Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Digital Sea and Void
 
 [Back to homepage]

[Presentation] [Images]
 
 

Presentation
 
A) Definition

Note: By the Digital Sea (wrongly called the Digital Void,) we mean the part of the Digital Ocean that enters Lyoko. In the series, the heroes also call it the Digital Sea. We're using this expression mostly to dissociate this small sea from the vast expanse of the digital water that is the global network. This fluid circulates by the exit of Lyoko.
The Digital Sea is sometimes wrongly referred to as the Digital Void, because when the heroes fall into it, they become virtualized forever. This mixture most likely originated from the French expression “tomber dans le vide," literally "to fall in the void."

The digital void itself corresponds to “the atmosphere” of Lyoko: not everything on Lyoko is solid (such as the land of the Sectors) or liquid... Besides that though, to be more precise, we can't really speak of the atmosphere given that gas doesn't exist on Lyoko. Thus, everything that appears to us as air is really a “digital void.”


For a long time, up until episode 71 “Maiden Voyage,” the heroes had only a blurry idea of what Lyoko is. The Digital Sea remained the boundary of their knowledgde of Lyoko, and one that they could not cross, because it would serve as a deadly trap. Indeed, the Digital Sea sways just like any real sea... but appearances can be deceiving!

The water of the Digital Sea is only symbolic.
Two main theories exist concerning its exact nature.
-The first would be that it is in fact a collection of data. The entire immensity of data that travels through the Internet and are solicited by billions of people online. This fact is confirmed by the precariousness of the Digital Sea. In fact, when a hero falls in it, his virtual body made of data is, in some way, destroyed and dispersed, or swallowed up by this enormous flux of data. This is what makes falling into the Digital Sea a fatal experience.
-However, in the network, we find banks of data that are immersed in this water. In this sense, the digital water could represent electricity: Energy! The kind that exists in our computers and connects us to the “human network.”

Whatever it may be, this water is especially not to be confused with the water that can sometimes be found on the Surface Sectors of Lyoko and that is only decorative. Odd even takes a quick dip in it in episode 44 “Vertigo.”

When the Sectors are deleted, the digital sea remains, because it is an extension of the global network and unaffected by the fate of Lyoko.

B) Role in the series

At the start of the series, the Digital Sea inside Lyoko served mainly to border the “virtual world” of Lyoko.
It added to the series by creating a certain danger.
As explained above, when one of the heroes falls into the Digital Sea, they are in grave danger. There are two stages that must be fulfilled to bring them back.

The first and surely the most tedious: Find them within the immensity of the digital water.
The second is to employ a materialization program as complex as the one that Jeremy used to bring Aelita back to Earth. This is a frighteningly more complex procedure than the quasi-automatic rematerialization that takes place after a devirtualization on Lyoko.

Yumi personally experiences this in episode 6 “Cruel Dilemma.” After having fallen in the Digital Sea to save Aelita, the genius must sacrifice a unique copy of the materialization program to save her.
After episode 25 "Code Earth," with Jeremy having perfect mastery of the materialization program, it becomes less dangerous to fall into the Digital Sea, but it's still far from recommended. Once again, the chances of being fished out are infinitesimal. They must pay attention not to lose their vehicles over the Digital Sea and avoid falling in.

However, the heroes also know to take advantage of this phenomenon, and seeing as XANA's monsters aren't spared by the Digital Sea, the heroes throw them in sometimes through various tricks (like Aelita who makes the ground disappear from right under the feet of a Tarantula in episode 60 “Temporary Insanity.”)

XANA attempts to use the Digital Sea himself one time to harm the Lyoko Warriors. In episode 55 “Tidal Wave,” XANA bugs up the Digital Sea, making it climb and swallow up the four Surface Sectors (three in fact, since the Forest had been destroyed...)
The monsters were all destroyed save for the Hornets who could fly. On the other hand, the Sectors themselves and the towers were not affected! Some data found on Carthage allowed them to lower the level of the ocean. XANA's interest, in addition to seriously threatening his enemies, was to prevent access to the towers, notably the one that he had activated.

When XANA wants to take the life of Hopper, the Digital Sea also takes on a new importance. The heroes learn in episode 82 “Distant Memory” that the sea was the hiding place of Franz Hopper. The scientist is literally so powerful that his virtual envelope remains together even when submersed in the network. Additionally, the Digital Sea serves as a perfect refuge for him as explained above.

