Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Digital Sea and Void
 
 [Presentation] [Images]

[Back to homepage]
 
 

Presentation
 
A) Definition

Note: by the Digital Sea (wrongly called Digital Void), we mean, here, the part of Digital Ocean which penetrated the virtual worlds. In the series, the heroes call them Digital Sea too. We use this expression especially to separate this small sea from the vast area of digital water that is the Global Network. This fluid circulates through the sieve which is the exit of Lyoko.
The Digital Sea is sometimes wrongly named the Digital Void because when the heroes fall in it, they are digitised forever. The mixture thus probably comes from the expression “Fall into the void”.

The Digital Void corresponds to the “atmosphere” of a virtual world: everything that has no solid (like the ground of the Sectors) or aqueous consistency... Except that we can't exactly speak about atmosphere seeing as gas does not exist on Lyoko. All which therefore appears to us to be like air is really a “Digital Void”


The Digital Sea indicates the aqueous flow which passes under the Sectors. The water of the Digital Sea is only symbolisation.
Two main theories exist as for its exact nature.
- In the Network, we find Data Banks which are immersed in this water. So, the digital water could represent electricity: energy! What circulates in our computers and connects us in a "human network".
- Or then, this water could in fact be a pile of data. The immense amount of data that traverses the Internet and is requested in billions by Internet users. This fact is confirmed by the dangerousness of the Digital Sea. In fact, when a hero falls in there, their virtual body made of data is, in a way, either crushed or scattered, or even gobbled up in this enormous flow of data. That's what makes a fall into the Digital Sea a lethally dangerous experience...to such a point that the heroes would be ready for anything, even to virtualise Laura, to avoid it happening to one of them (episode 13 “Friday the 13th”).

Image

Very few virtual things resist the pressure of the Digital Sea. Some of XANA's monsters were specially programmed to survive it (Sharks, Kongres, later Mantas). However, these monsters stayed in the Digital Sea outside of Lyoko and the Cortex. Ninjas also seem to be able to survive it. Finally, the Skidbladnir was specially designed to resist it.

B) Role in the series

The Digital Sea is an omnipresent danger. It adds spine to the series by creating a certain threat. It is moreover largely the presence of the Digital Sea which renders the instability of the Cortex so dangerous.

As explained above, when one of the heroes falls into the Digital Sea, they put themselves in grave danger of virtual dispersal. Two stages are required to be taken in order to get them back.
The first one and certainly the most delicate: find them in this immense expanse of digital water.
The second, employ a materialisation program as complex as the one that Jeremy used to return Aelita to Earth in the past. It is a process that is terribly more complex than the semi-automatic rematerialisation which takes place after a devirtualisation in Lyoko.

However, the chances of being found and fished out are tiny, hence why the heroes panic every time one of them risks the fatal fall, like Yumi in episode 23 “Jeremy's Blues”. It is therefore necessary to pay attention not to lose one's vehicle above the Digital Sea or to avoid falling there. XANA's monsters sometimes try to propel the heroes there to get rid of them forever (like the residual spectre from episode 19 “The Trap”).

Image

Nevertheless, the heroes also know how to play this game and as XANA's monsters are not immune to the Digital Sea, the heroes sometimes push them in there using diverse tricks (Odd throws Krabe in with a violent shoulder blow in episode 4 “Miss Einstein”).

Image

C) The door to the Network

The Digital Sea was at first only an uncertain and dangerous border for the heroes. From the moment the heroes got the Skidbladnir, they studied this sea and discovered that it is in reality only an arm of the Global Network...
An immensely vaster network that you can discover on its own page.

The Skidbladnir is thus a submarine which allows the heroes to cross the slender barrier that is the Digital Sea before passing through the sieve of Lyoko and taking the battle to a much vaster territory.
 

Images
 
Image
Digital Void in the Desert or the Cortex
Image
Digital Void in the Mountain Sector
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le vide et la mer numérique
 
 [Présentation] [Images]

[Retour à l'accueil]
 
 

Présentation
 
A) Définition

Note : Par la mer numérique (à tort appelé vide numérique), nous entendons, ici, la partie de l'Océan Numérique qui a pénétré dans les mondes virtuels. Dans la série, les héros l'appellent eux-aussi Mer Numérique. On utilise cette expression surtout pour dissocier cette petite mer de la vaste étendue d'eau numérique qu'est le Réseau Mondial. Ce fluide circule par le sas qui est la sortie de Lyoko.
La Mer Numérique est parfois nommé à tort vide Numérique car lorsque les héros y tombent, ils sont digitalisés à jamais. L'amalgame vient donc probablement de l'expression "Tomber dans le vide".

