Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Sector 5
 
 [Sector description and topology] [Appearances in episodes]

[Back to homepage]
 
 

Sector description and topology
 
Sector 5 is the very centre of the virtual world, situated in the middle of the two other Surface Sectors. It notably harbours the Core of Lyoko, a central element without which the Virtual World would not subsist. It was dubbed Sector 5 by the heroes, because it was the last Sector to be discovered. With the disappearance of the Forest and Ice Sectors following the Supercomputer being shut down for a long period of time, the name became incongruous.

The Sector has been enormously simplified compared to in the original series, both in its function and its concept. Some elements were totally deleted or modified. The reason for this change is explained in the interview with the two series producers.
On the other hand, some elements of Sector 5 haven't been mentioned at all in Code Lyoko Evolution... Should we assume that they disappeared? It's hard to say. In any case, this section will be based only on the content of Code Lyoko Evolution. We advise you to consult the Code Lyoko Sector 5 page to better appreciate this atypical Sector.

The structure of Sector 5 is complex and deserves a place-by-place explanation.


A) The Arena

The Arena is a room situated at the centre of Carthage, just above the Core Chamber.
The circular room is surrounded by blue walls. Its floor is a dark blue and decorated with a gigantic eye of XANA. This room is where the heroes appear while being directly virtualised into Sector 5. The Arena is like a foyer, leading to the rest of the Sector.

Image

B) The Labyrinth

There aren't just a few rooms in Carthage, but a complex network of rooms and corridors, small and large. This is especially the case in the northern hemisphere of Sector 5. This entanglement of spaces forms an enormous labyrinth which can be very difficult to navigate. But the heroes began to get used to it. However, the size of the place complicates some tasks, like when they had to find a transmitter hidden by a Ninja (episode 17 “A Professional Career Guaranteed”).
There was previously only one tower in Sector 5. But, when XANA re-manifests after the heroes turn the Supercomputer back on, new towers appear (episode 01 “XANA 2.0”).

Image

These winding passages often attract Megatanks and their strong firepower. Above all, the Sector remains mainly a place to visit in passing. It leads to the Celestial Dome or the Skid Hangar, via the Elevator... But it also contains the Core of Lyoko!

C) The Core Chamber

This is one of the rooms of Sector 5, at the centre of the Virtual World. It contains the Core (or Heart) of Lyoko, in the physical form of a shining sphere: a sphere that generates the entire Virtual World. Without it, Lyoko disappears. Moreover, even if we don't witness the launch of Jeremy's virus in the final episode, we see during the tests in episode 08 “Virus” that the simulation of Jeremy's virus targets the Core of Lyoko. It is therefore likely that the final version of the virus would have targeted the Core of the Cortex when engaged.

Image

The Core centralises all of Lyoko's data. Access to the Core grants access to the entire Virtual World. The Ninja who breaks into Lyoko in episode 14 “Intrusion” takes the path to the Core Chamber before being defeated.

Finally, we note that the Core seems to symbolise the heart of Lyoko (Bah yeah! A bit like the heart of the cards in Yu-Gi-Oh...). In episode 19 “The Trap”, Aelita speaks to the Core as if she were speaking to her father...as if Franz Hopper's soul was able to survive there, at the epicentre of his creation and the location of his death.

D) The Elevator

When leaving the Labyrinth, we don't arrive directly in the Celestial Dome, as the main part of Carthage is surrounded by an envelope. All around this envelope circles the high-velocity Elevator of Sector 5. The Elevator can take people to two destinations: the first is an opening leading to the Celestial Dome. The second is the Skid Hangar.

Image

E) The Celestial Dome

Once off the Elevator, a passage opens in the wall and overlooks the vast Celestial Dome. In actual fact, this place is impractical without a vehicle because all there is is a small pathway above the Digital Void. However, at the end of this path, there is something important: the Sector 5 interface!

Image

When Aelita connects to it, she has access to heaps of data. It is therefore a workplace within the system itself. A sort of Virtual World equivalent of Jeremy's computer. Aelita works there on preparing the virus in episode 08 “Virus”.

F) The Skid Hangar

Configured by Jeremy and Aelita during their previous adventure, the Skid Hangar is a room made-to-measure by the heroes, for the heroes. And especially for stowing the Skidbladnir, their exploratory submarine for the Network outside Lyoko. However, when the machine is restarted, the Hangar is empty, as the Skid had not survived the heroes' last exploits. After being reprogrammed, it takes its place in the Hangar, held in place by four pillars.

The room is circular, and a walkway runs around the pillars. This space also includes five transfer pads. Four small ones arranged around a larger one, forming a sort of cross. These pads are used to teleport the heroes into the Skidbladnir. The largest is reserved for Aelita and leads to the Skid cockpit, while the four others go to the Navskids. We should note that these places can be used by different Lyoko Warriors, and that a game of scissors-paper-rock may be needed to determine who will pilot the ship in Aelita's absence (episode 23 “Jeremy's Blues”).

