Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

 Helped by his piano, Roro creates music for various fanprojects in the community...and makes some marvellous reorchestrations of some music from the series. Find amazing and sad music played with talent on the piano.

[Back to homepage

[Roro-xana] [My music]

ImageTalents: Composer and writer
Name: Roman (or William to friends!)
Library: SoundCloudYoutube
My style: Easily falling into repetition, but always trying to sound more right, soundtrack after soundtrack, even if it means reviewing them months after.
Cultural & musical references: Of which I listen to the OST:
Series: Doctor Who / Torchwood / Franchise Stargate / Kaamelott / Hero Corp ...
Cartoons/Anime: Code Lyoko / Death Note / Steins Gate / Cowboy Bebop / Les Mystèrieuses Cités d'Or / Detective Conan ...
Games: JakII Renegade/ Spyro franchise / Tomb Raider franchise / Heroes of Might & Magic franchise / The Movies
Some composers: Cosma/ Zimmer / Barry / Williams / Morricone / Gold (Murray) / Foster (Ben.) ...
What inspires me in CL: It is a continually-expanding universe with some mysterious parts! We can go back to the past and make it darker as we light it up, look at all the bad turns XANA put them through before it dies, think about what will become of Hopper's legacy or the heroes. We can imagine almost anything!
Favorite character(s): Yumi (but if the question was also about entities, I'd immediately say XANA!)

My music
Image[CL 15# Laughing Fit – Dad, back home]Image[CL 22# Routine – Dispute]
A version of the theme I called “Sorrow” from Code Lyoko, played on the piano: when Yumi goes looking for her father at a colleague's place and asks him to come back home. One of the first themes I reproduced, recorded with Audacity.Theme heard in the scene between Ulrich and Yumi, after she comes to tell him to come to the factory. All the sounds are from my synthesiser, recorded directly.

Image[CL 24# Ghost Channel – Ghost Channel]Image[CL 24# Ghost Channel – Double Jeremy & This doesn't make sense]
It is heard when Aelita shows to Jeremy the sequence she has found. It introduces a less symphonic version of one of the themes heard when the decisive actions of the series happen, the theme I called “Lyoko's Rebirth” for Light's film. Really recent, it is the theme in which I've used the more synthetic sounds of all my orchestrations.
It the episode, it goes until Jeremy says he would rather virtualise himself to see Aelita waiting for him and not to save their friends from a virtual reality controlled by XANA.
The climax theme for the climax moment! The Lyoko Warriors learning about Lyoko's non-existence, Jeremy facing “XANA-Jeremy” and the fateful moment when the powerful XANA shows us that it is its world, (in case some people haven't understood (laugh)).
Because of some big blank moments in the episode during the chosen theme, I reorchestrated it almost entirely to avoid theses breaks; and I used a few chorus singers for “Lyoko's Rebirth” (here called “This doesn't make sense”).

Image[CL 52# The Key – Lyoko's death]Image[CL 94# Fight to the Finish – Hopper's Farewell]
This is the most known version of the theme “Sorrow”, with the strings. We hear it many times but one of the most deeply moving scenes it comes with is, in my mind, the one in which Aelita dies, and Lyoko too. So, that's why it is called “Lyoko's Death”.Uncommon theme, heard just one time in the series, after XANA died. The simpler orchestrations are often the more efficient, and this theme doesn't avoid the rule. I think it is not a good idea to go from this theme to the ending, without any transition, I always thought that it broke the atmosphere of the scene.
Maybe I should have named it “XANA's farewell”, for my dear program!

Image[CLE – Sorrow's themes]Image[ReLight 02# William's nightmare]
These are the two “Sorrow” themes I've spotted in CLE. They made me think of this arrangement. The second “Sorrow” theme is quite more hidden than the first but it you listen carefully you can recognise it.Used in the second episode of Light's season, it is the theme of William's nightmare. I was inspired by two pieces from the Code Lyoko soundtrack (“Soupçons” and “Dispute”, which you can find on my Youtube channel). If you listen carefully you'll find them. Clue: one is played by piano, the other by strings.

