Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Moonscoop
 
 Moonscoop is the company that produces and makes Code Lyoko! CodeLyoko.fr is privileged to work closely with them and is known to Moonscoop as the official community fansite.

Here, you'll discover all there is to know about Moonscoop, from the different students, firms and media it owns to the link uniting it with CodeLyoko.fr.

Most of the information presented here comes from their old official website.


Summary

[The end of Moonscoop] [The partnership between Moonscoop and CodeLyoko.fr] [General presentation] [History: From France Animation and Antefilms Studio to Moonscoop] [The studios that produce Code Lyoko]
 
 

The end of Moonscoop
 
Following a long internal conflict, Moonscoop no longer exists. So as not to take sides, we'll send you to "Press Review". There you'll find a PDF entirely dedicated to this internal conflict: it summarises all the press articles about it, from the start to the end of Moonscoop. That will give you a look at all the whys and therefores.

In a few words, the major dates of the conflict are as follows:
  • Between June and July 2013, a latent conflict reached its peak. It pitted the Di Sabatino brothers, creators of the company but non-marjority shareholders, against other shareholders, notably a certain Joël Vaturi, an American who reproached the Di Sabatino brothers over certain aspects of the way they ran the company.
    The company runs into difficulties due to the repeated processes orchestrated by Vaturi and is goes into receivership.

  • 1st of August 2013: The Di Sabatino brothers are revoked of their mandate. A judiciary administrator takes the reins of the company shortly afterwards.

  • End of 2013: The commercial tribunal of Paris looks into ways to recover Moonscoop.

  • Start of 2014: Moonscoop's catalogue is bought by the Dargaud group. Moonscoop is doomed to disappear and its licences, including Code Lyoko, are now property of Dargaud.
 

 
 The sections below are "archived". They were written in 2011/2012 and have been left as testimony.

See also:
The old versions of the site CodeLyoko.com
 
 

The partnership between Moonscoop and CodeLyoko.fr
 
ImageThe announcement of Code Lyoko Evolution was made in a troubled context. The large and strong community of Code Lyoko fans that had struggled at the end of season 4 to get a sequel to the series, with petitions and other actions during the years from 2008 to 2010, ended up going into a state of deep lethargy because of the lack of news.

To revive the Code Lyoko machine, Moonscoop made a large communication campaign for the series. It was a question of reawakening this great sleeping community, thanks to which that project had finally recommenced. For this, Moonscoop focused on events (casting, cosplay) and publishing videos (teasers). However, they also needed to reactivate the community management. That's the task Moonscoop has entrusted to the famous French community fansites with impressive content and chose to work with them closely to promote Code Lyoko Evolution.


ImageFor many years, CodeLyoko.fr has been the most visible fansite on the web (first Google result ahead of Wikipedia and the official website codelyoko.com), as well as one of the largest fansites due to its content (the sections and files among the most complete on the web), its original propositions (for example, the creation of the LyokoStats system), and its visual and organisational quality. Moreover, the site has one of the last active Code Lyoko forums on the web.
Besides, CodeLyoko.fr had already worked with Moonscoop on several occasions (contest with prize provided by Moonscoop, preview of season 4, interview with Miss S. before season 4).


From that, Moonscoop and CodeLyoko.fr began to make contact. A team has been recomposed on the site, a hybrid of old and new members from the forum. Now, CodeLyoko.fr and Moonscoop work in close collaboration in a partnership that is supposed to be mutually advantageous.

Moonscoop's objective is to make CodeLyoko.fr, because of its large amount of content and its active community, the heart of the French community, as well as a "showcase" of the community effervescence of Code Lyoko, which is a real help in the promotion of the series and its introduction to various funding companies.

The CodeLyoko.fr team is, among other things, linked to the various people of the Moonscoop team working on Code Lyoko Evolution (a community manager, a person in charge of marketing, a person in charge of social media, etc...). Communication between Moonscoop and CodeLyoko.fr is done by a member of the team who has the exclusive role of doing this and is in regular contact with our various contacts.


