Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Network
 
 [Representation of the Network in the series] [The Network's stakes] [The virtual worlds in the Network] [In the Network...] [Appearances of the Network]

[Back to homepage]
 
 


Representation of the Network in the series
 
When they turn the Supercomputer back on, our heroes are already pretty familiar with the Worldwide Network. They had already extensively explored it during their previous adventures. However, the ship that enabled them to explore it, the Skidbladnir, had been destroyed. So Jeremy and Aelita have to reprogram it as a matter of emergency, which is soon done (episode 02 “Cortex”).

Even for us, in the real world, the concept of the Network sounds a little fuzzy.
Ms Decroisette, the writing director of seasons 1, 2 & 3 of the series, defined it as “[the web! The set of all the connections between all the computers in the world]” during an interview that was done before season 4. Fine, but how would these connections between all the computers in the world be represented?

Indeed, this is the way the writers represented the Network, as a vast ocean. When our heroes leave Lyoko, they enter an immeasurable stretch of a watery matter, without floor nor surface. It is easy to lose one's way there, so anyone who ventures there needs a radar. This aqueous place contains floating virtual worlds such as Lyoko and the Replikas, as well as enigmatic big blue blocks, decorated with all sorts of white “graffiti”. When you travel there, you might come across gateways called “hubs” that transport you to a distant point of the Network at high speed, in a hyperspace fashion. Our heroes sometimes use them to get to the Cortex quickly.
The colour of this watery vastness is a clear, peaceful blue that turns red when XANA is around.

Image Image
Image

Any consideration other than merely descriptive is quite hazardous. As we said above, the Network is a concept, and there is no clear reading to clarify precisely which elements of the real world the writers intended the things we see to correspond to. These are the most common interpretations:
The big sets of solid blocks are data banks.
The water that flows between these banks and creates currents may represent two things: either the huge amount of data that circulates through the Network, or electricity itself (it is often said that XANA's attacks travel through electrical networks). Unfortunately, these are but suppositions amongst a thousand possibilities.
 

The Network's stakes
 
Unlike the way it was during their previous adventures, when XANA controlled all of the Network...and when Franz Hopper was using it as a hideout, the Network holds a smaller role in Evolution. It is just the space that separates our heroes from the Cortex. In the end, it is a mere port of call, where brief fights occasionally occur (see below).

Image

Even though the universe of the Network looks impressive when we discover it, it is somewhat sad that it only had a quite secondary role. What's more, the fights that took place there were not that suspenseful, because our heroes could not lose: indeed, if one of our heroes were hit, they would inevitably die (which is, as one might suspect, strictly impossible in the bright wonderful world of cartoons =D).
 

The virtual worlds in the Network
 
The virtual worlds, be it Lyoko or the Cortex, are quite special elements. They represent a bunch of data organised in a definite structure, and located in a precise point of the Network. They have a peculiar appearance and, especially, they are hollow, which allows virtualised entities to move inside without protection.

Let us focus on two aspects of these worlds:
– The shell. Certainly incredibly solid and resistant, it isolates the inside of the virtual world from the rest of the Network. Which is why Lyoko and the Cortex can be considered as “digital bubbles”, islands submersed in the Network without being flooded by its waters. Physically, a huge pressure must push on the walls of those worlds, but this shell does not collapse, unless the virtual world itself is destroyed.

Image

– The airlock. It is the entrance and the exit of the world. Without these, the virtual worlds would be completely isolated, cut off from the Global Network, and it would be impossible for them to interact with Internet or with Earth.
The function of the airlock is probably to filter what is going in and out. If the water represents the data that flows through the Network, according to our previous hypothesis, then the airlock's role is to sort input and output and prevent the Network's data from overflowing into the virtual world. This is likely why when the Lyoko Warriors need to go on a little trip out of Lyoko, Jeremy has to be there to allow his huge program, the Skidbladnir, to leave, and that he has to force open the way into the Cortex.

Image

As for the localisation of the virtual worlds in the Network, it is hard to pinpoint them because the size of the Network is infinite. Our heroes know where Lyoko is located, because it is generated by their own Supercomputer. However, they were only able to discover the Cortex because of XANA. By acting from the Cortex, XANA created a trail that Jeremy was able to trace; however, the clue was fragile, and what's more, virtual worlds may be likely to drift from time to time, so Jeremy was anxious that he might loose the signal.
To conclude, unless one operates from the very terminal that generates a given virtual world, it is necessary to pinpoint its precise position first to be able to access it.

Image
 

In the Network...
 
What can be found in the Network, that is not inherently part of the Network?

