Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Virtual Worlds and Replikas
 
 [Back to homepage]

[Composition of a Virtual World] [Existence of a Virtual World: From the Creation to the Destruction]
 
 


 
 Here, Replikas are treated as simple virtual worlds (they are often amalgamated to Lyoko in the explanations that will follow). For information about the Replikas' stakes for XANA and the context of their appearance in the series, consult the Story Season 4 page and the XANA section 
 

Composition of a Virtual World
 
Discovered in episodes 71 “Maiden Voyage” and 73 “Replika”, the Replikas are, like Lyoko, virtual worlds. These are sort of islands, drifting in an infinite ocean which symbolizes the global computer network: the web which links between themselves and computers connected to Internet.
The name Replika, created by Jeremie, comes from the fact that these worlds are copies of the first virtual world, the one created by Franz Hopper and that we all know by the name of Lyoko. The word Replika seems slightly pejorative, probably because these Replikas are less accomplished than the original model. They are indeed not as full, as explained below.

A virtual world is composed of 4 or 5 major elements:

Image

The first is its bark. It is spherical and when seen from the outside, it isn't polished and seems coarsely cut, almost made out of Lego, a little bit like the ball that is the Sector 5. Yet, it isn't a ball but a sphere, which means that it is completely empty and hollow. Its main goal is to protect the digital world contained in this sphere from the water (or data) of the network.

Image

At the south of this sphere, we find a small tunnel with a door called an airlock. The virtual worlds being protected, a key is needed to open them. Nothing too difficult to crack for a genius like Jeremy. Despite its harmless look, this airlock is very important. It filters the digital water through which the data transits into the Internet network. Without this airlock, Lyoko or the Replikas would not be elements connected to the network, but impenetrable fortresses blocking any outside communication. In short, the activation of the towers would be completely fruitless because they would have no access to the human world via the network.
The heroes have to force this access point to get into Replikas inside the Skidbladnir and go into the Digital Sea within the sphere.

Image

The Digital Sea is the low proportion of digital water from the network that the airlock “authorized” to enter and settle on the inside of the bark. For more information about it, visit its own page!


The digital void represents all the empty space. It is absolutely empty and can almost be defined as nothingness. Yet, theories go in the opposite direction. I'll spare you from all of them, and send the people interested about the virtual question to the file from Mister Gui.

Image

The Digital World is the main interest. It is composed of Sectors, made of platforms or of a more complex...complex...if it is a Carthage Replika. The specifics of each Sector are detailed on their pages:


Above all, the Sectors have Towers. For more information about them, visit their page. There, we talk about Lyoko and Replika Towers at the same time.

It is the contents of the digital world which will differentiate between Lyoko and the Replikas. The latter are only capable of managing one Sector while Lyoko manages five. Four Surface Sectors organised around Sector 5, linking them. With XANA not creating any new Sectors in its Replikas (except in the Wii game with the Volcano Sector), it only took some data from Lyoko to plan many of them on a smaller scale. So Replikas are just sort of plagiarisms of Lyoko. It seems that XANA only took the data conceived by Hopper without even modifying them. We can suppose this by observing the fact that, if XANA reprogrammed the Replikas, it would have made sure that the Towers can't recognize the Code Lyoko...but it didn't happen! The Replikas seem to be pure copy-paste jobs. However, we can pick out some differences, like the Code XANA which doesn't have the same effect on Lyoko as it does on the Replikas.

By the way, it is funny to pick out the following anecdote: it's that the most perfect Replika is not made by XANA, but by Jeremy and Aelita.
It is the new Lyoko which is born in episode 66 “William Returns”. It is made by Jeremy but based on the former model, a totally complete Lyoko with its five Sectors.

