Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The towers of the Virtual Worlds
 
 Back to homepage

[Towers in the virtual or real worlds] [The Towers' stakes] [Images] [Images: inside the towers] [Bonus! In the towers, you can also...]
 
 

Towers in the virtual or real worlds
 
A) Description

The Towers are distributed over the 4 Sectors of Lyoko, with 10 towers per Surface Sector. In episode 49 “Franz Hopper”, we discover a 41st one, in Sector 5.
On the Replikas, we have no informations about the number of towers, from any episode. Yet, since the Sector contained in a Replika is an exact copy of the Lyoko model, it isn't stupid to think that an alternate world managed by XANA contains 10 towers (and one for Carthage's Replikas).
Each tower looks like a giant pillar whose base looks a little bit like a trunk. They are white and are illuminated with a halo whose colour changes according to who is using them.
  • If the tower is deactivated or used by Aelita, it is blue. We mostly say in that case that it is deactivated, which is a vocabulary mistake, given that Aelita, too, can act on the terrestrial networks from the towers. She does it in episode 24 “Ghost Channel” to help Jeremy, held up by Jim and the principal.
  • When XANA activates a tower to attack our world, it is red.
  • When Jeremy activates a tower, it is green.
  • When Franz Hopper activates a tower, it becomes white. We must note that at the end of season 2, Hopper activates all the towers on Lyoko, and consequently in season 3, even when Aelita deactivates a tower, its halo becomes white again and not blue.

The towers which really are deactivated are, in fact, damaged towers: they've lost any halo. Their databases are damaged and they need time to regenerate. This happens when XANA harms them, with the help of powerful shots from Megatanks. It can also happen if the Tower's power cables are broken.


The inside of the towers is still the same, regardless of who uses them. One can enter through any side but won't always land on the main platform inside. Odd and Ulrich experience this and fall to the bottom of the Tower in “XANA Awakens”. In the towers, the walls are covered with lines of binary data. There are two platforms, featuring the eye of XANA: one at ground level, another higher. It gives access to an interface which allows anyone, on Lyoko or a Replika, to access the real world. This interface is also the heart of the tower and it's through it that the tower can change owner or that programs, like the one generating the Replikas (episode 67 “Double Take”) function.


Finally, note that the towers are not always right in the middle of a deserted platform. Some of them are well hidden to the eyes of virtual beings. However, this point isn't tackled here. On each Sector's page, we indicate the particular towers which added some suspense in an episode where they appeared. So visit the Sectors pages to find this information.



B) Function

The towers are data banks that tirelessly search the terrestrial networks looking for information and energy. As they are linked to these networks, they can act on them and so represent, along with the scanners, the only bridge between Lyoko and Earth.
The towers are used not only to create a link with Earth but also to execute computing actions that demand a lot of energy, like rematerialising Jeremy, stuck between two worlds (episode 19 “Frontier”) or also to decrypt Franz Hopper's diary (episode 51 “Revelation”)!

Linked to Carthage, they send all the data collected to the latter. They can also receive energy coming from this Sector.
We can also suppose that the towers are connected to the centre of Carthage: the Core of Lyoko. It explains why, when a certain code is entered in the Way Towers, we can irreparably destroy a Surface Sector.

The towers of Lyoko can be classified in three groups.
The archetype is the classic tower. 8 towers out of 10 on a Sector are concerned and they communicate each other. This means that, if you enter a tower and you throw yourself into the data flux, you will be directly moved to another tower. As the data fluxes are one-way, if you fall into the data flux of a tower, you won't be moved to the tower you were coming from but to another tower, and so on to the 8th tower which will get you back to the first tower you used at the beginning.
The two last towers are very particular. The first and the most important one is the Way Tower. In addition to being the main tower of the Sector, this one will allow you to leave it and to reach another Sector. Clearly its data flux doesn't match with another tower of the Sector you are in but with the tower of a bordering Sector.
The last tower is just the arrival tower. It means that it's the tower where you will land in the Sector if you take the Way Tower of another Sector.