In order to kill him, XANA no longer has a choice, he must find a way to lure him out.
For that, he must cause Aelita to fall into the Digital Sea. As soon as this occurs, Franz Hopper will come out carrying his daughter within his protective shell and will do everything within his power to return his daughter to the surface of Lyoko where she is safe... and where XANA determinedly waits for them.

Image

Thus, the heroes must do everything so that Aelita does not fall into the Digital Sea.
(See the Story and XANA sections for more information.)

Also note that the Colossus is resistant enough to walk through the Digital Sea (episode 93 “Down to Earth”) and William seems to have received the ability from XANA to conceal himself there as well.

C) After the Skidbladnir

The Digital Sea was only an uncertain and dangerous frontier at the start for the heroes.
Starting from the time when the heroes have the Skidbladnir, they studied the sea and discovered that it was, in reality, only a part of the global network...
A network immensely more vast that you can further discover about on the page concerning it.
A network where new enemies are found.
A network where there are new virtual worlds to be seen, Replikas, that also contain their own small part of the Digital Sea.

Thus, the Skidbladnir is a submarine that allows the heroes to cross the small barrier that is the Digital Sea before passing through the exit of Lyoko and entering far more vast a territory.

Image

In conclusion, the Digital Sea serves only as a barrier to the heroes that separated them from the vast network and the Replikas.
 

Images
 
Image
Digital Sea in the Desert Sector
Image
Digital Sea in the Ice Sector
Image
Digital Sea in the Mountain Sector
Image
Digital Sea in the Forest Sector
Image
Digital Sea in Sector 5
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

La mer et le vide numérique
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Présentation] [Images]
 
 

Présentation
 
A) Définition

Note : Par la mer numérique (à tort appelé vide numérique), nous entendons, ici, la partie de l'Océan Numérique qui a pénétré dans Lyoko. Dans la série, les héros l'appellent eux-aussi Mer Numérique. On utilise cette expression surtout pour dissocier cette petite mer de la vaste étendue d'eau numérique qu'est le Réseau Mondial. Ce fluide circule par le sas qui est la sortie de Lyoko.
La Mer Numérique est parfois nommé à tort vide Numérique car lorsque les héros y tombent, ils sont digitalisés à jamais. L'amalgame vient donc probablement de l'expression "Tomber dans le vide".

Le vide numérique, lui, correspond à "l'atmosphère" de Lyoko : Tout ce qui sur Lyoko n'a pas une consistance solide (comme le sol des Territoires) ou aqueux... Sauf que justement, on ne peut pas parler d'atmosphère vu que le gaz n'existe pas sur Lyoko. Tout ce qui nous apparait donc être comme de l'air est bien un "vide numérique"


Longtemps, jusqu'à l'épisode 71 « Premier voyage », les héros n'ont eut qu'une conception floue de ce qu'est Lyoko. La Mer numérique restait donc la limite connue de Lyoko et qu'on ne peut pas franchir, car c'est surtout un piège qui peut s'avérer mortel. En effet, la mer numérique ondule comme n'importe quelle véritable mer... mais les apparences sont trompeuses !

L'eau de la Mer Numérique n'est qu'une symbolisation.
Deux théories principales existent quant à sa nature exacte.
- La première serait qu'elle serait en fait un amoncellement de données. Toute l'immensité des données qui parcourent internet et sont sollicitées par Milliards par les internautes. Ce fait est confirmé par la dangerosité de la Mer Numérique. En fait, quand un héros y chute, son corps virtuel fait de données est, en quelque sorte, ou bien broyé et dispersé, ou bien englouti dans cet énorme flux de données. C'est cela qui fait de la chute dans la Mer Numérique une expérience mortellement dangereuse.
- Néanmoins, dans le réseau, on trouve des Banques de données qui sont immergées dans cette eau. Ainsi, l'eau numérique pourrait représenter l'électricité : L'énergie ! Celle qui circule dans nos ordis et nous connecte au « human network »

Quoiqu'il en soit, cette flotte n'est à surtout pas confondre avec celle qui peut parfois se trouver sur les Territoires de Lyoko et qui n'est que décorative. Odd y fait même trempette dans l'épisode 44 « Vertige ».

Quand les Territoires sont effacés, la mer numérique reste car c'est une extension du réseau mondial et elle n'est pas affectée par le destin de Lyoko.

B) Rôle dans la série

Au début de la série, la Mer Numérique intra-Lyoko servait principalement à délimiter le « Monde virtuel » qu'est Lyoko.
Elle ajoutait du piquant à la série en créant un danger certain.
Comme expliqué ci-dessus, lorsque l'un des héros chute dans la Mer Numérique, il se met en grave péril. Il faut passer par deux étapes pour le ramener.