Image[ReLight 02# Hard Way]Image[ReLight - Soupçons]
Ironically, this theme, one of the last, was the first version of “William's Nightmare”. Timpani evoked the feeling that XANA was present at the heart of it all. When I showed this to Light, he also wanted to use it for the scene with William's nightmares. That's why there is a softer version called “William's Nightmare”.A theme we often hear in Code Lyoko when there is a mystery occurring: you can hear it in “Image Problem” in this famous scene where Yumi hits the principal with the phone. This reproduction isn't really faithful to the original however.

Image[CL OST - Active Deactivation of Towers]
One of the most symbolic themes of Code Lyoko remains the theme played during the deactivation of the towers. We had to wait until the Facebook game came out to have this ambiant theme, nonrhythmic. Then we had to wait again up until last Wednesday (02/05/14) to have the rhythm that would sometimes accompany this ambiant theme, cut and used by Kikou for his game. But we never had the rhythmic theme for the deactivation of the towers.
But today, we do! Here is my montage between the calm theme of the deactivation of the towers and the rhythm extracted from the game by Kikou.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Roro-xana
 
 A l'aide de son piano, Roro crée des musiques pour divers fanprojets de la Communauté... et surtout, il réorchestre à merveille certains thèmes de la série. Retrouvez les musiques tristes ou entrainantes de votre dessin animé dans une talentueuse interprétation au piano.

[Retour à l'accueil]

[Roro-xana] [Mes musiques]
 
 

Roro-xana
 
ImageTalents : Compositeur et scénariste
Prénom : Roman (Ou William pour les intimes !)
Bibliothèque : Sur SoundCloudSur Youtube
Image
Mon style : Tomber facilement dans la redondance, mais en cherchant à sonner toujours plus juste, thème après thème, quitte à les retoucher plusieurs mois après.
Références musicales&culturelles : Dont j'écoute également les OST :
Séries: Doctor Who / Torchwood / Franchise Stargate / Kaamelott / Hero Corp ...
Dessins animés / Anime : Code Lyoko Death Note / Steins Gate / Cowboy Bebop / Les Mystèrieuses Cités d'Or / Détective conan ...
Jeux : JakII Renegade/ Franchise Spyro / Franchise Tomb Raider / Franchise Heroes Of Might & Magic / The Movies
Quelques compositeurs : Cosma/ Zimmer / Barry / Williams / Morricone / Gold (Murray)/ Foster (Ben.) ...
Ce qui m'inspire dans CL : C'est un univers en expansion continue et parsemé de trous noirs ! On peut se retourner vers son passé et l'assombrir davantage à mesure qu'on l'éclaircit, s'attarder sur la multitude de péripéties que XANA aurait pu leur créer avant sa mort, spéculer sur le devenir de l'héritage de Hopper et des héros. D'un point de vue scénaristique on pourrait tout imaginer ou presque !
Personnage préféré : Yumi (mais si la question s'étendait aussi aux entités je répondrais XANA sans hésiter !)
 

Mes musiques
 
Image[CL 15# Crise de rire – Dad, back home]Image[CL 22# Routine – Dispute]
Version du thème que j'ai intitulé « Sorrow » de Code Lyoko au piano lorsque Yumi va chercher son père chez l'un de ses amis et lui demande de revenir à la maison. L'un des premiers thèmes que j'ai reproduit, enregistré avec Audacity.Thème entendu lors de la scène que se font Ulrich et Yumi après qu'elle est venue lui demander de rejoindre le groupe à l'usine. Tout les sons proviennent de mon synthé, enregistrés chacun en direct.