Before concluding this characterisation of the 10 towers of a Sector, a warning is essential. The concept of the Towers doesn't seem to be clearly defined by the writers and shows some faults.
On one hand, concrete information about the Towers is little and squandered in the episodes, on the other hand, at the creation level, there seems to have some been blunders as to the representation of the towers.
The information saying that the "non-Way Towers" communicate with each other between the different points of the Surface Sectors has been showed in episode 72 “Crash Course”, namely very late in the series.
To give you an example, the Sectors don't always seem to have the same Way Tower. Especially the Ice Sector. When Xanafied Aelita wants to destroy the Ice Sector, she won't target the same Way Tower (episode 59 “The Secret”) as the one Aelita will finally use to destroy the Ice Sector in episode 61 “Sabotage”.
This same tower from episode 61 seems to be at the same time the Way Tower and the arrival Tower of the Ice Sector. Indeed, in the prologue, when Odd and Ulrich pass (or rather tumble) through the Forest Sector Way Tower, they come out into the Ice Sector through this tower.

From there, other theories can be envisaged. The Surface Sectors can have two Way Towers which can also be arrival Towers.
The point which maintains that theory is that each Surface Sector is linked to two other Sectors, so having two Way Towers is, in theory, logical.
What undermines this idea is that the heroes' lines always imply that there's only one Way Tower per Sector. Episode 19 “Frontier” also completely contradicts this idea. In this episode, Aelita goes all over the 4 Surface Sectors to collect the Way Towers' energy. When she's finished with a tower, she jumps into its data flux, reaches another Sector...and goes to the Tower of said Sector. But if the arrival towers were also Way Towers, Aelita wouldn't need to move into a new tower, not even once...

No certainty and mistakes on that subject, so...

However, inside the Digital World itself, the towers represent, if we can say so, the urban network. It means they occupy an important part of the communication network and traffic.
To use a (lame) comparison:
  • The large areas of Lyoko represent both roads and footpaths at the same time, where the Lyoko Warriors walk and use their vehicles.
  • The common towers represent the high-speed train which links the different points of a single Sector at high speed.
  • The Way Towers, with the Transporter, are the airports which link one Sector to another.


Within the categories named above, Carthage's tower seems unclassifiable. We don't know the effects it would have if someone typed the destruction code of the Sectors. Carthage doesn't have a Way Tower and can only be reached using the Transporter or the direct materialisation codes. However, when the tunnels in the Celestial Dome are opened, the heroes sometimes come out through the Surface Sector Way Towers! The opposite manoeuvre seems impossible...
The Replikas don't have Way Towers or arrival towers, because the Sectors they contain are alone and communicate with no others. There are only normal towers.
 

The Towers' stakes
 
A) Activation of the Towers and priorities

Without the towers, Lyoko would be nothing but a beautiful panorama. These very powerful towers are at the heart of the series and of the destructive conflict throughout it. As such, their control is an essential stake in nearly all the episodes of the series.
The control of places passes through two points. The interface and the power cables.
The interface is the core of the tower. Its brain and its heart at the same time. It is theoretically the major point where the choice of who controls the tower is made. It's where Aelita acts, and later in the series, William.
The power cables link the tower to Carthage, and therefore, to the one who dominates the blue Sector. At first XANA, then it will be Hopper and Jeremy.

However, in the end, we can show that the control of the tower doesn't necessarily dependant on the method of activation of the one who wants to use it, but especially on their power or permissions. So, we are going to do a chain of authority of tower users.

A blank tower, innocent and naïve, has a blue halo.
In episode 52 “The Key”, Franz Hopper activates all the towers in Lyoko to bring Aelita back to life. Since this day, the neutral towers have a white halo.
This characteristic also concerns the Replika towers. Although completely in XANA's grip, the neutral towers have a white halo. It may be a trick to show us that XANA didn't reproduce the Replikas alone, but that it took the data used by Franz to create them, with the disadvantages it involves. This theory also clears up the fact that Aelita can use the Code Lyoko on the Replikas.

Jeremy is one of the towers' users. He comes into play later and needs to study a lot before managing to activate a tower (episode 47 “Tip-Top Shape”). However, his control over activated towers can be stolen, by XANA or by Aelita. Although later, having recreated Lyoko, he has the energy of Sector 5 to defend his activations, but still remains the least powerful user.