ImageCodelyoko.fr helps Moonscoop:
- By participating in promoting the new series by relaying news to the community
- By animating the community with new contests and other preparatory events
- By maintaining the site content on Code Lyoko Evolution, and especially Code Lyoko (the new official codelyoko.com site is now mostly oriented towards the new series Evolution)
- By encouraging promising Lyokofan projects and presenting them to Moonscoop



Image
Moonscoop gratifies CodeLyoko.fr:
- By officially recognising us as THE community fansite
- By officially validating all the content in the different sections of the site
- By giving us exclusive information
- By involving us in promotional events for the series
- By giving us goodies to organise contests for




To conclude, a little archive of our partnership with Moonscoop:
- From the start of Code Lyoko to the end of season 4: Moonscoop supports our work and sends us some official documents about Code Lyoko (the episode scripts, for example)
- July 2007: Two members of the CodeLyoko.fr team are invited to the advance screening of season 4

- From September 2011: Regular contact between our "Moonscoop contact guy" and various Moonscoop contacts
- End of 2011: Moonscoop recognises CodeLyoko.fr as the official French community fansite and validates the site content
- March 2012: The CodeLyoko.fr team are beta testers for the Code Lyoko Social Game in collaboration with 3D DUO
- 14 June 2012: CodeLyoko.fr gets the first official image of the Megapod exclusively from Moonscoop
- 4 July 2012: A member of the CodeLyoko.fr team represents the fan community at the extras casting session at Futuroscope. He's interviewed by Charente-libre
- Sunday, 8 July 2012: Two members of the team are officially invited to the Code Lyoko cosplay event at Japan Expo as supervisors
- Tuesday, 28 August 2012: A member of the team is invited to the Code Lyoko Evolution set. There, he gets Moonscoop's permissions to officially reveal the identity of the first name of the 7th main character: Laura
- Start of September 2012: CodeLyoko.fr launches, in partnership with Moonscoop, a fanfiction contest
- 5 December 2012: The CodeLyoko.fr team receives 5 invitations for the Code Lyoko Evolution advance screening. They are able to enter the room early to interview the creators.

On the day this page was updated, the 29th of September 2012, the teaser presenting the virtual part of Code Lyoko Evolution is newly published by Moonscoop's various communication medias, relayed by CodeLyoko.fr. The same day, CodeLyoko.fr exclusively reveals the new photo of the actors in costume on the MIP promotional poster.
With tens of comments on the news, a peak in the number of visitors when the teaser appeared, excitement on the forum that hadn't been seen season 4 (through the creation of numerous discussion topic) and hundreds of posts being made on the forum to talk about this teaser, CodeLyoko.fr became the heart of the active French Lyokofan community and continues its effort to become, as Moonscoop wants it to be, the "showcase of the French Lyokofan community".
 

General presentation
 
Image Image
<i>Christophe and Benoît Di Sabatino, the co-executive chairmen of Moonscoop

Moonscoop is a leading society in world entertainment production, in their distribution and management of related brands. It is focused on the production of original projects and the creation of internationally-oriented and sustainable brands. It is the the most prolific world producer of animation, producing many hours of original programmes from its offices in France and in the USA. The company hires some of the best producers of animation in the entire world and is reinforced by a network of media promoting the distribution of programmes to young people through new platforms such as IPTV, mobile phones or VOD.

Among its licences, Moonscoop has many successful programs that are most popular on the world television market and its series represent 3000 half-hours of broadcasting in more than 160 countries around the world. Moonscoop's flagship series include, among others, "Code Lyoko", "Fantastic Four", "Titeuf", "Pet Alien", "Dive Olly Dive!" and "Casper", licensed in many markets around the world.

The company produces an average of 4 to 6 new important series each year and employs more than 350 worldwide. Based in Paris, the company also has offices in Los Angeles, Angoulême, Le Rochelle, Luxembourg and Wales.