We can, in contrast, ponder the following point:
Lyoko is organised around Carthage. Indeed, it is this Sector which contains the Core of Lyoko, necessary for the proper functioning of the virtual world. So it is logical that a Replika can only contain a Sector 5, as was the case for Lyoko between the destruction of the last Surface Sector in episode 64 “Double Trouble” and the destruction of Carthage (episode 65). But some Replikas only contain a Surface Sector, in theory without a Core. Mystery of the show.


Nevertheless, the number of Sectors doesn't really matter in the end. Indeed, in its fight, XANA doesn't exploit the Sectors themselves but the Towers they contain. Once a Replika has a Tower, like the one from episode 87 “A Space Oddity”, it represents a threat to eliminate.
For more information about Towers, visit their page.
 

Existence of a Virtual World: From the Creation to the Destruction
 
A Digital World begins to exist when its creators finish its creation. All the data mobilized to give it life are sought and following a maneuver, they converge by the thousands, even millions to the same place where the Virtual World suddenly appears, in a luminous flash. We witness such a phenomenon in episode 66 “William Returns” and the scene is memorable, when tons of blue data impregnated with 0s and 1s converge onto a unique point.

Image

There are two ways to destroy a Digital World.
The first is to dislocate it from the inside and make it disappear piece by piece, Sector by Sector. There are various methods of doing this. The XANA section sums it up very well in the paragraphs concerning the attacks on the Core of Lyoko, or XANAfication on Lyoko and the Code XANA.
When a virtual world sees all its Sectors switched off, it doesn't have the strength to maintain itself. The pressure of the Digital Sea crushes it while the energy emitted by the explosion of the Sectors makes it implode. The Digital Sea quickly devours the void that's created.

Image

The second way is to destroy the machine generating it.
A Virtual World is, indeed, nothing but a program, or even a tangle of programs executed permanently by an overpowered computer (a supercomputer).
In episode 37 “Common Interest”, we clearly remark that each time the Supercomputer switches off, due to the lack of energy in its nuclear battery, Lyoko regularly threatens to disappear.
That's why when the heroes get rid of a Supercomputer infected by XANA, the Replika it generates evaporates. We note that the Sectors disappear first before the bark breaks and explodes.

Image

Thus, the heroes only used the second way, thanks to Teleportation.
XANA used the first way from episode 54 “Lyoko Minus One” to 65 “Final Round”, however, it often tried to use the second way without success (episodes 59 “The Secret”, 75 “Hot Shower” or 81 “A Lack of Goodwill”).

Today, the only virtual world which could get switched on again is the Second Lyoko which would return once an individual turns Hopper's Supercomputer on.
The Replikas all disappeared with XANA, although we don't exactly know how the multi-agent system erased them. We can wonder why it didn't only erase XANA's presence, quite simply. Or maybe erasing XANA's presence would delete the essence of the world, which couldn't maintain itself anymore.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Les mondes virtuels & les Réplikas
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Composition d'un monde virtuel] [Existence d'un Monde virtuel : De la Création à la Destruction]
 
 


 
 Ici, les Réplikas sont traités en tant que simples mondes virtuels (ils sont par ailleurs souvent amalgamés à Lyoko dans les explications qui vont suivre). Pour des informations sur l'enjeu des Réplikas pour XANA et le contexte de leur apparition dans la série, consultez la page Histoire Saison 4 et la rubrique XANA 
 

Composition d'un monde virtuel
 

Découverts dans les épisodes 71 « Premier voyage » et 73 « Réplika », les Réplikas sont, à l'image de Lyoko, des mondes virtuels. Ce sont des sortes d'îles, dérivant dans un océan infini qui symbolise le réseau informatique mondial : La toile qui relie entre eux les ordis connectés à Internet.
Le nom Réplikas, créé par Jérémie, vient du fait que ces mondes virtuels sont des copies du tout premier monde virtuel, celui créé par Franz Hopper et que nous connaissons tous sous le nom de Lyoko. Le mot Réplika semble légèrement péjoratif, sans doute parce que ces Réplikas sont issus de XANA mais surtout du fait que les Réplikas sont moins aboutis que leur modèle d'origine. Ils sont en effet moins remplis, comme expliqué ci-dessous.