Above Jeremy, we find XANA. It's the one who uses the towers the most, given that they're the only way for XANA to communicate with Earth. It can steal their control from Jeremy, which it does 4 times in the series. The key point of XANA is that it can defend access to the towers, and therefore to their interface thanks to its monsters.
On the Replikas, and only there, XANA gave William a special ability, rightfully making him the Guardian of the Replikas. He can type the Code XANA into the interfaces. Its effect is to immediately hand over control of the tower to XANA. He uses it in episode 78 “Lab Rat” to quickly take control of one of Jeremy's towers in a Forest Replika.

Above XANA, we find Aelita. To tell the truth, Aelita isn't more powerful than XANA in terms of resources. However, she has a weapon: she can be identified in the tower and type the Code Lyoko, which immediately gives her control over the tower. This function may have been assigned by her father and is linked to the fact that she has the Keys of Lyoko. Aelita naturally remembers the Code Lyoko in the Prequel “XANA Awakens”, while she was amnesic.

Finally, the Big Boss is: Franz Hopper.
Even if he does it very rarely, Franz Hopper can activate towers and prevails over everybody, much to XANA's annoyance. He proves it in episode 51 “Revelation”.
However, the life of the scientist relies on his energy and activating a tower needs an enormous amount of energy. That explains why the genius' interventions are only kept for special occasions.

When Franz Hopper activates a tower, we can say that XANA is screwed over and it only has one solution: deactivate the tower forcibly...
Let's make a comparison: when a little boy has his ball stolen by someone taller and stronger than him, he will only react by puncturing the ball so that no-one can enjoy it.
This page will be full of lame metaphors, however it is nearly the same concept: XANA will use Megatanks to damage the tower until its databases are severely hit and the link with Earth is broken, shown by disappearance of the halo.
XANA uses this method in episode 50 “Contact”, as well as in episode 25 “Code: Earth” in order to make a Way Tower unavailable, preventing Jeremy from materialising Aelita.


B) The stake of the Towers

The towers are in the heart of all the episodes. Through them occur:
  • The deactivation and stopping of a XANA attack on Earth.
  • Programs. All of them used to resolve various computer bugs of the complex world of Lyoko (episode 42 “A Fine Mess”; episode 19 “Frontier”; episode 60 “Temporary Insanity” and more).
  • Again launching important programs (Aelita's materialisation with the Code Earth, decryption of Franz Hopper's diary...)
  • The procedures allowing the heroes to fight against XANA on equal terms (Jeremification (episode 47 “Tip-Top Shape”) or Teleportation).
  • Information. Indeed, XANA leaves traces in the towers it infects. In the Replika tower activated for William's Teleportation, Aelita recovers the data that allow the XANA Warrior to become his normal self again.

So, it's around them that the conflict on the Virtual World revolves.

In episode 54 “Lyoko Minus One”, the heroes discover with horror that Aelita can type a code other than the Code Lyoko: the Code XANA! Inserted in a Surface Sector Way Tower, it launches the simple, irreversible and immediate destruction of the Sector! During the conflict for the destruction of Lyoko from episode 53 “Straight to Heart” to episode 65 “Final Round”, the towers have a new dominant interest for XANA.


Let's finally remark that the towers are protected spaces. XANA only has limited access to them and its monsters can't penetrate them.
So it is a place of strategic withdrawal, especially for Aelita who, before being rematerialised on Earth, was condemned to wander on Lyoko. In the towers, not only she was safe, but moreover, her life points regenerate. That's why, even if XANA dominated the field, with the innovation of Tarantulas for example, the heroes could be victorious, if they see to it that Aelita reaches the tower in time.
The safety of the towers has however decreased, as soon as William went to XANA's side. He is the only one of the AI's henchmen to be able to penetrate a tower, like he showed us in episode 76 “The Lake”. Nevertheless, this remains limited: his sword can't cross through the walls of the tower (episode 86 “Canine Conundrum”), unlike Yumi's fans.