Moonscoop's distribution service's mission is to export the company's vast catalogue of programmes around the world, consisting of over 100 titles and 3000 half-hours of programming. Conducted by Lionel Marty, President of World Distribution, the service is composed of sales teams based in Paris, Los Angeles and China, as well as a group of sales agents in several select regions. In 2007, the Distribution Service was the first to receive the "Distributor of the Year" award following a vote by readers of Kidscreen Magazine for its innovative technology and success in international sales. Since this date, the service has been among the finalists every year.

Moonscoop also has a Marketing and Related Products department, spread between the Paris and Los Angeles offices. Cynthia Money is chairman of it and supervises the teams' day-to-day operations. They manage the brands and licences to develop related products and build fan communities.

Christophe and Benoît di Sabatino are the co-executive chairmen of Moonscoop, having originally co-founded the company during the fusion of their studio Antefilms Production with France Animation in 2003.

Image
 

History: From France Animation and Antefilms Studio to Moonscoop
 
On one side: France Animation...

1984: Creation of the France Animation company, which is the oldest in its sector. The company is quickly accepted as one of the principal companies on the French market.

1990s: The company develops its activities then starts to gain international notoriety mainly thanks to its coproduction partnership with companies such as CINAR (Canadian) or Ravensburger (German).

1993: France Animation, the BBC, RAI and France 3 create their its international success: "Albert the 5th Musketeer".

1996: France Télécom buys France Animation.

1999: The company tries to diversify itself by creating a structure dedicated to the distribution and enlargement of its offers.

From 2000 to 2003: France Animation develops mostly famous series such as: "Vampires, Pirates and Aliens", "Titeuf", "Dr Dog" and also "Petit Vampire".

And on the other: Antefilms Production...

1990: Creation of Antefilms Production by brothers Christophe and Benoît Di Sabatino.

1994: The company makes an excellent entry into youth programmes and is visibly a pioneer of French animation and the integration of 3D into 2D. Its first creation is "Les pirates de Noël" (The Pirates of Christmas).

From 1994 to 1997: The company preserves and improves its position as a children's cartoon producer. It founded new connections and also created a 3D studio in Angoulême.

2000: Thanks to the series "Funky Cops", the company conquered the global market.

From 2002-2003: Antefilms improves its position among all broadcasters from France and abroad.

...merge into Moonscoop

Moonscoop was born in 2003 during the fusion of Antefilms Studio and France Animation.

In 2005, the Di Sabatino brothers audaciously continue the international growth of the company by buying a major part of "Mike Young Productions" and "Taffy Entertainment", the most important independent publisher of animation in the USA, located in Los Angeles. It's now known as "Moonscoop US".

In 2006, Moonscoop acquires 60% of LuxAnimation shares, one of the most influential companies in the animation world.
Moonscoop having built a solid base on that, the company turns to social media. That same year, the company buys a majority of Queen Bee, which is now known as Moonscoop Digital Media. This company specialised in the adaptation of TV programmes for new platforms like IPTV, VOD, etc...
From there Moonscoop launched several new platforms aimed at teenagers and children: the channels Kabillion (USA) and Taffy Kids (Europe).

Although most of the programmes produced by Moonscoop still appear on traditional TV channels, Moonscoop has anticipated the near future and can now esaily adapt all its series into any kind of format.

Image Image
 

The studios that produce Code Lyoko
 
Preproduction: Antefilms Production in Paris


ImageImage

The written Bible, the story, episode scripts and the storyboards are made by the writing teams led by the writing director (Miss Sophie Descroisette for seasons 1 to 3 and Bruno Regeste for season 4).

You'll learn just below that most of the production happened in Charente, in Angoulême. From that, you'll certainly wonder why a part of the production team remains in Paris. The response is stupid and mean: they need to be near the broadcasters who are interested in the series (France 3, Canal J, Cartoon Network, etc...) and these companies make their home...in Paris.

One small exception for Code Lyoko: the 2D preproduction was done in China, in Asia!

Production: Antefilms Studio in Angoulême

A subsidiary of Antefilms Production, Antefilms Studio, created at the end of 1997, relocated to Angoulême at the end of 1998. This was for two reasons: on one hand, the attraction of Megalis, the territorial development project born in Charente, which made the general council give some help to the productions happening in Charente, rather than anywhere else. On the other hand, the taxes are cheaper in Angoulême than in Paris.