Image[CL 24# Canal Fantôme – Ghost Channel]Image[CL 24# Canal Fantôme – Double Jeremy & This doesn't make sens]
Il est entendu lorsqu'Aelita montre à Jérémie la fréquence qu'elle a captée. Il introduit une version moins symphonique d'un des thèmes entendus lorsque se déroulent les actions les plus décisives de la série : le thème que j'ai nommé « Lyoko's Rebirth » pour la saison de Light. Très récent, c'est le thème pour lequel j'ai probablement utilisé le plus de sons synthétiques dans toutes mes réorchestrations.
Dans cet épisode, il se poursuit jusqu'à ce que Jérémie avoue qu'il aurait préféré se virtualiser pour rejoindre Aelita et non sauver leurs amis d'une réalité virtuelle sous le contrôle de XANA.
Le thème “climax” pour le moment « climax » de l'épisode à coup sûr ! Les Lyoko-Guerriers apprenant la non-existence de Lyoko, Jérémie faisant face à « XANA-Jérémie », et le moment fatidique où XANA-tout-puissant nous démontre que c'est son monde (au cas où certains ne l'auraient pas déjà compris sans doute (rires)).
A cause de grands moments de blanc dans l'épisode durant ce thème j'ai choisi de le réorchestrer en grande partie, éviter au mieux ces cassures ; et me suis laissé allé à quelques choristes pour « Lyoko's Rebirth » (ici renommé « This doesn't make sense»).

Image[CL 52# Réminiscence – Lyoko's death]Image[CL 94# Contre-Attaque – Hopper's Farewell]
Ce thème est la version la plus connue du thème « Sorrow », avec les cordes. On l'entend à plusieurs reprises mais l'une des scènes les plus poignantes qu'il habille dans la série est à mes yeux celle de la mort d'Aelita, d'où en découle celle de Lyoko. C'est donc pourquoi j'ai choisi de l'intitulé « Lyoko's death »...Thème inédit, entendu une seule fois dans toute la série, après que XANA a été vaincu. Les orchestrations les plus simples s'avèrent souvent les plus efficaces, ce thème ne déroge pas à la règle. Sur ce point, je regrette qu'on passe sans transition de ce thème à celui du générique de fin, j'ai toujours trouvé que ça cassait l'ambiance que scène et musique tentaient de créer.
Mmh... Après réflexion j'aurais dû le nommer « XANA's farewell », question de préférence pour mon entité chérie !

Image[CLE – Sorrow's themes]Image[ReLight 02# William's nighmare]
Il s'agit des deux thèmes « Sorrow » que j'ai relevés de la série. Ils m'ont inspiré un arrangement que voici. Le deuxième thème « Sorrow » de la série est un peu plus caché que le premier mais en écoutant bien il est reconnaissable.Scène des cauchemars de William pour le deuxième épisode de la saison de Light. Je me suis inspiré de deux thèmes de Code Lyoko pour cela (que vous pourrez trouver sur ma chaîne Youtube : Soupçons / Dispute). Si vous tendez l'oreille peut être les reconnaîtrez vous, indice : l'un est joué par le piano, l'autre par les cordes.

Image[ReLight 02# Hard Way]Image[ReLight - Soupçons]
Ironiquement ce thème, placé en dernier, est la première version de «William's Nightmare ». Les timbales évoquaient la présence de XANA au cœur de l'affaire. Lorsque je l'ai passé à Light, il a tout de suite voulu l'utiliser également pour la scène des cauchemars de William. C'est pourquoi il m'a demandé une version plus douce, ainsi est né « William's Nighmare ».Un thème qu'on entend souvent dans Code Lyoko quand se trame un mystère : vous pouvez l'entendre dans « Problème d'Image » dans la scène notable où la fausse Yumi frappe le proviseur avec le téléphone. Cette reproduction n'y est cependant pas fidèle.

Image[CL OST - Désactivation active des Tours]
L'un des thèmes les plus emblématiques de Code Lyoko reste probablement la désactivation des tours. Il a fallu attendre le jeu sur Facebook pour avoir son thème d'ambiance, non rythmée. Puis nous avons encore attendu jusqu'à mercredi dernier (05/02/14) pour avoir le rythme qui accompagnait parfois ce thème d'ambiance, extrait et utilisé par Kikou pour son jeu. Mais nous n'avons jamais eu le thème rythmée de la désactivation des tours.
Aujourd'hui, c'est chose faite! Voici donc mon montage entre le thème calme des désactivations de tours et le rythme extirpé du jeu de Kikou.