Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Mountain Sector
 
 [Back to homepage]

[View from the sky] [Characteristics] [Topological characteristics] [Monsters and the Mountain Sector] [Appearances in episodes] [Important events] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

View from the sky
 
Image
The Mountain Sector on the Holomap
 

Characteristics
 
Temperature: 5°C (41°F)

Climate: Continental

Characteristics: Foggy like a Chinese dawn

Humidity: High

Description: This Sector is not ideal for holding a skateboarding competition! Not only because of its rocky crests and its sharp stones but also because an awkward movement by our friends would send them to overturn against rocks and to fall in the space. Sometimes, they must to borrow narrows between the rocks. Add to all these elements some clouds of mist and you will understand why our friends do not picnic here very often...

These are there the three components of the Mountain sector: a permanent fog, long bridges which connect average-sized plateaux to rocks (from small stones to large peaks) found everywhere. Dangerous, but to the eyes, the most aesthetic of the Sectors throughout its somewhat extreme Oriental atmosphere...

We find a little greenery on the Mountain Sector: in truth small trees, which are only pale imitations of bonsais: knotty trunk, small boughs with foliage leaning towards a khaki colour...
 

Topological characteristics
 
The atmosphere of the Mountain Sector is such that a light transparent mist floats permanently in the Sector. It's normally only a little annoying, XANA is however capable of intensifying this mist until it renders everything invisible (episode 47 “Tip-Top Shape”). The intense mist can be dispersed by deactivating a tower.

It, however, is not present in the hollow mountains containing tunnels, passages or other cavities like caves! This Sector even possesses a labyrinth in which the heroes get lost in episode 15 “Laughing Fit”.

Many summits float all around this Sector. They are inaccessible, except by teleportation or by vehicle. Again, their importance is only minor, however, the heroes sometimes make use of them to shake off monsters or to take them by surprise. Their role thus appears during aerial confrontations.
Aelita springs the surprise in episode 91 “Bad Connection”, she saves Ulrich and Yumi from a fall into the Digital Sea by creating one of these levitating summits thanks to her Creativity, on which both fighters will land.

The big originality of the Mountain Sector is the moving platforms. We can see three times in the series:

First type is the one corresponding to the tower deactivated in episode 20 “The Robots”. The tower appears to be on a rotating platform/island. The island making up the platform is inaccessible from the trail leading to it...not counting the kind of “arm” connected to the island which turns at the same time as it! One just has to make a small jump onto this appendage of path and on the condition of not feeling dizzy, one can access all the tower with no problem.

The second type is the more complex one. While the tower is on fixed ground, to get to it, one has to firstly traverse a series of platforms constantly moving up and down, and a final one that travels in a circle around the tower platform.

Except that, we note that the Mountain Sector is a little halfway between the Ice and the Desert: it possesses long pathways connecting equally vast platforms.

We can't, on the other hand, complete this data with information about a Mountain Replika for the simple reason that we've never seen one. The Mountain is the only such case of any Sector.
 

Monsters and the Mountain Sector
 
Hornets fare particularly well on the Mountain Sector, where everything seems to be to their advantage: vast sky, mist to hide in, vast Digital Sea to bring down our heroes. What bliss! When Mantas arrive on the Mountain Sector, they feel perfectly comfortable, and we can see a wonderful aerial battle in episode 89: “Music to Soothe the Savage Beast”. The Mantas benefit from the same advantages as the Hornets on the Mountain Sector and, in addition, they can execute magnificent skimming over platforms to trap Aelita.

We can also frequently encounter Bloks because their six legs allow then to climb mountains and even to stand guard on the summit of the latter to watch for Aelita.

Image

Krabs have legs which could allow them to climb the steep surfaces of this summits with a Chinese atmosphere but they apparently don't like this Sector: we rarely saw them (#55 “Tidal Wave” and #91 “Bad Connection”) compared with the other Surface Sectors where the Krabs are a part of the fauna.

The narrow paths suit Megatanks marvellously because they sometimes can move at high speed or stop and block the passage with repetitive laser blasts (#63: “Triple Trouble”)

As for the Scyphozoa, it hides itself in tunnels, or behind the rock faces.
William also feels comfortable on this Sector. He obviously can use the big rocks as anvils and bang Aelita (who is naturally prisoner of Supersmoke). Aelita will experience that in episode 85 “Kadic Bombshell”.
Beyond that, the clear views of the Mountain Sector serve William, who is talented for rough and frontal attacks.
 

