Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Graphic Bible of Code Lyoko
What is a graphic bible?
 
The creation of a series starts by establishing a bible. This defines the base details and base rules to be used by the scriptwriters. It informs them of the general theme of the series, the places, the characters, their motivation and their behavior. This bible should contain the set of information that the producer wants to be conveyed to the scriptwriters in order to guarantee that the style of the series is uniform.
This bible contains the premier rough draft of graphic research for the characters, accessories and places. This graphic research serves as an artistic point of reference that defines the style and the spirit of the graphic production.

First there is the preliminary work: this is a matter of defining the graphic universe of the series. This information often serves as base material for the scriptwriters. At this level, the work focuses on the fundamental aspects of the places and permanent models (that are recurrent throughout the series.)

The work continues to the start of the scriptwriting: the goal is the same as above. The difference resides in the fact that it is no longer a matter of creating, but of extending and completing.

Here is an exclusive for you: the graphic bible of Code Lyoko.
 

Date of the document & information
 
This document is dated September 2003. So, let's define it correctly. It has no link to Code Lyoko Evolution. It is only the graphic bible of Code Lyoko. To be more precise, of Code Lyoko season 1 (while the general design of the series and of Lyoko notably evolved over the course of the seasons).
At this time, the world of Lyoko and the general story were only rough drafts (following the repetitive aspect of season 1). The backstory and the story of Franz Hopper were not yet completely written. This document refers exclusively to season 1.

However, if you read the frame above, you know that this document was conceived even before the plot of the episodes for this season. Therefore, it is the oldest conceptual document known at this time within the LyokoSphere. The document presents significant information on the stages of the creation of the series, though. Here is a small abstract below of the differences between Code Lyoko then and now as we know it.

  • The backstory was heavily changed:

  • Franz Hopper was a computer science teacher at Kadic Academy. It is told that he discovered the Supercomputer and that he named it XANA. He created Lyoko afterwards as well as Aelita and the virtualization process. During one of his visits to Lyoko, he mysteriously disappeared, most likely due to a bug with XANA.

  • On Lyoko, there were some changes.

  • XANA isn't a program, but the Supercomputer itself. The number of towers isn't defined. To deactivate a tower also caused its stabilization. This tower would then no longer be able to send a virus to Earth, our heroes could try to deactivate all the towers to prevent XANA from antagonizing Earth.

  • On Earth, there were also some changes.

  • XANA's field of action was more limited, because it could only affect the factory and the academy.
    As for the Return to the Past, Aelita gave the heroes the power to retain their memories so that they would never forget that Earth is in danger.
 

The Bible
 
The scans of this Bible are the property of CodeLyoko.fr. Please do not use them elsewhere than the site before contacting an administrator and being given their permission.


bible0001bible0002bible0003bible0004bible0005bible0006
bible0007bible0008bible0009bible0010bible0011bible0012
bible0013bible0014bible0015bible0016bible0017bible0018
bible0019bible0020bible0021bible0022bible0023bible0024
bible0025bible0026bible0027bible0028bible0029bible0030
bible0031bible0032bible0033bible0034bible0035bible0036
bible0037bible0038bible0039bible0040bible0041bible0042
bible0043bible0044bible0045bible0046bible0047bible0048
bible0049bible0050bible0051bible0052bible0053bible0054
bible0055bible0056bible0057bible0058bible0059bible0060
bible0061bible0062bible0063bible0064

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Bible graphique de Code Lyoko
Qu'est-ce qu'une Bible graphique ?
 
La réalisation d'une série commence par l'établissement d'une bible. Celle-ci définit les renseignements et règles de base à l'usage des scénaristes. Elle les informe du thème général de la série, les lieux, les personnages leur motivation et leur comportement. Cette bible doit contenir l'ensemble des informations que le producteur veut transmettre aux scénaristes afin de garantir l'uniformité du style de la série.
Cette bible s'accompagne de premières esquisses de recherche graphique pour les personnages, accessoires et lieux. Ces recherches graphiques serviront de références artistiques, permettant de définir le style et l'esprit graphique de la production.