Note:
This second box is less complete than the first one and very basic because the Places section doesn't aim to recount the story and the conflicts of the virtual war, but to quickly show the battlefields and their stakes. For more information, consult the History section, possibly, and especially the XANA section, which points out a lot about the XANA's use of the towers and their stakes in the heroes' conflict against the Artificial Intelligence (including their defence, the heroes' offensives and more).
 

Images
 
Image
Tower activated by Hopper in the Desert Sector
Image
Tower deactivated by Megatanks in the Forest Sector
Image
Tower activated by Jeremy in the Mountain Sector
Image
Tower activated by Aelita in the Ice Sector
Image
Tower activated by XANA in Sector 5
 

Images: inside the towers
 
Image
You just have to lean on the wall to enter the tower!
Image
Then, you have to walk to the centre of the platform.
ImageImage
Only Aelita will be able to fly upwards and land on the digital platform.
Image
There, the tower interface appears before her. She can connect to Lyoko and to Earth.
ImageImage
She can also type in a code, but which one?
Image
If you're not Aelita and you're not interested in the interface, approach the edge...
Image
Let yourself fall, you will be transported through a data tunnel into a tower in another Sector!
 

Bonus! In the towers, you can also...
 
Image
Surf the net!
Image
Materialise the perfect woman...
Image
Stupidly sacrifice your DNA sequences...
Image
...or fix the mess!
Image
Find information on your missing father...
Image
Make your insane friends sane again!
 

 
 
Image

Beware of bad encounters...

Code Earth!
Rematerialisation visitor!
 
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Les tours des Mondes Virtuels
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Les tours dans les mondes virtuels ou réels] [L'enjeu des Tours] [Images] [En images : dans les tours] [Bonus ! Dans les tours, vous pouvez aussi...]
 
 

Les tours dans les mondes virtuels ou réels
 
A) Description

Les tours sont réparties dans les 4 territoires de Lyokô, à raison de 10 tours par Territoires de Surface. Dans l'épisode 49 « Franz Hopper », on en découvre une 41ème sur le 5ème Territoire.


Sur les Réplikas, nous n'avons l'information du nombre de tour dans aucun épisode. Néanmoins, puisque le Territoire contenu dans un Réplika est une copie calquée sur le modèle de Lyoko, il n'est pas stupide de penser qu'un monde parallèle géré par XANA contient 10 tours (et une pour les Réplikas de Carthage).
Chaque tour ressemble à un pilier géant dont la base fait penser à un tronc d'arbre. Elles sont blanches et s'illuminent d'une lueur dont la couleur change selon qui les utilise.
  • Si la tour est désactivée ou utilisée par Aelita, elle est bleue. On dit souvent dans ce cas qu'elle est désactivée, ce qui à réfléchir est une erreur de langage vu qu'Aelita peut, elle-aussi, agir sur les réseaux terriens à partir des tours. Elle le fait dans l'épisode 24 « Canal Fantôme » pour venir en aide à Jérémie, retenu par Jim et le proviseur.
  • Quand XANA active une tour pour attaquer notre monde, elle est rouge.
  • Quand Jérémie active une tour, elle est verte.
  • Lorsque Franz Hopper active une tour, elle est blanche. Il faut noter qu'à la fin de la saison 2, Hopper active toutes les tours de Lyoko, par conséquent dans la saison 3, même quand Aelita désactive une tour, son halo redevient blanc et non bleu.

Les tours qui sont réellement désactivées sont en fait les tours endommagées : Elles perdent alors tout halo. Leurs banques de données sont endommagées et il leur faut le temps de se régénérer. Cela survient quand XANA leur fait du mal, à l'aide des puissants tirs de ses Mégatanks. Cela peut aussi survenir si les câbles d'alimentation de la Tour sont rompus.


