Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

XANA in Code Lyoko Evolution
Quick access
 
Image
[Who is XANA?]
Image
[XANA on Earth]
Image
[XANA on Lyoko]
Image
[XANA in Evolution]


Image[File]
XANA Attacks:
The Complete Guide!
 

 
 IV. XANA's return in Code Lyoko Evolution

Here we deal with XANA, essentially from the point of view found in Code Lyoko Evolution. The program comes back with a vengeance... And it's the same...but different. Having no reason to dedicate an independent section to it, this page will allow you to discover XANA 2.0.

[Quick access] [Who is XANA?] [XANA's story in Code Lyoko Evolution] [XANA attacks on Earth] [XANA's activity in the virtual Universe]

< XANA on Lyoko
 
 

Who is XANA?
 
Image
"XANA is nothing like a game! XANA is an artificial intelligence that wants to take control of the network. (...) XANA is going out of control, he's ready for anything!"

#16 Confusion

XANA's nature isn't really addressed in Code Lyoko Evolution. Outside of the quote below, released in a teaser, the Evolution writers didn't really come back to XANA's identity as it was largely built on in the animated series.

As a consequence, if you've arrived directly on this page without going through the first parts of the section, we invite you to simply read the first page of the section which describes XANA in detail, with some allusions to Code Lyoko Evolution.

As for the connoisseurs of the series, we've noted that there isn't an obvious difference between the natures of XANA in season 4 and XANA 2.0 in Evolution. Its objectives seem to be the same. It just needs a new attack strategy to succeed.
 

XANA's story in Code Lyoko Evolution
 

"They are codes... Source codes, to be exact. Belonging to XANA. The moment we thought we destroyed XANA, he injected these codes into you. (...) and I wonder if he's sending spectres to recover them."

#01 XANA 2.0
Image

At the end of the animated series, XANA was at the peak of its power. It was present throughout the global Network. With Franz Hopper's help, the heroes were able to concoct a program that tracked it down in the Network and destroyed all trace of it and the Replikas (virtual worlds) it created. Thus, the heroes thought they had destroyed XANA for good.

Several months afterwards, the heroes realised that XANA had survived. Indeed, the program found refuge in a place the heroes' multi-agent program hadn't flushed out: the Supercomputer generating the Cortex. It was probably the only Supercomputer that XANA didn't have complete control over. Although based on the same model as Franz Hopper's Supercomputer, its protection systems are certainly far superior to the original.
This Virtual World was therefore not labelled as belonging to XANA, like its Replikas. This can explain why the multi-agent program didn't destroy it.
The result is that XANA is hugely weakened. And a sad irony: it returned to its starting point. In season 1, it was trapped in the heroes' Supercomputer. Now, it's trapped in Tyron's. It can no longer spread into the global Network. We also note that Tyron didn't know about the program's presence on his Supercomputer.

XANA is weakened, or bruised. This translates into several points. Firstly, its first appearances were feared. The symptoms of its return to Kadic (electric faults, exploding cables) are greatly reminiscent of the weakness of attacks in the Prequel. We can also notice that its spectres, which became more and more formidable in the cartoon, are a little softer in Evolution (slow-moving, etc.).

However, taking refuge in the Cortex wasn't only mean trick that helped XANA to survive. Sensing its end was near, XANA gave source codes to each of the heroes (Aelita, Odd, Ulrich & Yumi). These codes are part of it and a fragment of its lost power. In getting them back, it gets the possibility of escaping the Cortex and spreading back into the Network. The artificial intelligence develops a strategy to collect its source codes using its spectres (see below). XANA gradually recovers its power. To see the different stages in detail, consult the topic Story - Code Lyoko Evolution or the Episode Guide.

We have to admit that infamous rise in power which should benefit XANA as it recovers codes was patchy. On Earth, spectres seemed to gain some improvements (development of special powers, moving faster, vocal capacity) but this varied during the episodes. Its attacks on Earth were very weak in comparison to in the past.

In the Virtual World, on the other hand, it's the opposite. XANA outdoes itself when it comes to strategies, scheming and devastating phenomena to throw a wrench in the heroes' work... It even seemed to reach a power level it had never revealed in previous adventures.