Le vide numérique, lui, correspond à "l'atmosphère" d'un monde virtuel : Tout ce qui n'a pas une consistance solide (comme le sol des Territoires) ou aqueux... Sauf que justement, on ne peut pas parler d'atmosphère vu que le gaz n'existe pas sur Lyoko. Tout ce qui nous apparait donc être comme de l'air est bien un "vide numérique"


La Mer Numérique, elle, désigne le flux aqueux qui ondule sous les Territoires. L'eau de la Mer Numérique n'est qu'une symbolisation.
Deux théories principales existent quant à sa nature exacte.
- Dans le réseau, on trouve des Banques de données qui sont immergées dans cette eau. Ainsi, l'eau numérique pourrait représenter l'électricité : L'énergie ! Celle qui circule dans nos ordis et nous connecte au « human network »
- Ou alors, cette eau serait qu'elle serait en fait un amoncellement de données. Toute l'immensité des données qui parcourent internet et sont sollicitées par Milliards par les internautes. Ce fait est confirmé par la dangerosité de la Mer Numérique. En fait, quand un héros y chute, son corps virtuel fait de données est, en quelque sorte, ou bien broyé et dispersé, ou bien englouti dans cet énorme flux de données. C'est cela qui fait de la chute dans la Mer Numérique une expérience mortellement dangereuse... à tel point que les héros seraient prêts à tout, même virtualiser Laura, pour éviter que cela n'arrive à l'un deux (Episode 13 « Vendredi 13 »).

Image

Très peu de choses virtuelles résistent à la pression de la Mer Numérique. Certains monstres de XANA ont été programmées spécialement pour y survivre (Rekin, Kongres, plus tard les Mantas). Cependant, ces monstres sont restés dans la Mer Numérique à l'extérieur de Lyoko et Cortex. Les Ninjas semblent également pouvoir y survivre. Enfin, le Skidbladnir a été conçu spécialement dans l'optique d'y résister.

B) Rôle dans la série

La Mer Numérique est un danger omniprésent. Elle ajoute du piquant à la série en créant une menace certaine. C'est d'ailleurs en grande partie la présence de la Mer Numérique qui rend l'instabilité du Cortex tellement dangereuse.

Comme expliqué ci-dessus, lorsque l'un des héros chute dans la Mer Numérique, il se met en grave péril de dispersion virtuelle. Il faut passer par deux étapes pour le ramener.
La première et sûrement la plus délicate : Le retrouver dans cette immensité d'eau numérique.
La seconde, employer un programme de matérialisation aussi complexe que celui que Jérémie a employé pour ramener Aelita sur Terre dans le passé. C'est un procédé terriblement plus complexe que la rematérialisation quasi-automatique qui a lieu après une dévirtualisation dans Lyoko.

Cependant, les chances d'être retrouvé et repêché sont infinitésimales, d'où la panique des héros chaque fois que l'un d'eux risque de faire la chute fatale comme Yumi dans l'épisode 23 « Le blues de Jérémie ». Il faut donc faire attention à ne pas perdre son véhicule au dessus de la Mer Numérique ou éviter d'en tomber. Les monstres de XANA tente parfois d'y propulser les héros pour s'en débarrasser à jamais (Comme le spectre résiduel de l'épisode 19 « Le piège »).

Image

Néanmoins, les héros savent aussi jouer de ce phénomène et comme les monstres de XANA ne sont pas épargnés par la Mer Numérique, les héros les y plongent parfois par diverses ruses (Odd y jette un Krabe d'un violent coup d'épaule dans l'épisode 04 « Madame Einstein »).

Image

C) La porte du Réseau

La Mer Numérique n'était au départ qu'une frontière incertaine et dangereuse pour les héros. A partir du moment où les héros ont le Skidbladnir, ils étudient cette mer et découvrent qu'elle n'est en réalité qu'un bras du réseau Mondial...
Réseau immensément plus vaste que vous pouvez découvrir sur la page qui lui est concernée.

Le Skidbladnir est donc un sous-marin qui permet aux héros de franchir la mince barrière qu'est la mer numérique avant de passer par le sas de Lyoko et s'engager dans un territoire plus vaste.
 

Images
 
Image
Vide numérique dans le Désert ou le Cortex
Image
Vide numérique dans le Territoire de la Montagne
 

Image