Un monde virtuel est composé de 4 à 5 éléments majeurs :

Image

Le premier est son écorce. Elle est sphérique et vue de l'extérieur, elle n'est pas polie et semble grossièrement taillée, presque faite en Légo, un petit peu comme la boule qu'est 5ème Territoire. Néanmoins, ce n'est pas une boule mais une sphère, ce qui signifie qu'elle est entièrement vide et creuse. Son principal but est de protéger le monde numérique contenu dans cette sphère des eaux (ou données) du réseau.

Image

Au sud de cette sphère, on trouve un petit tunnel avec une porte nommée sas. Les mondes virtuels étant protégés, il faut une clef pour que ceux-ci s'ouvrent. Rien qui ne soit très difficile à craquer pour un génie comme Jérémie. Malgré son apparence anodine, ce sas est très important. Il filtre l'eau numérique par laquelle transitent les données dans le réseau internet. Sans ce sas, Lyokô ou les Réplikas seraient donc non pas des éléments connectés du réseau, mais des forteresses étanches à tout communication extérieure. En bref, l'activation des tours serait carrément stérile car elles n'auraient aucun point d'accès au monde des humains via le réseau.
Les héros doivent forcer ce point d'accès pour pénétrer dans les Réplikas à bord du Skidbladnir et se diriger dans la Mer Numérique à l'intérieur de la sphère.

Image

La mer numérique est la faible proportion d'eau numérique du réseau qui le sas a « autorisé » à entrer et qui se fixe sur les extrémités intérieures de l'écorce. Pour plus d'informations sur elle, visitez la page qui lui est décernée !


Le vide numérique représente, lui, tout l'espace non rempli. Il est absolument vide et peut s'approcher de la notion de néant. Néanmoins, des théories vont dans le sens contraires. Je vous les épargne et je dirige les intéressés de la question virtuelle sur le dossier de Mister Gui.

Image

Le Monde numérique est le principal centre d'intérêt. Il se compose de territoires, faits de plates-formes où d'un complexe plus ... complexe... s'il s'agit d'un Réplika Carthage. Les spécificités de chaque Territoire sont précisées sur leur page :


Les Territoires contiennent surtout des tours. Pour avoir des informations sur elles, visitez leur page. On y parle à la fois de celles de Lyoko et des Réplikas.

C'est le contenu du monde numérique qui va différencier Lyoko des Réplikas. Ces derniers ne sont capables de gérer qu'un seul Territoire tandis que Lyokô en gère cinq. Quatre Territoires de surface organisés autour du 5ème Territoire qui les relie. XANA n'ayant pas créé de nouveaux Territoires dans ces Réplikas (mis à part dans le jeu Wii avec le Territoire Volcano), il n'a réellement fait que reprendre des données de Lyokô pour en concevoir plusieurs à petite échelle. Les Réplikas sont donc une sorte de plagiat de Lyokô. Il semblerait que XANA n'ait réellement fait que reprendre les données conçues par Hopper sans même les reproduire. On peut supposer cela en observant le fait que si XANA avait reprogrammé les Réplikas, il aurait sans doute fait en sorte que leurs tours ne reconnaissent pas le Code Lyoko... or ce n'est pas le cas ! Les Réplikas semblent des copiés-collés purs. On peut relever quelques différences toutefois, comme le Code XANA qui n'a vraiment pas le même effet sur Lyoko ou sur les Réplikas.

Il est à ce propos amusant de relever l'anecdote suivante : C'est que le plus parfait des Réplikas n'a pas été créé par XANA, mais par Jérémie et Aelita.
Il s'agit du nouveau Lyoko qui naît dans l'épisode 66 « Renaissance ». Il est fabriqué par Jérémie mais sur le modèle du précédent et totalement complet avec ces 5 Territoires.