Appearances in episodes
 
Season 4:

#91 Bad Connection
#89 Music to Soothe the Savage Beast
#85 Kadic Bombshell
#80 Dog Day Afternoon
#72 Crash Course

Season 3:

#64 Double Trouble
#63 Triple Trouble
#62 Nobody in Particular
#61 Sabotage
#57 Aelita
#56 False Lead
#55 Tidal Wave

Season 2:

#51 Revelation
#47 Tip-Top Shape
#45 Cold War
#39 A Bad Turn
#38 Temptation
#30 A Great Day

Season 1:

#24 Ghost Channel
#23 Rock Bottom?
#21 Zero Gravity Zone
#20 The Robots
#19 Frontier
#18 Killer Music
#16 Claustrophobia
#15 Laughing Fit
#10 The Girl of the Dreams

Prequel:

XANA Awakens (parts 1 and 2)
 

Important events
 
Image

- Jeremie activates his first tower in episode 47 “Tip-Top Shape”
- A polymorphic spectre takes Odd's place in the scanners and fights on Lyoko against Ulrich in episode 51 “Revelation”. At the same time, Jeremie activates his second tower for decrypting Franz Hopper's diary, and succeeds with its help.
- XANA gobbles up the Sector in episode 55 “Tidal Wave”.
- Odd tries out his “Teleportation” power in episode 63 “Triple Trouble”.
- The destruction of the Sector takes places during episode 64 “Double Trouble”.
- Reappearance of the Sector in episode 67 “Double Take”.

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Edge of the Sector
Image
Way Tower

3D map
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le territoire de la Montagne
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Vue du ciel] [Caractéristiques] [Particularités topologiques] [Monstres et Territoire de la montagne] [Episodes qui s'y déroulent] [Evénements importants] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

Vue du ciel
 
Image
Le Territoire de la Montagne sur l'holomap
 

Caractéristiques
 
Température : 5°C

Climat : Continental

Caractéristiques : Brumeux comme une aube chinoise

Humidité : Élevée

Description : Ce territoire n'est pas l'idéal pour faire un concours de skateboard ! Non seulement par ses crêtes rocailleuses et ses pierres pointues mais aussi parce qu'un faux mouvement de nos amis les enverrait se renverser contre des roches et tomber dans le vide. Parfois ils doivent emprunter des passages très étroits entre les rochers. Ajoutez à tout ceci quelques nuages de brume et vous comprendrez pourquoi nos amis ne pique-niquent pas ici très souvent...

Ce sont là les trois composantes du Territoire Montagne : Une brume permanente, de longs ponts qui relient des plateaux à taille moyenne et des roches (du petit caillou au grand pic) implantées de partout. Dangereux mais aux yeux de beaucoup le plus esthétique des 4 Territoires de Surface de par son ambiance un peu extrême orientale...

On trouve un peu de verdure sur le Territoire Montagne : de petits arbres à vrai dire, qui ne sont que de pâles copies de bonzaïs : Tronc noueux, petits branchages au feuillage tendant vers le kaki...
 

Particularités topologiques
 
L'ambiance des Montagnes veut qu'une légère brume transparente flotte en permanence dans le Territoire. Elle n'est normalement que peu gênante, XANA est cependant capable d'intensifier cette brume jusqu'à rendre toute chose invisible (Episode 47 « Au meilleur de sa forme »). La brume intense peut être levée en désactivant une tour.

Celle-ci n'est cependant pas présente dans les montagnes creuses contenant des tunnels, passages ou autres cavités comme des grottes !
Ce Territoire possède même un labyrinthe où les héros se perdent dans l'épisode 15 « Crise de rires ».

De nombreux monts flottent dans tout ce territoire. Ils sont inaccessibles, hormis par téléportation ou par véhicule. A nouveau, leur importance n'est que moindre, toutefois, les héros s'en servent parfois pour semer des monstres ou les prendre à revers. Leur rôle se révèle donc au cours des affrontements célestes.
Aelita crée la surprise dans l'épisode 91 « Mauvaise ondes », elle sauve Ulrich et Yumi d'une chute dans la Mer Numérique en créant un de ces monts lévitant grâce à son don de synthétisation, sur lequel les deux combattants atterriront.

La grande originalité de ce Territoire est ses plates formes mouvantes : On les croise trois fois dans la série :

La premier type est celui qui correspond à la tour désactivée dans l'épisode 20 « L'âme des robots ». La tour paraît se trouver sur une plate-forme/île qui tourne sur elle-même. L'îlot que forme la plate forme est inatteignable du sentier qui la borne... sans compter la sorte de « bras » qu'à l'île et qui tourne en même temps qu'elle ! Il suffit de faire un petit saut sur cette appendice de sentier et à condition de ne pas avoir le tournis, on peut sans problème gagner la tour.