Antefilms Studio is a company that specialises in 3D animation, as well as integrating 3D into a 2D universe.

Located on two 240m² sites, Antefilms Studio has around sixty workstations and a local tech room where the data servers and computers are located. The motion capture workshop completes these technical resources and gives the studio perfect autonomy in order to answer all its production needs. As for staff, there were only 32 people working on Code Lyoko, and 60 in total on the whole series.

The studio is equipped with a motion capture stage (magnetic system with wireless technology), which has especially allowed them to create part of the animated dance scenes in Funky Corps. It should be noted that motion capture is no longer used for Code Lyoko because it was not suitable. So, the animation for Code Lyoko is now done in the traditional way.

Image
The old motion capture system, now outdated

The software used is XSI Softimage for the 3D, and Macromedia Flash for the 2D. Maya and 3Ds Max aren't in use anymore: they are no longer used for the episodes of Code Lyoko, but they were used in Garage Kids.

Nowadays, Antefilms Studio works on image creation, thanks to their famous know-how and teams made up of a wide range of technical and artistic talents (designers, modellers, animators, graphic artists and special effects people).

The studio produces for television and cinema, for animated series and commercial films, images whose common denominator is technological innovation and quality.

ImageImage
ImageImage


XANA post-production


ImageImage
Another subsidiary of Antefilms production, XANA Post-Production is the one in charge of supervising the work, as well as making the final montage. To summarise the technical resources used there, we'll say that the studio has two AVID™ montage units, one DS™ montage unit, a post for creating the SMOKE™ special effects and all the main image editing and special effects programs (Ater After Effects™, Pegs™...)










Image
Modelling of the Ice and Desert Sectors

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Moonscoop
 
 Moonscoop était la société qui a créé, produit et réalisé Code Lyoko ! Suite à divers problème, elle n'existe plus désormais. Codelyoko.fr a eu le privilège de travailler en étroite relation avec elle et a été élevé au rang de fansite officiel de la communauté par Moonscoop.

Ici, tu découvriras tout ce qu'il y a à savoir sur Moonscoop, sur les différents studios, boites et médias qui appartiennaient à cette société et le lien qui l'unissait à Codelyoko.fr.

La plupart des informations présentées ici viennent de leur ancien site officiel.


Sommaire

[La fin de Moonscoop] [Le partenariat Moonscoop et Codelyoko.fr] [Présentation générale] [Historique : De France Animation et Antefilms Studio à Moonscoop] [Les studios de production de Code Lyoko]
 
 

La fin de Moonscoop
 
Suite à un long conflit au sein de l'entreprise, Moonscoop n'existe plus. Afin de ne pas prendre de parti, nous vous renvoyons vers la "Revue de presse". Vous y trouverez un PDF consacré entièrement à ce conflit interne : Il recense l'intégralité des articles de presse qui en traitent, du commencement jusqu'à la fin de Moonscoop. Cela vous donnera une vision d'ensemble des tenants et des aboutissants.

En quelques mots, les grandes dates du conflit sont les suivantes :
  • Entre juin et juillet 2013, un conflit larvé atteint son paroxysme. Il oppose les frères Di Sabatino, créateurs de la société mais actionnaires non-majoritaires, à d'autres actionnaires notamment un certain Joël Vaturi, américain qui reproche aux frères Di Sabatino certains aspects de leur gestion de l'entreprise.
    La société est mise en difficulté par des procès répétés orchestrés par Vaturi et placée en redressement judiciaire.

  • 1er août 2013 : Les frères Di Sabatino sont révoqués de leur mandat. Un administrateur judiciaire prend les rênes de la société peu après.

  • Fin 2013 : Le tribunal de commerce de Paris se penche sur les offres de reprise de Moonscoop.

  • Début 2014 : Le catalogue de Moonscoop est racheté par le groupe Dargaud. Moonscoop est vouée à disparaitre et ses licences dont Code Lyoko sont désormais la propriété de Dargaud.
 