Finally, at the perfect north pole of the Carthaginian globe, there is an opening that lets light into the Skid Hangar, and especially allows the submarine to exit into the Celestial Dome described above, and then into the sky of Lyoko.

In the end, the Skid Hangar would have a secondary role, in other words a room they pass through to get somewhere else...but the submarine is so important from a strategic point of view that some battles take place within the Hangar. In episode 13 “Friday the 13th”, XANA uses a tower to implant a virus in the Skid. In episode 14 “Intrusion”, an invisible Ninja hangs onto the Skid and enters the room as the ship does, returning from a mission in the Cortex. This is followed by a virulent confrontation between Tyron's creature and the heroes.

Image
 

Appearances in episodes
 
Appearances in episodes

#01 XANA 2.0
#06 Suspicions
#08 Virus
#12 Chaos at Kadic
#13 Friday the 13th
#14 Intrusion
#17 A Professional Career Guaranteed
#19 The Trap

Important events

ImageIn episode 01 “XANA 2.0”, XANA launches its first attack since the Supercomputer's reactivation. New towers appear in the Sector.
ImageBetween episodes 14 “Intrusion” and 17 “A Professional Career Guaranteed”, the heroes face the problem of a radar deviced placed by a Ninja, allowing Tyron to localise Lyoko. The heroes get rid of it in time.
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le 5ème Territoire
 
 [Description et topologie du Territoire] [Apparition du Territoire]

[Retour à l'accueil]
 
 

Description et topologie du Territoire
 
Le 5ème Territoire est le centre même du Monde Virtuel, situé au milieu des deux autres Territoires de Surface. Il héberge notamment en son sein le Coeur de Lyoko, élément central sans lequel le Monde Virtuel ne peut pas subsister. Il a été nommé 5ème Territoire par les héros, car il a été découvert en dernier. Avec la disparition de la Forêt et de la Banquise suite à la coupure du Supercalculateur durant une longue période, le nom est forcément devenu un peu caduc...

On peut noter néanmoins que le Territoire a été énormément simplifié par rapport à la série d'origine, dans sa fonction et son concept. Certains éléments ont été totalement supprimés et modifiés. La raison de cette modification est expliquée dans l'Interview des deux réalisateurs de la série.
En revanche, certains éléments du 5ème Territoire n'ont simplement pas été mentionnés dans Code Lyoko Evolution... Est-ce qu'il faut comprendre qu'ils ont disparu pour autant ? Dur à dire. En tout cas, cette rubrique ne sera basée que sur le seul contenu de Code Lyoko Evolution. Nous vous conseillons vivement de consulter la page du 5ème Territoire de la série Code Lyoko pour mieux apprécier ce Territoire atypique.

La structure du 5ème Territoire est complexe et mérite une explication lieu par lieu.


A) L'Arena

L'Arena est une salle située au centre de Carthage juste au dessus de la Salle du Cœur.
La pièce circulaire est entourée de murs bleus caractéristiques du 5ème Territoire, son plancher est d'un bleu plus foncé et décoré d'un énorme œil de XANA. C'est dans cette salle qu'on atterrit lors d'une virtualisation directe dans le 5ème Territoire. L'Arena donne sur le reste du Noyau.

Image

B) Les labyrinthes du Noyau

Il n'a pas que quelques salles dans Carthage mais un réseau complexe de pièces, de petites salles et de couloirs ou autres corridors. C'est surtout vrai dans l'hémisphère Nord de Carthage. L'ensemble de ces enchevêtrements d'espace forme un énorme labyrinthe dans lequel il peut être très difficile de s'y retrouver. Mais les héros commencent à être rodés. La grandeur du lieu leur complique cependant la tâche lorsqu'ils doivent retrouver un émetteur dissimulé par un Ninja (Episode 17 « Un avenir professionnel assuré »).
Il n'y avait qu'une seule Tour dans le 5ème Territoire. Cependant, dès que XANA se re-manifeste après que les héros ont rallumé le Supercalculateur, de nouvelles tours apparaissent (Episode 01 « Xana 2.0 »).

Image

Ces passages sinueux sont propices aux Megatanks et à leur puissante force de frappe. Le Noyau ne reste malgré tout majoritairement qu'un lieu de passage. Il mène à la Voûte céleste ou dans le Garage Skid, via l'ascenseur... Mais il comporte aussi le Coeur de Lyoko !

C) La salle du Cœur

Il s'agit d'une des salles, au centre du Monde Virtuel. Elle comporte le Coeur de Lyoko, matérialisé par une sphère brillante : Une sphère qui génère l'intégralité du Monde Virtuel. Sans elle, Lyoko disparait. D'ailleurs, même si l'on assiste pas à l'enclenchement du Virus de Jérémie dans l'épisode final, on remarque lors des tests de l'épisode 08 « Virus » que la simulation du virus de Jérémie prend comme cible le Coeur de Lyoko. Il y a donc fort à parier que la version finale du virus aurait pris le Coeur du Cortex comme cible en cas d'enclenchement.