La première et sûrement la plus délicate : Le retrouver dans cette immensité d'eau numérique.
La seconde, employer un programme de matérialisation aussi complexe que celui que Jérémie a employé pour ramener Aelita sur Terre. C'est un procédé terriblement plus complexe que la rematérialisation quasi-automatique qui a lieu après une dévirtualisation dans Lyoko.

C'est Yumi qui a du faire cette expérience dans l'épisode 6 « Cruel dilemme ». Tombée dans la Mer Numérique pour sauver Aelita, le génie a du sacrifier un exemplaire unique du programme de matérialisation pour sauver la Japonaise.
Après l'épisode 25 « Code Terre », Jérémie ayant la parfaite maîtrise du programme de matérialisation, il est moins dangereux de tomber dans la mer numérique mais c'est loin d'être recommandé pour autant. Une nouvelle fois, les chances d'être repêché sont infinitésimales. Il faut donc faire attention à ne pas perdre son véhicule au dessus de la Mer Numérique ou éviter d'en tomber.

Néanmoins, les héros savent aussi jouer de ce phénomène et comme les monstres de XANA ne sont pas épargnés par la Mer Numérique, les héros les y plongent parfois par diverses ruses (comme Aelita qui fait disparaître le sol sous une Tarentule dans l'épisode 60 « Tarentule au plafond »).

XANA tente une fois d'employer la Mer Numérique pour nuire aux Lyoko-guerriers. Dans l'épisode 55 « Raz de marée », XANA bogue la mer numérique, la faisant monter et inondant les quatre Territoires de surface (trois en fait, puisque la Forêt était détruite)...
Les monstres ont tous été détruits sauf les Frelions qui volaient. En revanche, on a pu constater que les décors et les tours n'étaient pas affectés ! Des données trouvées sur Carthage ont permis de faire redescendre le niveau de l'océan. L'intérêt de XANA, outre menacer ses ennemis sérieusement, était d'empêcher l'accès aux tours, notamment celle activée.


Quand XANA en voudra à la vie de Hopper, la Mer Numérique prendra une importance nouvelle. Les héros apprendront, en effet, dan l'épisode 82 « Mémoire Blanche », que c'était la cachette de Franz Hopper. Le savant est effectivement si puissant que son enveloppe virtuelle reste intègre même plongée dans le réseau. En outre, la Mer Numérique lui offre un refuge parfaite, comme expliqué au-dessus.

Pour le tuer, XANA n'a donc plus le choix, il doit trouver un moyen de l'en déloger.
Pour cela, il fera tomber Aelita dedans. Dès lors, Franz Hopper viendra entourer sa fille de son enveloppe protectrice et fera tout pour émerger et déposer son enfant sur le sol de Lyoko où elle est à l'abri... et où XANA l'attend de pied ferme.

Image

Les héros devront donc tout faire pour qu'Aelita ne tombe pas dans la Mer Numérique.
(Voir les rubriques Histoire et XANA pour plus de précisions).

Notons aussi que le Kolosse est assez résistant pour marcher dans la Mer Numérique (Episode 93 « Retour ») et William semble avoir reçu de XANA la capacité de s'y dissimuler.

C) L'après Skidbladnir

La Mer Numérique n'était au départ qu'une frontière incertaine et dangereuse pour les héros.
A partir du moment où les héros ont le Skidbladnir, ils étudient cette mer et découvrent qu'elle n'est en réalité qu'un bras du réseau Mondial...
Réseau immensément plus vaste que vous pouvez découvrir sur la page qui lui est concernée.
Réseau où se trouvent de nouvelles menaces.
Réseau où l'on trouve de nouveaux mondes virtuels, les Réplikas, qui contiennent, par ailleurs, eux aussi, leur petit bout de Mer Numérique.

Le Skidbladnir est donc un sous-marin qui permet aux héros de franchir la mince barrière qu'est la mer numérique avant de passer par le sas de Lyoko et s'engager dans un territoire plus vaste.

Image

Finalement, la Mer Numérique n'est qu'un entre-monde qui aura fait barrière aux héros, passé un temps, et qui les a séparés du vaste réseau et des Réplikas.
 

Images
 
Image
Vide numérique dans le Territoire du désert
Image
Vide numérique dans le Territoire de la banquise
Image
Vide numérique dans le Territoire des montagnes
Image
Vide numérique dans le Territoire de la forêt
Image
Vide numérique dans le 5ème Territoire
 

Image