Against all odds, XANA gradually increased from 75% to 95% of its power (episode 25 “Massacre”). Unfortunately, its momentum came brutally to a halt. Indeed, the heroes diligently worked on a virus that would destroy the Cortex, its Supercomputer...and XANA along with them. The teens aim to implant the virus in the Cortex...but Tyron switched off his machine so that he wouldn't lose all his work (episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”).
So, XANA is on stand-by at the end of these events. At the height of its power but yet confined in Tyron's Supercomputer...which was switched off, driving XANA into a forced inactive sleep...until someone restarts the machine and counters the virus.
 

XANA attacks on Earth
 
Image

"It's not William, it's a spectre!"

#05 Rivalry

1) What is an attack?
Image
"Who's XANA?"

"It's a dangerous program. Kinda like a computer virus that can control electricity. It gains access to our world by activating towers on Lyoko."
In the official trailer for Code Lyoko Evolution
Image

Like all programs, XANA acts on a computer, but not a classic computer since we're talking about Franz Hopper and Tyron's Supercomputers... In other words, probably the two most powerful in the world! Both of these Supercomputers generate a Virtual World (Lyoko and the Cortex respectively). In these virtual worlds, we find Towers. These are data banks that probe the Net...and that especially connect Virtual Worlds to Earth's global network. So it's by activating these towers that users (whether a human like Jeremy or a program like XANA) can act in the real world.
A XANA attack is result of a tower activation on a virtual world, whose power XANA will use to deploy electrical and technological phenomena.

2) Attack strategy
Image
"XANA's managed to hack into the phone network."

"I guess attacking us with its spectres isn't enough for this thing."
#05 Rivalry
Image

Before, XANA had a vast range of possible attacks on Earth. But that was before. Since its loss against the multi-agent program, XANA has just one main objective. It's done with exterminating the heroes, tracking Franz Hopper or enslaving humanity. Its unique goal is to collect its source codes.

But to do this, XANA only has one option: use its spectres. They alone can track down the heroes, absorb their codes and return them to their true owner. XANA's main attack strategy, in Evolution, is thus the use of spectres.

Originality comes only in the power of each spectre (see their page for more details) and especially in the method XANA uses to ensure the spectre succeeds in its mission. Though some spectres are limited to the stupid “search and destroy” strategy (or rather “search and catch”), other spectres, however, are ingenious enough to fool the heroes. Let's analyse XANA's strategies:

Firstly, the program has the element of surprise. The heroes can't know who the spectre is, or when it will go on the attack, giving them a big disadvantage. However the Superscan, which alerts them to activated towers, when connected to an identification program, enables Jeremy and Laura to identify the spectre's appearance, to compensate.
Note, however, that XANA plays ith the element of surprise a lot: many spectres took the appearance of people who were close to heroes, or one of the heroes, or some people at Kadic Academy (except episodes 15 and 19).

Afterwards, XANA prefers to go for isolated targets: a lone Lyoko Warrior in a deserted place. This is why Odd lost all his codes the first time (episode 15 “The Codeless”). It's also how Yumi deceived a spectre (episode 19 “The Trap”).

Finally, XANA also did some manipulation using a spectre that looked like Aelita's mother in episode 11 “Rendezvous”. The creature manipulated the girl by imitating her mother's behaviour and speech.


All that's left is the rare other attacks XANA launched.
Firstly, note that it sometimes uses minor technical faults to strengthen its main attack. Also in episode 11, it sends Aelita a message allegedly signed by her mother to lure her to a meeting where the spectre is waiting.

XANA used tree other types of attack.
First, in episode 05 “Rivalry”, it hacks the telephone network. It thus renders all the heroes' phones unusable, blocking any communication between them. However, the attack's purpose remains unknown as no other anomalies occurred around it.

Another attack with a mysterious or completely elusive objective: episode 12 “Chaos at Kadic”, wherein XANA hacks Kadic's internal network, modifying report cards and creating other nuisances. But why...it's a mystery...