Il y a tout d'abord un travail préliminaire : Il s'agit de définir l'univers graphique de la série. Ces informations serviront souvent de matériaux de base aux scénaristes. A ce niveau travail porte sur les aspects fondamentaux des lieux et modèles permanents (récurrents tout au long de la série).

Le travail se prolonge au commencement de la rédaction des épisodes : L' objet est le même que ci-dessus. La nuance réside dans le fait qu'il ne s'agit plus de créer mais de prolonger et de compléter.

Voici en exclusivité pour vous : La Bible Graphique de Code Lyoko.
 

Date du document & informations
 
Ce document date de septembre 2003. Par conséquent, définissons le correctement. Il n'a aucun rapport avec Code Lyoko Evolution. Il s'agit de la Bible Graphique de Code Lyoko. pour être même tout à faire précis, de Code Lyoko Saison 1 (puisque le design général de la série et de Lyoko notamment évoluera au fil des saisons).
A cette époque, le monde de Lyoko et l'histoire générale n'est qu'une esquisse (d'où l'aspect répétitif de la saison 1). Toute la back-story et l'histoire de Franz Hopper n'est pas encore rédigée. Ce document se rapporte donc exclusivement à la saison 1.

Plus encore, si vous avez lu le cadre du dessus, vous savez désormais que ce document a été conçu avant même la rédaction des épisodes de cette saison. Il est donc le plus vieux document conceptuel connu à ce jour dans la LyokoSphère. Les informations contenues sont, pour la plupart, désuètes. Le document présente néanmoins des informations appréciables sur les étapes de création de la série. Voici un petit condensé ci-dessous, des différences avec le Code Lyoko tel qu'on l'a connu.

  • La back story est profondément modifiée :

  • FRANZ HOPPER était un professeur d'informatique au collège Kadic. Il est dit qu'il a découvert le supercalculateur, qu'il a nommé X.A.N.A. Il a ensuite créé Lyoko, Aelita ainsi que la virtualisation. Lors d'une de ses visites sur Lyoko, il a mystérieusement disparu, ce qui est probablement à l'origine du bug de XANA.

  • Sur Lyoko, les choses changent.

  • XANA n'est pas un programme mais le Supercalculateur lui-même. Le nombre de tours n'est pas défini. Désactiver une tour provoque aussi son assainissement. Cette tour ne pouvant plus servir à l'envoi d'un virus sur Terre, nos héros peuvent essayer de désactiver toutes les tours pour empêcher XANA de menacer la Terre.

  • Sur Terre, quelques changements aussi.

  • Le champ d'action de XANA est cependant bien plus limité puisqu'il s'étendait seulement à l'usine et au collège.
    En ce qui concerne le retour dans le temps : C'est Aelita qui a donné le pouvoir de mémoire aux héros, afin qu'ils n'oublient jamais que la Terre est en danger.
 

La Bible
 
Les scans de cette Bible sont la propriété de CodeLyoko.fr. Merci de ne pas les réutiliser ailleurs que sur le site, sans avoir au préalable contacter un administrateur.


bible0001bible0002bible0003bible0004bible0005bible0006
bible0007bible0008bible0009bible0010bible0011bible0012
bible0013bible0014bible0015bible0016bible0017bible0018
bible0019bible0020bible0021bible0022bible0023bible0024
bible0025bible0026bible0027bible0028bible0029bible0030
bible0031bible0032bible0033bible0034bible0035bible0036
bible0037bible0038bible0039bible0040bible0041bible0042
bible0043bible0044bible0045bible0046bible0047bible0048
bible0049bible0050bible0051bible0052bible0053bible0054
bible0055bible0056bible0057bible0058bible0059bible0060
bible0061bible0062bible0063bible0064