L'intérieur des tours est toujours le même, indépendamment de qui les utilise. On peut y entrer par n'importe quel côté mais on n'arrive pas toujours sur la plate-forme principale à l'intérieur. Odd et Ulrich en font l'expérience et tombent au fond de la Tour dans « Le réveil de XANA ». Dans les tours, les murs sont couverts de lignes de données binaires. Il y a deux plates-formes, où figure l'œil de XANA : une au niveau du sol, et une plus haut. Elle donne accès à une interface qui permet à quiconque, sur Lyoko ou un Réplika, d'accéder au monde réel. Cette interface est aussi le cœur de la tour et c'est par celle-ci que la tour peut changer de propriétaire ou que les programmes, comme celui qui génère les Répliques (Episode 67 « Mauvaise Réplique) tournent.


Enfin, remarquons que les tours ne sont pas toujours piquées en plein centre d'une plate-forme déserte. Certaines sont remarquablement dissimulées aux yeux des virtuels. Cependant ce point n'est pas abordé ici. Sur la page de chaque Territoire, nous signalons les tours particulières qui ont ajouté du suspens à un épisode dans lequel elles apparaissaient. Visitez donc les pages des Territoires pour récolter ces informations.



B) Fonction

Les tours sont des banques de données qui fouillent inlassablement les réseaux terrestres à la recherche d'informations et d'énergie. Comme elles sont reliées à ces réseaux, elles peuvent y agir et représentent donc, avec les scanners, le seul pont entre Lyoko et la Terre.
Les tours servent à créer un lien avec la Terre mais aussi à exécuter des actions informatiques demandant beaucoup d'énergie comme rematérialiser Jérémie, coincé entre deux Monde (épisode 19 « Frontière ») ou encore décrypter le journal de Franz Hopper (épisode 51 « Révélations ») !

Liées à Carthage, elles envoient toutes les données collectées vers ce dernier. Elles peuvent aussi recevoir de l'énergie en provenance de ce Territoire.
On peut également supposer que les tours sont en lien avec le centre de Carthage : Le Cœur de Lyoko. Cela explique que par la saisie d'un certain code, dans les Tours de Passage, on puisse détruire irrémédiablement un Territoire de surface.

Les tours de Lyoko sont ainsi classables en trois types.
L'archétype est la tour classique. 8 des 10 tours d'un Territoire sont concernées et elles communiquent entre elles. C'est-à-dire que si vous pénétrez dans une de ces tours et que vous vous laissez tomber dans le flux de données, vous serez transporté directement vers une autre tour. Comme les flux de données sont à sens unique, si vous tombez dans le flux de données de la tour où vous êtes arrivés, vous ne serez pas transportés dans la tour d'où vous venez mais encore vers une nouvelle tour et ainsi de suite, jusqu'à ce que la 8ème tour où vous passerez vous reconduise à la tour d'où vous êtes partis à l'origine.
Les deux tours restantes sont plus particulières. La première et la plus importante est la Tour de Passage. En plus d'être la tour principale du Territoire, cette dernière vous permet de le quitter et de gagner un nouveau Territoire. En clair, son flux de données ne correspond pas avec une autre tour du Territoire où vous vous trouvez mais avec la tour d'un territoire limitrophe.
La dernière tour n'est que la tour d'arrivée. C'est-à-dire que c'est la tour où vous atterrirez dans le Territoire si vous avez emprunté la tour de passage d'un autre Territoire.

Avant de conclure cette caractérisation des 10 tours d'un Territoire, une mise en garde s'impose.
Le concept des Tours semble ne pas avoir été clairement défini par les scénaristes et présente des défaillances.
D'une part, les informations concrètes concernant les tours ne sont que peu nombreuses et dilapidées dans les épisodes, d'autre part, au niveau de la réalisation, il semble y avoir quelques bévues quand à la représentation des tours.
L'information comme quoi les tours qui ne sont pas de passage font communiquer les différents points du Territoire de Surface n'a été révélée que dans l'épisode 72 « Leçon de choses », soit très tardivement dans la série.
Pour vous donnez un exemple, les Territoires ne semblent pas avoir toujours la même tour de passage. La Banquise notamment. Lorsque Aelita Xanatifiée voudra détruire la Banquise, elle ne ciblera pas la même Tour de Passage (Episode 59 « Le secret ») que celle qu'Aelita utilisera finalement pour faire disparaitre le Territoire Banquise dans l'épisode 61 « Sabotage ».
Cette même tour de l'épisode 61 semble être à la fois la Tour de Passage et d'arrivée du Territoire Banquise. En effet, dans la genèse, quand Odd et Ulrich passent (ou plutôt se vautrent) dans la Tour de passage du Territoire Forêt, ils débouchent sur le Territoire Banquise par cette Tour.

