyoko Warriors must take tunnels through stumps (episode 16 “Claustrophobia”).

In the first season, the trunks appear very old and the soil is made of a very dark green, scattered with brown stains, like the earth on which we walk. In the following seasons, everything changes: trunks seem less ancestral and the soil especially is covered with a particularly bright and dazzling green, not fluorescent but almost. No brown marks on the soil.

The light itself changes from the first season to the others. In the first season, a pale light pierces through the trees as background ambience. In the distance, we glimpse an orange sky which gives, when combined, an enjoyable twilight atmosphere but which looks more like at a continental climate, like an old European forest.
In the following seasons, it's afresh with big changes: the orange background disappears for a purely luminous background as if we were fixed on a strongly sunny horizon. The light no longer is background light but a strong light of the tropical sun. Certainly, we still feel that this light is filtered by dense foliage, but paradoxically, we have almost impression of being able to glimpse the rays. In the end, we have the impression of a heavier atmosphere, like in an equatorial jungle...

It should be noted that this is the only Sector, apart from the Ice, where we can find stretches of water. Albeit very dark water, a little like in a pond. We find these small ponds near a tower, where logs allow access to it. On the Lyoko recreated by Jeremy, another watery place is discovered in episode 68 “Opening Act”. It is made up of an island surrounded by water and accessible by three felled trees. In this island lies another felled log, on which Ulrich's sabers cross with the zweihander. No hero has fallen into the water in this Sector.
 

Topological characteristics
 
The number of pathways is much higher in this Sector than in the three others. Sometimes a path splits up into several branches and, finally, they meet up at a single point. In the end, sometimes the heroes, running toward a path, catch a glimpse of the monsters rushing onto another.

We find at a place in the Forest a large hollow stump where the heroes, attacked by Krabs, found refuge in episode 13 “Just in Time”. The flattened head of the towering monsters blocked their entry and they could only get their claw in through the crack with the slim hope of reaching a hero!

The Forest Sector is the only one where flying is difficult, because of the many trees massed everywhere on the Sector, even above the void! For Hornets, it is enough to be careful and take look at ahead, while for the heroes the task is complex: they must keep a close watch on the trajectory of their vehicle while fighting against monsters. A badly-received laser and the Lyoko Warrior loses control of their vehicle; there's nothing else for it but to jump before smashing into in a trunk!
The towering trunks can all the same be used in the heroes' favor. Firstly, they are a great refuge for protecting oneself from lasers (episode 54 “Lyoko Minus One”) but the heroes can also climb or run along them (like Ulrich in episode 47 “Tip-Top Shape”). The fallen trees sometimes allow for original fights like the one between Ulrich and William in episode 68 “Opening Act”. A little of originality never hurt.
The Forest Replika was very little explored outside of the area in which the tower the Skid docked to was in. It seemed true to its Lyoko model: a lot of pathways.
 

Monsters and the Forest Sector
 
We particularly often find Krabs in the Forest Sector because their big legs and their impressive speed make them able to move rapidly on forest paths and to corner the heroes. Kankrelats also use the numerous paths to launch offensives from several directions and trap the Lyoko Warriors.

One would think that Mantas would have trouble manoeuvring in this Sector. It often happens that Hornets crash against the trees, so Mantas with their wide wingspan could have done the same. Against all odds, the Mantas, William's one primarily, have managed very well in this Sector, giving more priority to flying on the spot than long glides. Their appearance in the Forest remains small in number however.

Image

As for William, he is well-off in the forest, like in the other Sectors. He has just to be careful not to stick his sword in a trunk (it should be noted that he doesn't need a trunk to get his sword stuck, the soil is more than enough...).
 

Appearances in episodes
 
Season 4:

#90 Wrong Exposure
#79 Bragging Rights (Forest Replika)
#78 Lab Rat (Forest Replika)
#74 I'd Rather Not Talk About It
#73 Replika (Forest Replika)
#68 Opening Act

Season 3:

#54 Lyoko Minus One

Season 2:

#50 Contact
#47 Tip-Top Shape
#38 Temptation
#36 Marabounta
#34 Missing Link
#32 Saint Valentine's Day
#29 Exploration
#28 Unchartered Territory

Season 1:

#25 Code Earth
#22 Routine
#19 Frontier
#18 Killer Music
#16 Claustrophobia
#13 Just in Time
#12 Swarming Attack
#10 The Girl of the Dreams
#06 Cruel Dilemma
#04 Log Book
#03 Holiday in the Fog

Prequel:

XANA Awakens (parts 1&2)
 