On peut, en revanche, s'interroger sur le point suivant :
Lyoko s'organise autour de Carthage. En effet, c'est ce Territoire qui contient le Cœur de Lyoko, nécessaire au bon fonctionnement de celui-ci. Il est donc logique qu'un Réplika ne puisse contenir qu'un 5ème Territoire comme ce fut le cas de Lyoko entre la destruction du dernier Territoire de Surface dans l'épisode 64 « Surmenage » et la destruction de Carthage (Episode 65). Pourtant certains Réplikas ne contiennent qu'un Territoire de Surface, à priori sans Cœur. Mystère de la série.


Néanmoins, le nombre de Territoires importe peu au final. En effet, dans son combat, XANA n'exploite pas les Territoires en eux-mêmes mais les tours qu'ils contiennent. Dès lors qu'un Réplika possède une Tour, comme celui de l'épisode 87 « Planète bleue », il représente une menace à éliminer.
Pour plus d'informations sur les Tours, visitez leur page.
 

Existence d'un Monde virtuel : De la Création à la Destruction
 
Un Monde Numérique se met à exister quand ses créateurs finalisent sa création. Toutes les données mobilisées pour lui faire voir le jour sont sollicitées et suite à une manœuvre, elles convergent par milliers, voire par millions au même lieu d'où surgit le Monde virtuel dans un flash lumineux. Nous assistons à un tel phénomène dans l'épisode 66 « Renaissance » et la scène est mémorable, lorsque des tonnes de données bleues imprégnées de 1 et de 0 convergent en un seul point

Image

Il y a deux façons de détruire un Monde Numérique.
La première est de le disloquer de l'intérieur et le faire disparaître morceau par morceau, Territoire par Territoire. Pour cela, diverses méthodes. La Rubrique XANA résume très bien cela dans les paragraphes concernant les attaques du Cœur de Lyokô où la xanatification sur Lyokô et le Code XANA.
Quand un monde virtuel voit tous ses territoires s'éteindre, il n'a plus la force de se maintenir. La pression de la Mer Numérique l'écrase tandis que l'énergie dégagée par l'explosion des Territoires le fait imploser. La Mer Numérique engouffre rapidement le vide ainsi créé.

Image

La seconde méthode consiste à détruire la machine qui le génère.
Un Monde virtuel n'est, en effet, rien d'autre qu'un programme, voire un enchevêtrement de programmes exécutés en permanence par un ordinateur surpuissant (un supercalculateur).
Dans l'épisode 37 « Intérêt commun », on constate clairement que chaque fois le Supercalculateur s'éteint, suite au manque d'énergie de sa pile nucléaire, Lyoko menace de disparaître régulièrement.
C'est ainsi que lorsque les héros se débarrassent d'un Supercalculateur infecté par XANA, le Réplika que cet avant-dernier génère s'évapore. On constate que les Territoires s'effacent en premier avant que l'écorce ne se rompe et n'explose.

Image

Ainsi, les héros n'ont utilisé que la seconde méthode, grâce à la translation.
XANA lui a usé de la première méthode de l'épisode 54 « Lyokô moins un » au 65 « Dernier Round », cependant, il a souvent tâché d'employer la deuxième méthode sans jamais remporter de succès (Episode 59 « Le secret », 74 « Corps céleste » ou 81 « Œil pour œil »).

Aujourd'hui, le seul monde virtuel qui pourrait se rallumer est le Second Lyokô qui ressurgirait dès qu'un individu rallumerait le Supercalculateur de Hopper.
Les Réplikas ont tous disparu avec XANA, bien qu'on ignore exactement comment le programme multi-agents les supprimait. On peut se demandait pourquoi il n'en effaçait pas la présence de XANA, tout simplement. Ou peut-être qu'effacer la présence de XANA supprimait l'essence du monde qui n'arrivait plus à se maintenir.