In episode 13 “Friday the 13th”, the heroes are again manipulated by XANA. This attack is aimed at the lottery, making it completely buggy, multiplying the winners across Europe. The heroes deactivate the tower and discover too late that the lottery attack was just a diversion to keep the heroes busy while XANA dealt a heavy blow to the Skidbladnir with a virus. Next in the story? Look further down! Smiley


3) The targets

"This thing is a little experiment to show you how easy prey you are... And that the codeless must protect the coded. (...) The codeless, that's William, Jeremy and me. The three others are the coded. The ones who still have codes left. Ulrich, Aelita, Yumi. You're all XANA's main targets."
#15 The Codeless
Image

In view of the little attacks that XANA deploys in Code Lyoko Evolution, the targets became incredibly clear.

The principle targets are the coded, which are Odd, Ulrich, Yumi and Aelita. They are continuously in the spectres' sights.

In the end, the most surprising thing wasn't the targets XANA chose, but what it didn't choose to target. Indeed, the program always used roundabout ways to achieve its goals.
However, during all the code tracking episodes, it never attacks Laura or Jeremy, as it did in the past, to get rid of its two most dangerous rivals. It's the same thing with William who is, in the virtual world, a considerable enemy to XANA.

It never tried to destroy the heroes' Supercomputer. Without their machine, the heroes would have been powerless against an attack launched from a Cortex tower.

Final potential target: Tyron!
Indeed, XANA could have tried to eliminate Tyron and his team, in order to take full control of the Cortex Supercomputer. That would have reproduced the plan the program used in the past when it created its Replikas.
This strategy would have been more successful if Tyron had, involuntarily, thrown a wrench into XANA's works in episode 16 “Confusion” with a Cortex update. Moreover, Tyron has no way to deactivate a tower activated by XANA.

In conclusion, we can say that, though it has increased of cleverness in the past, the weakened XANA in the Cortex was less innovative and particularly confined to its one objective of collecting source codes, while there may have been other methods to explore.
 

XANA's activity in the virtual Universe
 
Image

"Go inspect the labyrinth. If a tower is activated,
you'll find it there."


#12 Chaos at Kadic

Now let's look at XANA's influence on the virtual world. It must be noted first that XANA seems less limited in the Cortex than it was in Lyoko before. Indeed, though confined in Tyron's Supercomputer, XANA can still activate towers on Lyoko and send its monsters there or act on the Network. So what is our artificial intelligence scheming?

1) Defence by monsters
Image
"Jeremy? Vacation's over, I've been spotted."

#25 Massacre

The good old Code Lyoko recipe doesn't change: to attack, XANA uses towers. And to counter the attack, the heroes must dive in and enter the code Lyoko. XANA's usual objective is therefore to defend the towers with its different monsters.

XANA also protects two other zones: the Cortex and its access channel: the global Network. The program knows the heroes' goals in the virtual world it found refuge in. So, it tries to block the heroes' path through the Network with underwater monsters...or chases them out of the Cortex with its usual ones. To do that, it can target the virtualised heroes directly or their vehicles: the Skidbladnir in the Network and the Megapod in the Cortex.


This can move the monsters XANA boost with special abilities to a higher level. From the devastating, almost indestructible Blok wall (episode 7 “Countdown”) to the invisible Tarantula (episode 05 “Rivalry”) or even Kankrelats that duplicate themselves when they're destroyed (episode 23 “Jeremy's Blues”). Monsters that were once simple obstacles for the heroes quickly became insurmountable barriers.

XANA also shows its ability to use many more virtual humanoid fighters than in the past. The heroes' clones are formidable as they possess the heroes' powers and fight much better than monsters. At one point we see a clone of William (episode 15 “The Codeless”) and later many doppelgängers (episode 21 “False Pretences”).
Before, XANA needed towers or a scanner to virtualise a humanoid avatar. Now, this seems to no longer be the case.

Finally, let's note that with XANA's rise in power, the monsters seem to become more and more dangerous. The best example is the Mantas (episode 18 “Tenacity”) who become capable of exiting virtual worlds to dive into the Network and attack the Skid.
Less obvious but not merely trivial: the monsters' fire power. They seem a lot better at defending themselves in physical combat than in the past, especially Krabs, which strike Ulrich and William with their legs several times (episode 19 “The Trap” & episode 22 “Mutiny”).
The same goes for their lasers, the heroes are one-hitted more and more frequently.