 
 Les cadres ci-dessous sont des "archives". Ils ont été rédigés en 2011/2012 et sont laissés en guise de témoignage.

Voir aussi :
Les anciennes versions du site de CodeLyoko.com
 
 

Le partenariat Moonscoop et Codelyoko.fr
 
ImageL'annonce de Code Lyoko Evolution s'est faite dans un contexte trouble. La vaste et puissante communauté de fans de Code Lyokô qui s'était démenée à la fin de la saison 4 pour obtenir une suite à la série, à coup de pétition et autres actions de force au cours des années 2008 à 2010 a fini par entrer dans une sorte de léthargie profonde du fait du manque de news.

Pour relancer la machine Code Lyoko, Moonscoop a entrepris une vaste campagne de communication autour de la série. Il a été question de réveiller cette vaste communauté endormie grâce à laquelle le projet était finalement reparti. Pour ce faire, Moonscoop a misé sur des évènements (casting, cosplay) et des parutions de vidéos (teasers). Néanmoins, il fallait réactiver également le community management. C'est là que Moonscoop a misé sur les très fameux fansites de la communauté francophone dont le contenu était impressionnant et a choisi de travailler avec eux en étroite collaboration pour la promotion de Code Lyoko Evolution.


ImageCodelyoko.fr était, depuis de nombreuses années, d'une part le fansite le plus visible sur la toile (premier au référencement Google devant Wikipedia et le site officiel de la série codelyoko.com), d'autre part un des fansites le plus vaste de part son contenu (les rubriques et les dossiers comptant parmi les plus complets du net), ses propositions originales (Création d'un système de Lyokô-stats par exemple) et sa qualité visuelle et organisationnelle. De surcroît, le site disposait d'un forum comptant parmi les derniers actifs de la toile.
Par ailleurs, codelyoko.fr avait déjà travaillé avec Moonscoop à diverses occasions (concours avec prix décernés par Moonscoop, avant-première saison 4, interview de Madame S. avant la saison 4).


De là, Moonscoop et codelyoko.fr ont commencé à entrer en communication. Une équipe s'est recomposée sur notre site, hybride d'anciens et de nouveaux membres du forum. Désormais, Codelyoko.fr et Moonscoop travaillent en étroite collaboration au sein d'un partenariat qui a vocation à être mutuellement avantageux.

L'objectif de Moonscoop est de faire de Codelyoko.fr, de son vaste contenu et de sa communauté très active le cœur de la communauté francophone mais aussi une « vitrine » de l'effervescence communautaire de Code Lyoko qui est un poids réels dans la promotion de la série et sa présentation aux divers financeurs.

L'équipe de codelyoko.fr est, entre autre, en lien avec diverses personnes de l'équipe de Moonscoop travaillant sur Code Lyoko Evolution (un community manager, une responsable marketting, un responsable des nouveaux médias etc...). La communication entre codelyoko.fr et Moonscoop est assurée par un membre de l'équipe attaché exclusivement à cette mission et qui est en contact régulier avec nos différents interlocuteurs.


ImageCodelyoko.fr épaule Moonscoop :
- En participant à la promotion de la nouvelle série en relayant les news à la communauté
- En animant la communauté à l'aide de concours et autres évènements en préparation
- En entretenant le contenu du site sur Code Lyoko Evolution mais surtout sur Code Lyoko (le nouveau site officiel codelyoko.com étant désormais essentiellement orienté vers la nouvelle série Evolution).
- En encourageant les projets Lyokofans dignes d'intérêt et en les présentant à Moonscoop



Image
Moonscoop gratifie codelyoko.fr :
- En nous reconnaissant officiellement comme LE fansite de la communauté
- En validant officiellement l'intégralité du contenu des rubriques du site
- En nous transmettant des informations en exclusivité
- En nous associant aux évènements de promotion de la série
- En nous donnant des goodies pour l'organisation des concours




Pour conclure, un petit historique de nos relations avec Moonscoop :
- Du début de Code Lyoko à la fin de la saison 4 : Moonscoop soutient notre travail en nous transmettant des documents officiels sur Code Lyoko (par exemple les scripts d'épisode)
- Juillet 2007 : 2 membres de l'équipe de codelyoko.fr sont invités sur le lieu de l'avant-première saison 4.