Image

Le coeur centralise toutes les données de Lyoko. L'accès au Coeur donne un accès à l'intégralité du Monde Virtuel. Le Ninja qui s'introduit dans Lyoko dans l'épisode 14 « Intrusion » prend d'ailleurs la route de la salle du Coeur avant d'être vaincu.

On remarque enfin que le Coeur semble symboliser l'esprit de Lyoko (Bah oué ! Un peu comme l'âme des cartes dans Yu-Gi-Oh...). Dans l'épisode 19 « Le piège », Aelita s'adresse au Coeur comme si elle s'adressait à son Père... comme si l'âme de Franz Hopper avait pu subsister ici-bas, épicentre de sa création et lieu de sa mort.

D) L'ascenceur

En sortant des labyrinthes, on n'arrive pas directement à la Voûte Céleste car le noyau de Carthage est entouré par une enveloppe. Tout autour de cette enveloppe, circule à grande vitesse l'Ascenseur du 5ème Territoire. L'ascenseur peut mener à deux destinations : La première est une ouverture donnant sur la Voute céleste. La seconde est le Garage Kids.

Image

E) La Voûte Céleste

Sitôt sorti de l'ascenseur, un passage s'ouvre dans le mur et il donne sur la vaste voûte céleste. A vrai dire, cet endroit est peu praticable sans véhicule car il n'y a qu'un petit bout de chemin au dessus du vide numérique. Cependant, au bout de ce chemin, se trouve quelque chose de non négligeable : l'interface du 5ème Territoire !

Image

Quand Aelita se connecte à celle-ci, elle a accès à une foule de données. C'est par conséquent un lieu de travail à l'intérieur même du système. Une sorte d'équivalent de l'ordinateur de Jérémie dans le Monde Virtuel. Aelita y travaille à la confection du virus dans l'épisode 08 « Virus ».

F) Le Garage Skid

Configuré par Jérémie et Aelita lors de leur précédente aventure, le Garage Skid est une pièce faite sur-mesure par les héros, pour les héros. Et surtout pour entreposer le Skidbladnir, leur sous-marin d'exploration du Réseau à l'extérieur de Lyoko. Lorsqu'il rallume la machine, le garage est cependant vide, puisque le Skid n'avait pas survécu aux dernières péripéties des héros. Après l'avoir reprogrammé, il reprend sa place dans le Garage, tenu en gravitation par 4 piliers.

La pièce est circulaire, un chemin de ronde parcourt le tour de ces piliers. Cet espace comporte également 5 plots d'embarquement. Quatre petits disposés autour d'un plus gros pour un ensemble cruciforme. Ces plots servent à se téléporter dans le Skidbladnir. Le plus gros est réservé à Aelita et mène à la cabine de contrôle du Skid, les 4 autres mènent aux Navskids. Notons que les places ne sont pas définitive et que cela peut aboutir à un Pierre-Feuille-Ciseau pour savoir qui pilote le vaisseau en l'absence d'Aelita (Episode 23 « Le blues de Jérémie »)

Enfin, au parfait pôle Nord du globe Carthaginois, il y a une ouverture qui fait pénétrer de la lumière dans le Garage Skid et surtout permet au sous-marin d'en sortir, débouchant sur la Voûte Céleste décrite précédemment, puis dans le ciel de Lyoko.

Le Garage Skid aurait, finalement, un rôle secondaire, c'est-à-dire un lieu de passage... mais le sous-marin est tellement important du point de vue stratégique que certaines batailles se déroule au Coeur du Garage. Dans l'épisode 13 « Vendredi 13 », XANA se sert d'une tour pour implanter un virus au Skid. Dans l'épisode 14 « Intrusion », un Ninja invisible et accroché au Skid pénètre la pièce simultanément au vaisseau, de retour d'une mission dans le Cortex. S'en suit un virulent affrontement entre la créature de Tyron et les héros.

Image

Je conclue avec une petite anecdote. Pour ceux qui connaissent le pilote d'origine de la série, Garage Kids, vous remarquerez que le « Garage Skid », comme le nomme les héros, est un acronyme de « Garage Kids ».
 

Apparition du Territoire
 
Episodes d'apparition

#01 XANA 2.0
#06 Soupçons
#08 Virus
#12 Chaos à Kadic
#13 Vendredi 13
#14 Intrusion
#17 Un avenir professionnel assuré
#19 Le piège

Evènements importants

ImageDans l'épisode 01 « XANA 2.0 », XANA lance sa première attaque depuis le rallumage du Supercalculateur. De nouvelles tours apparaissent dans le Territoire.
ImageEntre l'épisode 14 « Intrusion » et l'épisode 17 « Un avenir professionnel assuré », les héros seront confrontés à un problème de radar, déposé par un Ninja, permettant à Tyron de localiser Lyoko. Les héros s'en débarrassent à temps.
 

Image