2) Defence and attack through virtual phenomena

"Look, the tower is activating and deactivating."

#11 Rendezvous
Image

The area in which XANA has progressed is the usage of various virtual phenomena. Obviously, the program had already used different special effects in the past (sand tornado, tower mirage, etc....). However, these shows of XANA's power in the virtual world remained extremely timely and rare. Since its return, the artificial intelligence has used many virtual tricks to counter the heroes.

Sometimes it acts to defend towers. In episode 11 “Rendezvous”, the program developed a clever system in which two towers were activated and deactivated alternately to generate the one spectre. Entering and deactivating the towers had to be done at the same time; the heroes spent a long time figuring out how to deal with this nuisance.

XANA targeted the Skidbladnir twice. The first time was in episode 13 “Friday the 13th” in which it infected the submarine with a virus...which was countered by the heroes just in time. In episode 23 “Jeremy's Blues”, it shows to be more violent and treacherous. It lures the heroes into the Network using a hub, thanks to Franz Hopper's electronic signature. Arriving there, the Skidbladnir fell into a trapped. It was immobilised and destroyed by the hub's protection system, under XANA's control. Using the Skidbladnir as a relay, the artificial intelligence got into the Holomap and Superscan, disabling them.

Finally, note that XANA sometimes attacks the heroes in more distinct ways. In episode 19 “The Trap”, XANA used virtualised spectre residue to stop the heroes and throw them into the Digital Sea.
William seems to be one of its favourite targets... Old habits die hard. It tries to recover him twice. With the help of the Scyphozoa in episode 22 “Mutiny” as well as in episode 15 “The Codeless”, in which it uses a William clone to manipulate him and try to entice him into joining XANA's side once again.


To conclude, XANA can also need to act in an emergency, like in episode 16 “Confusion”. During this typical mission, the heroes discover that Tyron is - involuntarily - blocking XANA's ability to launch attacks with a Cortex system update. XANA has no choice but to attack the Cortex's Core Room, fighting the Ninjas. It fails because of the heroes but its ability to activate towers is later restored.
 

 
 In the end, this new version of XANA is a little difficult to understand. Its capacity for acting on Earth seems weakened (less varied attacks, clearly inferior strategy) but strengthened on Lyoko (more powerful monsters, special or more powerful attacks). Of course, aside from the storyline, budget constraints linked to the adaptation of Code Lyoko into a live action series self-explained these differences between the real and virtual worlds.

The season ends with a XANA who has only been temporarily stopped.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

XANA dans Code Lyoko Evolution
Accès rapide
 
Image
[Qui est XANA ?]
Image
[XANA sur Terre]
Image
[XANA sur Lyoko]
Image
[XANA dans Evolution]


Image[Dossier]
Les attaques de XANA :
L'intégrale !
 

 
 IV. Le retour de XANA dans Code Lyoko Evolution

Ici, nous traiterons de XANA, essentiellement du point de vue qu'on en a de Code Lyoko Evolution. Le programme revient en force... Et c'est le même... mais en différent. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de quoi lui consacrer une rubrique indépendante, cette page vous permettra de découvrir XANA 2.0.

[Accès rapide] [Qui est XANA ?] [Histoire de XANA dans Code Lyoko Evolution] [Attaques de XANA sur Terre] [Activités de XANA dans l'Univers virtuel]

< XANA sur Lyoko
 
 

Qui est XANA ?
 
Image
« XANA n'a rien d'un jeu ! XANA est une intelligence artificielle qui tente de prendre le contrôle du réseau. (...) XANA est en train d'échapper à tout contrôle, il est prêt à tout ! »

#16 Confusion

La nature de XANA n'est pas réellement abordée dans Code Lyoko Evolution. En dehors de la citation ci-dessus, issue d'un teaser, les scénaristes d'Evolution ne sont pas réellement revenus sur l'identité de XANA puisque celle-ci avait été largement traitée dans la série animée.

Par conséquent, si vous êtes arrivés directement sur cette page sans passer par le début de la rubrique, nous vous invitons vivement à simplement relire la première page de la rubrique qui décrit en détail qui est XANA, avec quelques allusions à Code Lyoko Evolution.