- A partir de septembre 2011 : Contact régulier entre notre référent « Relation avec Moonscoop » et divers interlocuteurs de Moonscoop.
- Fin 2011 : Moonscoop reconnaît codelyoko.fr comme fansite officiel de la communauté francophone et valide le contenu du site.
- Mars 2012 : L'équipe de codelyoko.fr a été les bêta-testeurs du jeu social Facebook Code Lyoko en collaboration avec 3D DUO.
- Le 14 juin 2012 : Codelyoko.fr obtient en exclusivité de la part de Moonscoop la première image officielle du Megapod.
- Le 4 juillet 2012 : Un membre de l'équipe de codelyoko.fr représente la communauté de fans au casting de figuration du Futuroscope. Il est interviewé par Charente-libre.
- Dimanche 8 juillet 2012 : Deux membres de l'équipe sont invités officiellement au Cosplay de Code Lyoko à la Japan Expo en tant qu'encadrants.
- Mardi 28 août 2012 : Un membre de l'équipe de codelyoko.fr est invité sur le tournage de Code Lyokô Evolution. De là, il obtient l'aval de Moonscoop pour révéler officiellement et en exclusivité le prénom du 7ème personnage principal : Laura.
- Début septembre 2012 : Codelyoko.fr lance en partenariat avec Moonscoop un concours de fanfictions.
- 5 décembre 2012 : L'équipe de CodeLyoko.fr reçoit 5 invitations pour l'avant-première de Code Lyoko Evolution. Elle peut pénétrer en avance dans la salle pour interviewer différents créateurs.

A la date de mise à jour de cette page, le 29 septembre 2012, le teaser présentant la partie virtuelle de Code Lyoko Evolution est fraichement paru via les divers médias de communication de Moonscoop, relayé par Codelyoko.fr. Le même jour, Codelyoko.fr dévoile en exclusivité à nouveau la photo des acteurs costumés sur l'affiche promotionnelle du MIP.
Avec des dizaines de commentaires sur la new, un pic de connexion à l'heure de parution du teaser, une effervescence inégalée sur le forum depuis la saison 4 (par la création de nombreux sujets de discussion) et l'envoi de centaine de messages sur ce même forum pour débattre du teaser, Codelyoko.fr est devenu le cœur de la communauté active Lyokofan française et continuera son effort pour devenir, selon le souhait de Moonscoop, la « vitrine de la communauté Lyokofan française ».
 

Présentation générale
 
Image Image
Christophe et Benoît Di Sabatino, les coprésidents de Moonscoop

Moonscoop est une société leader dans la production mondiale de divertissements, dans leur distribution et leur gestion de marques dérivées. Elle est axée sur la production de projets originaux et la création de marques à vocation internationale et pérenne. Elle est le producteur mondial le plus prolifique en matière d'animation, produisant de nombreuses heures de programmes originaux depuis ses bureaux en France et aux USA. La société embauche quelques-uns des meilleurs producteurs d'animation dans le monde entier et est renforcée d'un réseau de médias visant à favoriser la distribution des programmes vers les jeunes grâce à de nouvelles plates-formes telles que l'IPTV, les téléphones portables ou les VOD.

Moonscoop compte parmi ses licences la plupart des programmes à succès les plus populaires du marché mondial de la télévision et ses séries représentent 3000 demi-heures de diffusion dans plus de 160 pays à travers le monde. Les séries-phares de Moonscoop incluent entre autre « Code Lyokô », « Les 4 Fantastiques », « Titeuf », « Pet alien », « Plouf Olly Plouf ! » et « Casper », licenciés dans plusieurs marchés à travers le monde.

La société produit en moyenne 4 à 6 nouvelles séries d'importance chaque année et emploie plus de 350 personnes dans le monde. Basée à Paris, la société a également des bureaux à Los Angeles, Angoulême, La Rochelle, au Luxembourg et au Pays-de-Galles.