Dès lors, d'autres théories sont à envisager. Les Territoires de surface peuvent avoir deux Tours de Passage qui sont aussi des tours d'arrivée.
Le point qui soutient cette thèse est que chaque Territoire de Surface est relié à deux autres Territoires, donc avoir deux tours de passage est à priori logique.
Ce qui sape cette thèse, c'est que les répliques des héros laissent toujours entendre qu'il n'y a qu'une Tour de Passage par Territoire. L'épisode 19 « Frontière » contredit également totalement cette idée. Dans ce dernier, Aelita parcourt les 4 Territoires de Surface pour récolter l'énergie des Tours de Passage. Quand elle a fini avec une tour, elle saute dans son conduit de donnée, atteint un autre Territoire ... et part à la quête de la Tour dudit territoire. Or si les tours d'arrivée étaient aussi des tours de Passage, Aelita n'aurait pas eu besoin de changer de tour une seule fois...

Aucune certitude et des erreurs à ce propos, donc...

Néanmoins, à l'intérieur du Monde Numérique lui-même, les tours représentent, si on put dire, le réseau urbain. C'est-à-dire qu'elles occupent une partie importante du réseau de communication et de circulation.
Pour user d'une comparaison (pourrie) :
  • Les grandes étendues de Lyoko représentent à la fois les routes et les trottoirs, où les
    Lyoko-guerriers marchent et prennent leurs véhicules.
  • Les tours communes représentent le système de TGV qui relie à grande vitesse les différents points d'un seul territoire.
  • Les tours de passage, avec le transporteur, sont les aéroports qui relient un territoire à un autre.


Dans les catégories citées plus haut, la tour de Carthage semble inclassable. On ignore les effets qu'elle connaîtrait si on y saisissait le code de destruction des Territoires. Carthage n'a pas de Tour de passage et n'est accessible que via le Transporteur ou par les codes de matérialisation directe. Néanmoins, quand les tunnels de la voûte céleste sont ouverts, les héros en ressortent par les Tours de Passage des Territoires de Surface parfois ! La manœuvre inverse paraît impossible...
Les Réplikas, eux, n'ont pas de Tour de Passage ou bien d'arrivée, vu que les Territoire qu'ils contiennent sont seuls et ne communiquent avec aucun autre. Il n'y a que des tours normales.
 

L'enjeu des Tours
 
A) Activation des Tours et priorités

Sans les tours, Lyoko ne serait qu'un beau panorama. Ces très puissantes tours sont au cœur de la série et du conflit destructeur qui la traverse. Ainsi, leur contrôle est un enjeu primordial dans la quasi-totalité des épisodes de la série.
Le contrôle des lieux passe par deux points. L'interface et les câbles d'alimentation.
L'interface est le noyau de la tour. Son cerveau et son cœur à la fois. Il est à priori le point majeur où se fait le choix de qui prend le contrôle de la tour. C'est par elle qu'Aelita agit, et plus tard dans la série, William.
Les câbles d'alimentation, eux, relient la tour à Carthage et donc, à celui qui domine le Territoire bleu. D'abord XANA, ce sera ensuite Hopper et Jérémie.

Néanmoins, au final, on peut montrer que le contrôle de la tour ne dépend pas forcément de la méthode d'activation de celui qui veut l'employer mais surtout de la puissance ou des autorisations de ce dernier. On va donc faire l'échelle d'autorité des utilisateurs de tours.

Une tour vierge, innocente et candide possède un halo bleu.
Dans l'épisode 52 « Réminiscence », Hopper active l'intégralité des tours de Lyoko pour rendre la vie à Aelita. Dès ce jour, les tours neutres ont un halo blanc.
Cette caractéristique touche également les tours des Réplikas. Bien que sous l'emprise totale de XANA, les tours neutres des Réplikas sont à halo blanc. C'est peut-être une piste pour nous montrer que XANA n'a pas reproduit les Réplika seul, mais qu'il a repris les données employées par Franz afin de les créer, avec les inconvénients que cela comporte. Cette théorie éclaircit aussi le fait qu'Aelita puisse user du Code Lyokô sur les Réplikas.