En ce qui concerne les connaisseurs de la série, nous remarquerons qu'il n'y a pas de différence évidente entre la nature de XANA saison 4 et celle de XANA 2.0 dans Evolution. Ses objectifs semblent les mêmes. Il a juste besoin d'une nouvelle stratégie d'attaque pour y parvenir.
 

Histoire de XANA dans Code Lyoko Evolution
 

« Ce sont des codes... Des codes-sources exactement. Appartenant à XANA. Et au moment où on pensait détruire XANA, il a injecté ses codes en vous. (...) Et j'me demande si il envoie pas ses spectres pour les récupérer. »

#01 XANA 2.0
Image

A la fin de la série animée, XANA était à un paroxysme de puissance. Il s'était étendu dans tous le Réseau mondial. Avec l'aide de Franz Hopper, les héros ont pu concocter un programme qui l'a traqué dans le Réseau et a détruit toute trace de lui et des Réplikas (Mondes virtuels) qu'il avait créés. Ainsi, les héros pensaient avoir tué XANA pour de bon.

Des mois après, les héros réalisent que XANA a survécu. En effet, le programme a trouvé un lieu de refuge dans lequel le programme multi-agents des héros n'est pas allé le débusqué : Le Supercalculateur générant le Cortex. Il s'agit probablement du seul Supercalculateur que XANA n'avait pas pu posséder totalement. Basé sur le même modèle que le Supercalculateur de Franz Hopper, ses systèmes de protection sont très certainement bien supérieurs à la moyenne.
Ce Monde Virtuel était ainsi pas aussi étiqueté « XANA » que les Réplika. Cela peut expliquer que le programme multi-agents ne l'ait pas détruit ici.
Le résultat est que XANA est grandement affaibli. Et une triste ironie : il est de retour à la case départ. En effet, dans la saison 1, il était coincé dans le Supercalculateur des héros. A présent, c'est dans celui de Tyron. Il ne peut plus s'étendre dans le Réseau mondial. Notons d'ailleurs que Tyron ignore la présence du programme sur son Supercalculateur.

XANA est affaibli, voire meurtri. Cela se traduit par divers points. Tout d'abord, ses premières manifestations sont timorées. Les symptômes de son retour à Kadic (Défauts électriques, explosion des câbles) rappellent grandement la faiblesse des attaques de la Genèse. On constate aussi que ses spectres, de plus en plus redoutables au fur et à mesure de la série animée, sont un petit peu ramollos dans Evolution (Déplacement lent, etc.).

Cependant, se réfugier dans le Cortex n'est pas la seule entourloupe qui a permis à XANA de s'accrocher à la vie. Sentant sa fin approcher, XANA a insufflé dans chacun des héros (Aelita, Odd, Ulrich & Yumi) des codes-sources. Ces codes sont une partie de lui et des fragments de sa puissance perdue. En les récupérant, il récupérerait la possibilité de s'échapper du Cortex et de s'étendre à nouveau dans le Réseau. L'intelligence artificielle développe donc un stratagème pour récupérer ses codes-sources à l'aide de ses spectres (Voir-ci-dessous). XANA récupérera donc progressivement sa puissance. Pour voir les différentes étapes dans le détail, consultez la rubrique Histoire à la page Code Lyoko Evolution ou le Guide des épisodes.

Force est de constater que la fameuse montée en puissance dont devrait bénéficier XANA au fur et à mesure qu'il récupère des codes est inégale. Sur Terre, les spectres semblent prendre un peu du poil de la bête (développement de pouvoirs spéciaux, déplacements plus rapides, capacité à parler) mais cela a tendance à varier en fonction des épisodes. Ses attaques sur Terre resteront d'un niveau très faible en comparaison du passé.

Dans le Monde Virtuel, en revanche, c'est l'inverse. XANA se surpasse en stratagème, magouilles et phénomènes dévastateurs pour mettre des bâtons dans les roues aux héros... Il semble même atteindre un niveau de puissance qu'il n'avait jamais révélé lors des précédentes aventures.