Le second type est plus complexe. Bien que la tour soit sur un terrain fixe, pour y accéder, il faut traverser premièrement une série de plates-formes faisant sans cesse des mouvements de haut en bas et enfin une dernière qui tourne autour d'un cercle dont le centre serait la tour.

Cela hormis, on remarque que le Territoire des Montagne est un peu à mi-chemin entre la Banquise et le Désert : Il possède de longs sentiers reliant des plates-formes assez vastes.

On ne peut, hélas, pas compléter ces données avec des informations tirées d'un Réplika Montagne pour la simple raison que l'on en a jamais vu. La Montagne est le seul Territoire dans ce cas.
 

Monstres et Territoire de la montagne
 
Les Frôlions se plaisent particulièrement sur le Territoire Montagne, où tout semble à leur avantage : Un vaste ciel, une brume qui les couvre, une vaste mer numérique où faire choir les héros. Que de bonheur !
Quand les Mantas arrivent sur le Territoire Montagne, elles y sont parfaitement à l'aise et on assiste à une superbe bataille aérienne dans l'épisode 89 « Il est sensé d'être insensé ». Les Mantas bénéficient des mêmes avantages que les Frôlions sur le Territoire Montagne et en prime elles peuvent exécuter un superbe vol en rase-motte sur les plateaux pour coincer Aelita.

Image

On rencontre aussi très fréquemment des Bloks sur ce Territoire car leur six pattes agrippantes leur permettent d'escalader les Montagnes et même de se placer au faîte de ces dernières pour guetter Aelita.

Les Krabes aussi ont des pattes qui leur permettraient d'escalader les surfaces abruptes de ces monts à l'ambiance chinoise mais, visiblement, ils n'apprécient pas ce Territoire puisqu'on ne les y a vu qu'assez rarement (Episode 55 « Raz de Marée » et 91 « Mauvaises ondes ») par rapport aux autres Territoires de surface où les Krabes font partie de la faune locale.

Les sentiers étroits conviennent à merveille aux Mégatanks du fait qu'ils peuvent tantôt y rouler à grande vitesse, tantôt y tirer à répétition pour bloquer le passage (Référence à l'épisode 63 « Triple Sot »).

La Méduse, quant à elle, se dissimule souvent dans les tunnels ou derrière les parois rocheuses.
Le piti William est aussi assez à l'aise sur ce Territoire. Il peut notamment employer les gros rochers comme enclume contre laquelle cogner Aelita (prisonnière de la Supersmoke, bien entendu). Aelita fera l'expérience d'être un outil de burinage dans l'épisode 85 « La belle de Kadic ».
Ceci mis à part, les vues dégagées de la Montagne servent William qui est doué pour les attaques brutales et frontales.
 

Episodes qui s'y déroulent
 
Saison 4 :

#91 Mauvaises ondes
#89 Il est sensé d'être insensé
#85 La belle de Kadic
#80 Kiwodd
#72 Leçon de choses

Saison 3 :

#64 Surmenage
#63 Triple Sot
#62 Désincarnation
#61 Sabotage
#57 Aelita
#56 Fausse Piste
#55 Raz de marée

Saison 2 :

#51 Révélations
#47 Au meilleur de sa forme
#45 Guerre froide
#39 Mauvaise conduite
#38 Tentation
#30 Un grand jour

Saison 1 :

#24 Canal Fantôme
#23 36e dessous
#21 Gravité zéro
#20 L'âme des robots
#19 Frontière
#18 Musique mortelle
#16 Claustrophobie
#15 Crise de rire
#10 Créature de rêve

Genèse :

Le réveil de XANA (partie 1&2)
 

Evénements importants
 
Image

- Jérémie active sa première Tour dans l'épisode 47 « Au meilleur de sa forme ».
- Un clone polymorphe prend la place d'Odd dans les scanners et se bat sur Lyokô contre Ulrich dans l'épisode 51 « Révélations ». Simultanément, Jérémie active sa seconde tour pour décrypter le journal de Franz Hopper et y parvient avec l'aide de ce dernier.
- XANA engloutit le Territoire lors de l'épisode 55 « Raz de marée ».
- Essai du pouvoir « téléportation » d'Odd dans l'épisode 63 « Triple sot ».
- La destruction du Territoire à lieu lors de l'épisode 64 « Surmenage ».
- Réapparition du Territoire dans l'épisode 67 « Mauvaise Réplique ».

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Extrémité du Territoire
Image
Tour de passage

Carte 3D
 

Image