Jérémie est l'un des utilisateurs de Tours. Il entre en jeu tardivement et doit beaucoup étudier avant de parvenir à activer une tour (Episode 47 « Au meilleur de sa forme »). Néanmoins, il peut se faire voler le contrôle des tours qu'il active, par XANA ou par Aelita. Bien que plus tard, ayant recréé Lyoko, il dispose de l'énergie du 5ème territoire pour défendre ses activations, il reste l'utilisateur le moins puissant.

Au-dessus de Jérémie, on trouve XANA. C'est celui qui se sert le plus des tours vu qu'elles sont pour lui le seul moyen de communiquer avec Terre. Il peut dérober leur contrôle à Jérémie comme il ne manquera jamais de le faire 4 fois dans la série. Le point fort de XANA, c'est qu'il peut défendre l'accès aux tours et donc à leur interface à l'aide de ses monstres.
Sur les Réplikas, et les Réplikas seulement, XANA a doté William d'une capacité spéciale, faisant de lui à juste titre le Gardien des Réplikas. Il peut taper dans l'interface le Code XANA. Cela a pour effet de passer immédiatement la tour sous contrôle de XANA. Il l'utilisera dans l'épisode 78 « Expériences » pour prendre rapidement le contrôle d'une tour à Jérémie sur un Réplika Forêt.

Au dessus de XANA, on trouve Aelita. Aelita n'est en vérité pas supérieure à XANA en termes de ressources. Néanmoins, elle possède une arme : Elle peut se faire identifier dans la tour et saisir le Code Lyoko qui lui confère immédiatement le contrôle de la tour. Cette fonction lui a sans doute été attribuée par son père et est liée au fait qu'Aelita possède les Clefs de Lyoko. Aelita se souvient naturellement du Code Lyoko dans la Genèse « Le réveil de XANA », alors qu'elle était amnésique.

Enfin, the Big Boss is : Franz Hopper.
Même s'il ne le fait que très rarement, Franz Hopper peut activer les tours et prévaut sur tout le monde, au grand dam de XANA. Il le prouve dans l'épisode 51 « Révélations ».
Néanmoins, la vie du savant sur Lyoko ne tient qu'à son énergie et activer une tour puise énormément d'énergie. Cela explique que les interventions du génie ne soient réservées qu'aux grandes occasions.

Quand Franz Hopper contrôle une tour, on peut dire que XANA l'a dans l'os et il ne lui reste qu'une solution : désactiver la tour de force...
Plaçons cette page sous le signe de la comparaison : Quand un petit enfant se fait piquer son ballon par plus grand et plus fort que lui, il ne pourra réagir qu'en perçant le ballon afin que personne n'en profite.
Cette page sera bourrée de métaphores pourries, toutefois c'est à peu prêt le même concept : XANA va utiliser les Mégatanks pour endommager la tour jusqu'à ce que ces bases de données soient sévèrement atteintes et que le lien avec la Terre soit rompu, comme le traduit la disparition du halo.
XANA utilise cette méthode dans l'épisode 50 « Contact » mais aussi dans l'épisode 25 « Code Terre » afin de rendre indisponible une tour de passage, empêchant Jérémie de matérialiser Aelita.


B) L'enjeu des Tours

Les tours sont au cœur de tous les épisodes. Par elles, passent :
  • La désactivation et donc l'arrêt de l'attaque de XANA sur Terre.
  • Les programmes. Tous ceux pour résoudre les divers bugs informatiques du complexe monde de Lyokô (Episode 42 « Désordre » ; Episode 19 « Frontière » ; Episode 60 « Tarentule au plafond » et j'en passe).
  • Encore des programmes capitaux s'enclenchent (Matérialisation d'Aelita par le code Terre, décryptage du journal de Franz Hopper...)
  • Les procédés permettant de lutter à armes égales avec XANA (Jérémification (Episode 47 « Au meilleur de sa forme ») ou translation).
  • L'information. En effet, XANA laisse des traces dans les tours qu'il infecte. C'est dans la tour d'un Réplika activée pour la translation de William qu'Aelita récupère les données qui permettront le retour du XANA-guerrier à lui-même.