Important events
 
Image

- First virtualization of Aelita with Franz Hopper and rebellion of XANA which led Hopper to turn off the Supercomputer! Events seen in episode 57 “Aelita”.
- First virtualization of Odd and Ulrich and Aelita's awakening in “XANA Awakens”.
- Yumi's fall into the Digital Sea in episode 6 “Cruel Dilemma”.
- First materialization of Aelita in episode 25 “Code: Earth”.
- First appearance of the Transporter in episode 28 “Unchartered Territory”.
- Jeremy loses control of his Marabounta which invades the Sector in episode 36 “Marabounta”.
- Activation of a tower by Franz Hopper in episode 50 “Contact”.
- Destruction of the Sector in episode 54 “Lyoko Minus One”.
- Rebirth of the Sector in episode 67 “Double Take”.
- First Replika discovered (Forest Replika, so...) in episode 73 “Replika”.
- First docking of the Skid to a tower in episode 78 “Lab Rat”.
- Destruction of the Replika in episode 79 “Bragging Rights”.
- Final appearance of the Scyphozoa, fight between Ulrich and Aelita and use of the reboot program in episode 90 “Wrong Exposure”.

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Edge of the Sector
Image
Way Tower

3D map

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le territoire de la Forêt
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Vue du ciel] [Caractéristiques] [Particularités topologiques] [Monstres et Territoire de la forêt] [Episodes qui s'y déroulent] [Evénements importants] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

Vue du ciel
 
Image
Le Territoire de la Forêt sur l'holomap
 

Caractéristiques
 
Température : 23°C

Climat : Tropical

Caractéristiques : Crépusculaire

Humidité : Très élevée

Description : Description pour la saison 1 ou les autres saisons ? Question à se poser immédiatement lorsque l'on sait que le Territoire des forêts est celui qui a subit les plus importants changements stylistiques qui ont eu lieu de la saison 1 à la saison 2.

Ce qui reste propre au Territoire en toute circonstance, c'est sa multitude de sentier qui sinuent dans tout le territoire se rejoignant sur des plates-formes à la taille moyenne, souvent porteuses de Tour. Mais le symbole même du Territoire des Forêts, c'est ses milles et un arbres, soit plantés sur les sentiers, soit flottant au dessus de l'immense vide numérique, comme accrochés à un plafond par leurs branches qu'on ne peut même pas apercevoir !

Les sentiers sont parfois interrompus obligeant les héros à sauter pour fuir les monstres.
Dans d'autres cas, ils sont reliés entre eux par des troncs semblables aux arbres abattus sur Terre. Il arrive même que les Lyokô-guerriers doivent emprunter des tunnels dans les souches (Episode 16 « Claustrophobie »).

Dans la saison 1, les troncs paraissent très vieux et le sol est fait d'un vert très foncé, parsemé de taches marrons, comme une terre sur laquelle on aurait trop marché. Dans les saisons suivantes, tout change : Les troncs paraissent moins ancestraux et surtout le sol se couvre d'un vert particulièrement vif et éblouissant, pas fluo mais guère loin. Plus aucune trace de marron sur le sol.

La luminosité est elle-même changeante de la première saison aux autres. Dans la saison 1, une lumière pâle perce à travers les arbres, comme une ambiance de fond. On aperçoit au loin un ciel orangé ce qui donne, cumulé, une agréable ambiance crépusculaire mais qui fait plus penser à un climat continental, comme dans une vieille forêt européenne.
Dans la suite des saisons, à nouveau de grands changements : Le fond orangé disparaît pour un fond purement lumineux comme si on fixait un horizon fortement ensoleillé. La lumière n'est plus une lumière d'ambiance mais une forte lumière de soleil tropical. Certes, on a toujours l'impression que cette lumière est filtrée par un feuillage dense, mais paradoxalement, on a presque l'impression d'apercevoir les rayons. Au final, on a l'impression d'une atmosphère plus pesante, comme dans une jungle équatoriale...

A noter que c'est le seul Territoire, hormis la Banquise où l'on peut croiser des étendues d'eau. Une eau très foncée par ailleurs, un peu comme dans un étang. On trouve ces petites mares près d'une tour, où des rondins de bois permettent l'accès à celle-ci. Sur le Lyoko recréé par Jérémie, un autre point d'eau est découvert, dans l'épisode 68 « Première partie ». Il se compose d'un ilot entouré d'eau et accessible par trois troncs abattus. Sur cet ilot gît un autre tronc abattu, sur lequel les sabres d'Ulrich croisent le zanbato. Aucun héros n'est tombé à l'eau dans ce Territoire.
 

Particularités topologiques
 
Le nombre des sentiers est vraiment plus élevé dans ce Territoire que dans les trois autres. Parfois un chemin se sépare en plusieurs branches pour finalement ne rejoindre qu'un seul point. Au final, il arrive parfois que les héros, courant vers un sentier, aperçoivent les monstres qui se ruent sur un autre.

On trouve à un endroit de la forêt une grosse souche creuse où les héros, assaillis par des Krabes ont su trouver refuge dans l'épisode 13 « D'un cheveu ». Le crâne aplati des monstres imposants leur en privait l'entrée et ils ne pouvaient que faire passer leur pince dans les interstices avec le pâle espoir de faucher un héros !