Le service de distribution de Moonscoop a pour mission d'exporter à travers le monde le vaste catalogue de programmes de la société qui comprend plus de 100 titres et 3000 demi-heures de programme. Dirigé par Lionel Marty, Président de la Distribution Mondiale, le service est composé d'équipe de vente basées à Paris, à Los Angeles et en Chine ainsi que d'un groupe d'agents de vente dans quelques régions sélectionnées. En 2007, le Service de Distribution a été le premier à recevoir le « Distributor of the year » award décerné suite au vote des lecteurs du Kidscreen magazine pour ses techniques innovantes et la réussite de ses ventes internationales. Depuis cette date, le service a figuré parmi les finalistes chaque année.

Moonscoop dispose également d'un département de Marketing& Produits dérivés, réparti entre les bureaux de Paris et los Angeles. Cynthia Money en est présidente et supervise au jour le jour les opérations des équipes. Ils gèrent les marques et les licences pour développer des produits dérivés et consolider les communautés de fans.

Christophe et Benoît di Sabatino sont les coprésidents exécutifs de Moonscoop, ayant initialement co-fondé la société lors de la fusion de leur studio Antefilms Production avec France Animation en 2003.

Image
 

Historique : De France Animation et Antefilms Studio à Moonscoop
 
D'un côté : France Animation...

1984 : Création de la société France Animation qui est la plus ancienne dans son secteur. La société s'impose très vite comme étant l'une des principales actrices du marché Français.

Dans les années 1990 : La société voit le développement de ses activités puis commence à acquérir une renommée internationale grâce notamment à la signature de partenariats de coproduction avec des sociétés telles que CINAR (société Canadienne) ou Ravensburger (société Allemande).

1993 : France Animation fabrique en compagnie de la BBC, de la RAI et de France 3 son premier succès international, le dessin animé "Albert le 5ème mousquetaire".

1996 : France Télécom achète France Animation.

1999 : La société cherche à se diversifier en créant une structure dédiée à la distribution et à l'élargissement de ses offres.

De 2000 jusqu'à 2003 : France Animation développe en priorité des séries renommées telles que : "Vampires, Pirates et Extra-terrestres", "Titeuf", "Dr Dog" ou bien encore "Petit Vampire".

De l'autre : Antefilms Production...

1990 : Création d'Antefilms Production par les frères Christophe et Benoît Di Sabatino.

1994 : La société fait une entrée très remarquée dans les programmes pour la jeunesse et apparaît comme un pionnier de l'animation française et de l'intégration de la 3D dans la 2D. Sa première création est "Les pirates de Noël".

Entre 1994 et 1997 : La société conserve et améliore sa position en tant que producteur de séries animées pour la jeunesse. Elle fonde de nouvelles filiales et crée également un studio 3D à Angoulême.

2000 : Grâce à la série "Funky Cops", la société conquiert le marché international.

De 2002-2003 : Antefilms améliore sa position auprès de l'ensemble des diffuseurs français et étrangers.

... fusionnent en Moonscoop

Moonscoop nait en 2003 lors de la fusion d'Antefilm Studio et France Animation.

En 2005, les frères Di Sabatino poursuivent audacieusement l'expansion internationale de l'entreprise avec le rachat d'une part majoritaire de « Mike Young Productions » et « Taffy entertainment », le producteur d'animation plus important éditeur indépendant aux Etats-Unis, situé à Los Angeles. Il est désormais connu sous le nom « Moonscoop US ».

En 2006, Moonscoop acquiert 60% de parts de LuxAnimation, un des acteurs de premiers plans dans le monde de l'animation.
De là Moonscoop ayant acquis une base solide, la société se tourne vers le développement des nouveaux médias. La même année, la société fait l'acquisition d'une part majoritaire chez Queen Bee, qui est désormais connue sous le nom de Moonscoop Digital Media. Cette compagnie était spécialisée notamment dans l'adaptation des programmes télé pour les plates-formes de nouveaux médias comme l'IPTV, la VOD etc...
C'est de là que Moonscoop lance ses nouvelles plates-formes de médias destinées aux adolescents et aux enfants : Les chaînes Kabillion (aux USA) et Taffy Kids (en Europe).