Like the Digital Sea, the Network is a very dense mass of data. Therefore, one can easily get crushed and scattered all over the place, hence our heroes' fear of falling in the Digital Sea (which is an extension of the Network inside a virtual world). So, an incredible resistance is required to travel in the Network. The virtual worlds, as it was said above, are equipped with an incredible shell.

XANA is certainly the first one to reach the Network.
As an extremely powerful program, it managed to survive in that environment. Even though its essence is now imprisoned in the Cortex, it still finds some way to act in the Network, and even somehow cross it and activate the Towers of Lyoko, from the Cortex. Still, it lost some of its power and is now unable to create its own virtual worlds like it used to.
XANA's appearance is a point that was never elucidated, so the form in which it spread into the Digital Ocean is unknown.

XANA's monsters...
You can find more information about them in the “Monsters” section.
Their presence remains quite mysterious. On Lyoko, be it flying or terrestrial, no monster is supposed to resist the Digital Sea and its virtual pressure. Therefore, even the intimidating Megatanks and their invincible shell explode when they fall.
XANA, however, made quite an incredible achievement, since it managed to populate the Global Network with underwater monsters: Sharks, Kongres and later, Mantas.

A Ninja...
Finding out that one of Tyron's Ninjas, hanging onto the Skid, was able to survive in the Network, was as much of a surprise as it had been for the monsters. It is the only virtual avatar we have ever seen doing such a thing. The most likely explanation is that the force field around the Ninja, that made him invisible and undetectable, also protected him from the Digital Sea. Other theories are developed about this Ninja on the page about Tyron's Ninjas.

Image

The Skidbladnir.
Since they are not as skilled as XANA or Hopper, our favourite students had to develop a powerful program that would allow them to go out of Lyoko. This is the role of the submarine ship, the Skidbladnir.
Equipped with powerful shields, it can resist the underwater pressure, and its powerful reactors allow it to move against the digital tide if necessary.
Even so, the trips in the Skidbladnir are most risky. Any bug in the program (shields, localisation radar, reactors) could entail the death of the whole group. XANA abuses this fault twice to attack the Skid. First, it infected it with a virus in episode 13 “Friday the 13th”. Our heroes had to free it from its dock and make it fly over Lyoko, to limit the damage. When they did this, they were taking a huge risk: the infected ship could lose its shield any time and fall right into the Digital Sea. XANA also trapped the submarine using a hub's security system in episode 23 “Jeremy's Blues”. This time, the ship was destroyed. Fortunately, Jeremy was able to devirtualise the crew just before it happened.

Image

Characters and monsters who travel through the Network engage in a bitter battle whenever they come across each other, with torpedoes or laser shots flying in every direction. Indeed, with its monsters, XANA intends to prevent our heroes from reaching the Cortex. To make it even more interesting, the destruction of the Skidbladnir in the Digital Sea would also entail the definitive virtualisation of our heroes.
 

Appearances of the Network
 
Appearances in episodes

We did not list the episodes in which the Network is simply crossed by our heroes without trouble.

#17 Rendezvous
#18 Chaos at Kadic
#22 Mutiny
#23 Jeremy's Blues
#25 Massacre

Important events

ImageIn episode 17 “A Professional Career Guaranteed”, our heroes make a dangerous trip through the Network, transporting Tyron's tracking device in order to get rid of it and get rid of it in the Cortex.
ImageIn episode 18 “Tenacity”, for the first time, XANA sends Mantas underwater, in the Digital Sea.
ImageIn episode 23 “Jeremy's Blues”, XANA grasps control of the security system of a hub and manages to destroy the Skidbladnir.
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le Réseau
 
 [La représentation du Réseau dans la série] [Les enjeux du Réseau] [Les mondes virtuels dans le Réseau] [Dans le réseau...] [Apparition du Réseau]

[Retour à l'accueil]
 
 


La représentation du Réseau dans la série
 
Les héros connaissent déjà bien le Réseau mondial lorsqu'ils rallument le Supercalculateur. Ils l'avaient déjà largement exploré lors de leur précédentes péripéties. Cependant, leur vaisseau permettant l'exploration, le Skidbladnir avait été détruit. Jérémie et Aelita doivent donc le reprogrammer en urgence, ce qui sera chose faite (Episode 02 « Cortex »).

Le concept du Réseau est un concept flou, même pour nous dans la réalité.
Mme Decroisette rédactrice en chef des saisons 1, 2 & 3 de la série l'a définit comme « la toile ! L'ensemble des connexions entre tous les ordis du monde », lors d'une interview d'avant saison 4.
Certes, mais comment représenter l'ensemble des connexions entre tous les ordis du monde ?