C'est donc autour d'elles que s'organisent le conflit sur le Monde virtuel.

Dans l'épisode 54 « Lyoko moins un », les héros découvrent avec horreur qu'Aelita peut rentrer un autre code, que le Code Lyoko : le code XANA ! Inséré dans une Tour du Passage d'un Territoire de Lyoko, il enclenche la destruction simple, irréversible et immédiate du Territoire de la tour ! Lors du conflit pour la destruction de Lyoko de l'épisode 53 « Droit au cœur » à 65 « Dernier round », les tours ont un nouvel intérêt prépondérant pour XANA.


Notons enfin que les tours sont des espaces protégés. XANA n'y a qu'un accès limité et ses monstres ne peuvent pas y pénétrer.
C'est donc un lieu de repli stratégique, notamment pour Aelita qui, avant d'être rematérialisée sur Terre, était condamnée à errer sur Lyoko. Dans les tours, non seulement, elle était abritée, mais de surcroît, elle voyait ses points de vie se régénérer. C'est pourquoi, souvent, même si XANA dominait sur le terrain, avec l'innovation des Tarentules, par exemple, les héros pouvaient emporter la victoire, s'ils parvenaient à faire en sorte qu'Aelita pénètre dans la tour à temps.
La sécurité propre aux tours a toutefois diminué, du moment que William est passé du côté de XANA. Il est le seul sbire du l'IA à pouvoir pénétrer dans une tour comme il le montre dans l'épisode 76 « Le lac ». Cela reste cependant limité : Son épée, elle, ne peut pas traverser les parois des tours (Episode 86 « Kiwi superstar ») contrairement aux éventails de Yumi.


Note :
Ce second cadre est moins complet que le premier et très sommaire car la rubrique Lieux ne vise pas à retracer l'histoire et les conflits de la guerre virtuelle, mais à présenter rapidement les terrains de batailles et leurs enjeux. Pour plus d'informations, consultez donc la rubrique Histoire, éventuellement, mais surtout la rubrique XANA qui indique beaucoup concernant l'usage que XANA fait des tours et leurs enjeux dans le conflit qui oppose l'Intelligence Artificielle aux héros (incluant leur défense, les offensives des héros et plus encore).
 

Images
 
Image
Tour activée par Hopper dans le Territoire du désert
Image
Tour désactivée par les Mégatanks dans le Territoire forêt
Image
Tour activée par Jérémie dans le Territoire des montagnes
Image
Tour activée par Aelita dans le Territoire de la banquise
Image
Tour activée par XANA dans le 5ème Territoire
 

En images : dans les tours
 
Image
Il suffit de s'appuyer à la paroi pour rentrer dans la tour !
Image
Après, il faut marcher jusqu'au centre de la plate-forme.
ImageImage
Aelita seulement pourra s'envoler vers le haut et se poser sur la plate-forme numérique.
Image
Là, l'interface de la tour s'offre à elle. Elle peut se connecter à Lyokô et à la Terre.
ImageImage
Elle peut aussi taper un code mais lequel ?
Image
Si vous n'êtes pas Aelita ou que l'interface ne vous intéresse pas, approchez-vous du bord...
Image
Laissez-vous tomber, vous serez transportés dans un tunnel de données jusqu'à la tour d'un autre territoire !
 

Bonus ! Dans les tours, vous pouvez aussi...
 
Image
Surfer sur le net !
Image
Matérialiser la femme parfaite...
Image
Sacrifier bêtement vos séquences ADN...
Image
...et réparer les dégâts !
Image
Trouver des informations sur votre père disparu...
Image
Rendre leurs esprits à vos amis qui ont perdu la tête !
 

 
 
Image

Ne faites pas de mauvaise rencontre ...

Code Terre !
Rematérialisation visiteur !
 
 

Image