De fait, bien que la plupart des programmes produits par Moonscoop paraissent encore sur les chaînes de télévision traditionnelles, Moonscoop a anticipé sur l'avenir proche et peut maintenant adapter avec beaucoup de facilité l'intégralité de ses séries à tout type de format.

Image Image
 

Les studios de production de Code Lyoko
 
Préproduction : Antefilms Production à Paris


ImageImage

C'est à Paris que sont réalisés la bible scénaristique, les scénarios, les histoires des épisodes et les storyboard, en grande partie par les équipes de scénaristes menées par les directeurs d'écritures (Madame Sophie Decroisette pour les saisons 1 à 3 et Bruno Regeste pour la saison 4).

Vous apprendrez juste en dessous que le gros de la production se déroule en Charente à Angoulême. De là, vous vous demandez sûrement pourquoi une partie de la production reste à Paris. La réponse est bête et méchante : il faut être prêt des diffuseurs intéressés par les séries (France 3, Canal J, Cartoon Network, etc...) et le centre de ces sociétés se trouve bel et bien... à Paris.

Une petite exception pour Code Lyoko : La pré-production 2D était réalisée en Asie, en Chine !

Production : Antefilms Studio à Angoulême

Filiale d'Antefilms Production, Antefilms Studio, créée fin 1997, se délocalise fin 1998 sur Angoulême. Il y a deux raison à cela : D'une part, l'attrait du projet de développement territorial charentais Magelis faisant que le conseil général de Charente favorise par des aides les productions à se dérouler en Charente plutôt qu'ailleurs. D'autre part les charges sont bien moindres à Angoulême qu'à Paris.

Antefilms Studio est une société est spécialisée dans l'animation 3D ainsi que l'intégration de la 3D dans un univers 2D.

Réparti sur deux plateaux de 240 m², Antefilms studio accueille une soixantaine de stations de travail et un local technique où sont regroupés serveurs de données et calculateurs. L'atelier de capture de mouvement complète ces moyens techniques et offre ainsi au studio une parfaite autonomie pour répondre à tous les besoins en matière de production. Côté personnel, il y avait 32 personnes qui ne s'occupaient que de Code Lyoko et 60 personnes en tout, pour toutes les séries.

Le studio est équipé d'un plateau de capture de mouvement (système magnétique à technologie wireless), qui a notamment permis de réaliser une partie de l'animation des scènes de danses de Funky Cops. A noter que la Motion Capture n'est plus utilisée pour Code Lyoko car elle ne convenait pas. Les animations de Code Lyoko sont donc faites en animation traditionnelle.

Image
Le vieux système de Capture Motion, désormais désuet

Les logiciels utilisés sont XSI Softimage pour la 3D, et Macromedia Flash pour la 2D. Maya et 3Ds Max ne sont plus d'actualité : ils ne sont plus utilisés pour les épisodes de Code Lyoko mais ils ont servi pour Garage Kids.

Antefilms Studio est aujourd'hui l'une des références dans le domaine de l'image de synthèse, grâce à un savoir-faire reconnu et à des équipes constituées d'un large panel de talents techniques et artistiques (designers, modeleurs, animateurs, graphistes de rendu et d'effets spéciaux).

Le studio produit, pour la télévision et le cinéma, pour les séries d'animation et les films publicitaires, des images dont les dénominateurs communs sont l'innovation technologique et la qualité.

ImageImage
ImageImage


XANA post-production


ImageImage
Autre filiale d'Antefilms Production, XANA post-production est la filiale chargée de superviser le travail ainsi que de faire le montage final. Pour faire un résumé des moyens techniques là-bas, nous dirons que le studio comporte deux unités de montage AVID™, une unité de montage DS™, un poste pour la réalisation d'effets spéciaux SMOKE™ et tous les principaux outils de traitement d'images et d'effets spéciaux (After After Effects™, Pegs™... )










Image
Modélisation du territoire de la banquise et du territoire du désert