Les scénaristes ont représenté le Réseau ainsi : Un vaste Océan. Quand les héros sortent de Lyoko, ils se retrouvent dans une incommensurable étendue aqueuse, sans fond ni surface. Il est très facile de s'y perdre, d'où le besoin pour qui s'y aventure d'avoir un radar. Cette matière aqueuse contient des mondes virtuels comme Lyoko et Cortex ainsi que d'énigmatiques grands blocs rouges, ornés de « graffitis » blancs en tout genre. Quand on y navigue, on peut tomber sur des passerelles (hubs) qui vous propulsent en hyper vitesse dans un autre point du réseau. Les héros les empruntent pour rallier le Cortex rapidement.
Cette immensité aqueuse est d'un bleu paisible et transparent et vire au rouge quand XANA guette.

Image Image
Image

Il est délicat de s'aventurer hors de l'aspect descriptif. Comme dis plus haut, le Réseau est un concept et il n'existe aucun dogme pour expliciter la représentation qu'en ont fait les scénaristes. Les visions fortement répandues sont les suivantes :
Les grands ensembles rouges solides sont des banques de données.
L'eau, elle, qui circule sous forme de courant entre ces banques peut représenter deux choses : Soit la grande quantité de données qui transitent sur le net, soit l'électricité (On dit souvent que les attaques de XANA passent par les Réseaux électriques). Hélas, cela ne restent que des suppositions parmi des milliers d'autres.
 

Les enjeux du Réseau
 
Contrairement aux précédentes aventures, durant lesquelles XANA avait investi la totalité du Réseau... et à une époque où Franz Hopper s'y dissimulait, le Réseau à une important un peu moindre dans Evolution. Il n'est plus que l'espace qui sépare les héros du Cortex. Le Réseau ne reste qu'un lieu de passage où se déroulent de brefs affrontements épisodiques dont on parle plus bas.

Image

Même si l'Univers du Réseau est impressionnant lors de sa découverte, il reste assez regrettable qu'il ait gardé un rôle légèrement secondaire. De surcroît, les combats qui s'y déroulent ne présentent pas un suspens monstre, car si un des héros venait à perdre, il mourrait immanquablement (ce qui, comme on s'en doute, était impossible dans le monde tout rose du dessin animé =D).
 

Les mondes virtuels dans le Réseau
 
Les mondes virtuels qu'il s'agisse de Lyoko ou du Cortex, sont des éléments particuliers. Ils sont un amoncellement de données qui possède un structure et un emplacement fixe dans le Réseau. Ils ont un aspect particulier, et surtout, ils sont creux, permettant la virtualisation en leur sein.

Focalisons-nous sur deux aspects de ces mondes :
- L'écorce. Sûrement d'une résistance incomparable, c'est elle qui isole l'intérieur du monde virtuel du reste du Réseau. C'est pour cela que Lyoko et les Réplikas sont des « bulles virtuels » des îles immergées dans le réseau, mais pas inondées par celui-ci. Il y a donc une pression exceptionnelle qui repose sur l'écorce des mondes et cette dernière ne se rompt que lorsqu'un monde est détruit.

Image

- Le sas. Il est le point d'entrée et de sortie du monde. Sans sas, les mondes virtuels seraient isolés, coupés du Réseau mondial avec probablement l'impossibilité d'interagir sur ce dernier ou avec la Terre.
Le sas a probablement une fonction de filtre. Si l'eau représente les données qui transitent dans le Réseau, tel qu'on en a émis l'hypothèse, alors le sas trie les données qui entrent et qui sortent de Lyoko et empêche la foule de données transitant dans le Réseau d'inonder Lyoko. C'est sûrement pour cette raison que pour faire une virée hors de Lyoko, Jérémie doit ouvrir (ou autoriser) la sortie du gros programme qu'est le Skidbladnir et que pour pénétrer dans le Cortex, Jérémie doit forcer l'entrée.

Image

Au sujet de la localisation des mondes dans le Réseau, elle est difficile à établir car le Réseau est infini. Les héros connaissent la localisation de Lyoko, puisqu'il est généré par leur Supercalculateur. En revanche, ils n'ont pu découvrir le Cortex que grâce à XANA. En émettant une activité depuis le Cortex, XANA a laissé une piste que Jérémie a pu remonter. Cependant, cet indice était ténu et les mondes virtuels pourraient avoir tendance à dériver dans le Réseau car Jérémie avait peur de perdre le signal.
Pour conclure, si l'on opère pas depuis le terminal qui génère un monde virtuel précis, il faut localiser la position de ce dernier dans le Réseau pour y avoir accès.

Image
 

Dans le réseau...
 
Que trouve-t-on dans le réseau ? Plusieurs choses qui lui sont étrangères.