Le Territoire des forêts est le seul où voler est difficile et ce à cause des nombreux arbres concentrés partout sur le Territoire, même au-dessus du vide ! Pour les Frelions, il suffit de faire attention et de bien regarder devant soi, alors que pour les héros la tâche est complexe : Ils doivent surveiller la trajectoire de leur véhicule tout en se battant contre les monstres. Un laser mal encaissé et le Lyoko-guerrier perd le contrôle de son véhicule ; il ne lui reste alors qu'une solution : Sauter avant de s'encastrer dans un tronc !
Les imposants troncs peuvent tout de même être utilisés à l'avantage du héros. Tout d'abord, ils sont un refuge fidèle pour se protéger des mitraillades de laser (Episode 54 « Lyokô moins un ») mais les héros peuvent aussi les escalader ou courir le long (comme Ulrich dans l'épisode 47 « Au meilleur de sa forme »). Les arbres abattus permettent des combats parfois originaux à l'image de celui entre Ulrich et William dans l'épisode 68 « Première partie ». Un peu de relief ne fait jamais de mal.
Le Réplika Forêt fut très peu exploré en dehors du coin de la tour à laquelle s'arrima le Skid. Il semblait fidèle à son modèle de Lyoko : Beaucoup de sentiers.
 

Monstres et Territoire de la forêt
 
On trouve notamment souvent des Krabes sur le Territoire Forêt car leurs grandes pattes et leur impressionnante vitesse les rendent capables de se déplacer rapidement sur les sentiers forestiers et de coincer les héros. Les Kankrelats se servent aussi de la multiplicité des sentiers pour lancer des offensives multi-azimutales et piéger les Lyoko-guerriers.

On aurait pu penser que les Mantas auraient eu du mal à évoluer dans ce Territoire. Il arrive effectivement aux Frôlions de se crasher contre les arbres, alors les Mantas avec leur large envergure n'auraient pu que faire de même. Contre toute attente, les Mantas, celle de William en tête, se sont plutôt bien débrouillées dans ce Territoire, privilégiant le vol sur place aux longs planages. Leur apparition dans la Forêt demeurent toutefois peu nombreuses.

Image

Quant à William, il est assez à l'aise dans la Forêt, comme dans les autres Territoires. Il doit juste veiller à ne pas planter son épée dans un tronc. (Remarquons qu'il n'a pas besoin de tronc pour planter son épée, le sol suffit amplement...).
 

Episodes qui s'y déroulent
 
Saison 4 :

#90 Medusée
#79 Arachnophobie (Réplika de la Forêt)
#78 Expériences (Réplika de la Forêt)
#74 Je préfère ne pas en parler
#73 Réplika (Réplika de la Forêt)
#68 Première partie

Saison 3 :

#54 Lyoko moins un

Saison 2 :

#50 Contact
#47 Au meilleur de sa forme
#38 Tentation
#36 Marabounta
#34 Chaînon manquant
#32 Saint Valentin
#29 Exploration
#28 Terre inconnue

Saison 1 :

#25 Code Terre
#22 Routine
#19 Frontière
#18 Musique mortelle
#16 Claustrophobie
#13 D'un cheveu
#12 Attaque en piqué
#10 Créature de rêve
#06 Cruel dilemme
#04 Carnet de bord
#03 Vacances dans la brume

Genèse :

Le Réveil de XANA (partie 1&2)
 

Evénements importants
 
Image

- Première matérialisation d'Aelita avec Franz Hopper et rébellion de XANA qui conduit Hopper à éteindre le Supercalculateur ! Evénements vus dans l'épisode 57 « Aelita ».
- Première virtualisation d'Odd et Ulrich et réveil d'Aelita dans « Le réveil de XANA ».
- Chute de Yumi dans la Mer Numérique dans l'épisode 6 « Cruel Dilemme ».
- Première matérialisation d'Aelita dans l'épisode 25 « Code Terre ».
- Première apparition du Transporteur dans l'épisode 28 « Terre inconnue ».
- Jérémie perd le contrôle de sa marabounta qui envahit le Territoire dans l'épisode 36 « Marabounta ».
- Activation d'une tour par Franz Hopper dans l'épisode 50 « Contact ».
- Destruction du Territoire dans l'épisode 54 « Lyokô moins un ».
- Renaissance du Territoire dans l'épisode 67 « Mauvaise Réplique ».
- Premier Réplika découvert (sur un Réplika de genre Forêt, donc...) dans l'épisode 73 « Réplika ».
- Premier arrimage du Skid à une tour dans l'épisode 78 « Expériences ».
- Destruction du Réplika dans l'épisode 79 « Arachnophobie ».
- Dernière apparition de la Méduse, combat entre Ulrich et Aelita et utilisation du programme de reboot dans l'épisode 90 « Médusée ».

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Extrémité du Territoire
Image
Tour de passage

Carte 3D