A l'image de la mer numérique, le Réseau est un condensé de données extrêmement important. Ainsi, on peut facilement se retrouver broyé et dispersé en son sein, d'où la crainte des héros de tomber dans la Mer Numérique (qui est une extension du Réseau à l'intérieur d'un monde virtuel). Il faut donc avoir une certaine résistance pour évoluer dans le Réseau. Les mondes virtuels, comme on l'a dit plus haut, sont dotés d'une impressionnante écorce.

XANA est sûrement le premier à avoir atteint le Réseau.
Programme extrêmement puissant, il y a survécu. Même si aujourd'hui, son essence est prisonnière du Cortex, il arrive toujours à agir dans le Réseau et même à traverser le Réseau puisqu'il arrive à activer les Tours de Lyoko, depuis le Cortex. Il a cependant perdu de son pouvoir et ne peux plus créer ses propres mondes virtuels comme il l'a fait par le passé.
L'apparence de XANA n'a jamais été claire, aussi, on ignore sous quel aspect il s'est répandu dans l'Océan Numérique.

Les monstres de XANA...
Plus d'information leur sont consacrées dans la Rubrique « Monstres ».
Leur présence reste assez énigmatique. Sur Lyoko, aucun des monstres volants ou terrestres n'est sensé résister à la mer numérique et sa pression virtuelle. De cette façon, mêmes les imposants Mégatanks et leur inexpugnable carapace explosaient en cas de chute.
Pourtant, XANA a créé un exploit puisqu'il a réussi à peupler le Réseau mondial de monstres sous-marin : Rekins, Kongres et, plus tard, les Mantas.

Un Ninja...
Pour les mêmes raisons que les monstres, il a été très surprenant de constater dans l'épisode 14 « Intrusion », qu'un Ninja de Tyron pouvait, agrippé au Skid, survivre dans le Réseau et atteindre Lyoko. Il s'agit du seul avatar virtuel humanoïde dans ce cas. L'explication la plus probable est que le champ qui entourait le Ninja, le rendant invisible et indétectable, le protégeait aussi de la Mer Numérique. D'autres théories à ce sujet sont développées sur la page des Ninjas.

Image

Le Skidbladnir.
Ne disposant pas de capacités aussi étendues que celles d'Hopper ou XANA, nos collégiens préférés ont du concevoir un programme puissant qui leur permette de se rendre hors de Lyoko. Le vaisseau sous-marin Skidbladnir remplit cet office.
Disposant de puissants boucliers, il est capable de supporter la pression sous-marine et ses puissants réacteurs lui permettent de se mouvoir contre ou dans les courants numériques.
Les voyages en Skidbladnir demeurent extrêmement risqués. Le moindre bug d'un programme (boucliers, radar de localisation, réacteurs) est susceptible d'entrainer la mort de tout le groupe. XANA emploie cette faille en piégeant piratant le Skid à deux reprises. Il l'a tout d'abord virussé dans l'épisode 13 « Vendredi 13 ». Les héros ont du le détaché de ses plots et le faire voler au dessus de Lyoko pour limiter l'infection. Ce faisant, ils prenaient le risque énorme que le vaisseau contaminé ne perde son bouclier et chute dans la Mer Numérique. Il a enfin piégé le sous-marin grâce au système de défense d'un hub dans l'épisode 23 « Le blues de Jérémie ». Cette fois-ci, le sous-marin a été détruit. Fort heureusement, Jérémie a réussi à dévirtualiser l'équipage avant.

Image

Les différents protagonistes du Réseau se livrent une guerre acharnée dès qu'ils se croisent, à coup de torpilles et de tirs lasers. En effet, avec ses monstres, XANA veut barrer l'accès du Cortex au héros. Cet intérêt est double pour lui vu que la destruction du Skidbadnir dans la Mer Numérique entrainerait la virtualisation définitive des héros.
 

Apparition du Réseau
 
Episodes d'apparition

Nous n'avons pas référencé les épisodes où les héros ne font que traverser le Réseau sans encombre.

#17 Rendez-vous
#18 Chaos à Kadic
#22 Mutinerie
#23 Le blues de Jérémie
#25 Hécatombe

Evènements importants

ImageDans l'épisode 17 « Un avenir professionnel assuré », les héros traversent dangereusement le Réseau avec le détecteur de Tyron pour s'en débarrasser dans le Cortex.
ImageDans l'épisode 18 « Obstination », XANA déploie pour la première fois des Mantas dans la Mer Numérique.
ImageDans l'épisode 23 « Le blues de Jérémie », XANA prend le contrôle du système de défense d'un hub et détruit le Skidbladnir.
 

Image