Contre vent et marée, XANA passera progressivement de trois quarts à 95% de sa puissance (Episode 25 « Hécatombe »). Hélas, son élan sera brutalement stoppé. En effet, les héros ont durement travaillé sur un virus qui devait détruire le Cortex, son Supercalculateur... et XANA avec. Les adolescents parviennent à implanter le virus dans le Cortex... mais Tyron stoppe sa machine pour ne pas perde le fruit de son travail (Episode 26 « Ultime mission »).
Ainsi, XANA est en stand-by à la fin de ces péripéties. Au seuil de sa puissance maximale mais malgré tout confiné dans le Supercalculateur de Tyron... qui est éteint, plongeant XANA dans un sommeil et une inactivité forcée... jusqu'à ce que quelqu'un réenclenche la machine et contre le virus.
 

Attaques de XANA sur Terre
 
Image

« C'est pas William, c'est un spectre ! »

#05 Rivalité

1) Qu'est-ce qu'une attaque ?
Image
« Mais c'est qui ce XANA ? »

« Un programme extrêmement dangereux. Une sorte de virus qui contrôle l'énergie électrique. Il active les Tours de Lyoko pour accéder à notre monde. »
Dans le Trailer officiel de Code Lyoko Evolution
Image

Comme tout programme, XANA agit sur un ordinateur, mais pas des moindres puisqu'il s'agit des Supercalculateurs de Franz Hopper et de Tyron... C'est-à-dire probablement les deux plus puissants au monde ! Ces deux Supercalculateurs génèrent un monde virtuel (Respectivement, Lyoko et Cortex). Dans ces mondes virtuels, on trouve des Tours. Ce sont des banques de données qui sondent le net... et surtout qui permettent de relier les Mondes Virtuels au réseau informatique mondial terrestre. C'est donc en activant ces tours que les utilisateurs (que ce soit un humain comme Jérémie ou un programme comme XANA) peuvent agir dans le monde réel.
Une attaque de XANA est donc l'activation d'une Tour, sur un monde virtuel dont XANA va utiliser la puissance pour déployer des phénomènes électriques et informatiques.

2) Mode d'attaque
Image
« XANA est en train de pirater tout le réseau téléphonique »

« Les attaques de spectres, ça lui suffit plus, c'est ça ? »
#05 Rivalité
Image

XANA disposait dans le temps d'une vaste panoplie de mode d'attaque sur Terre. Mais ça, c'était avant. Depuis ses récents déboires face au programme multi-agents, XANA n'a plus qu'un objectif majoritaire. Fini l'extermination des héros, la traque de Franz Hopper ou l'asservissement de l'Humanité. Son unique but est désormais de récupérer ses codes-sources.

Or pour ce faire, XANA n'a qu'une seule possibilité : Utiliser ses spectres. Ils sont les seuls qui peuvent traquer les héros et les saisir pour absorber les codes en eux et les restituer à leur propriétaire. Le mode d'attaque principal de XANA, dans Evolution, sera donc l'emploi de spectres.

L'originalité va survenir uniquement dans le pouvoir de chaque spectre (Consultez leur page pour plus de détails) et surtout dans la manière avec laquelle XANA va s'assurer que le spectre remplira bien sa mission. Si certains spectres n'ont malheureusement fait qu'employer une bête stratégie de search&destroy (Ou plutôt search and catch), d'autres en revanche on fait preuve d'ingéniosité pour tromper les héros. Analysons les stratégies de XANA :

Le programme dispose tout d'abord de l'effet de surprise. Les héros ne peuvent pas savoir qui est le spectre, ni quand il va leur tomber dessus ce qui est un net désavantage. Cependant le Superscan, qui alerte en cas d'activation de Tour, doublé du programme d'identification, qui permet à Jérémie et Laura d'identifier l'apparence du spectre, compensent.
Notons toutefois que XANA joue aussi énormément sur l'effet de surprise : La plupart de ses spectres ont emprunté l'apparence de personnes proches des héros : Soit celle d'un des héros, soit celle d'un individu du collège Kadic (Episode 15 et 19 hormis).

XANA s'en prendra ensuite à des cibles isolées, préférentiellement. Un Lyoko-guerrier navigant seul et dans un lieu peu peuplé. C'est ce qui vaudra à Odd de perdre tous ses codes une première fois (Episode 15 « Les sans-codes »). C'est aussi comme ça que Yumi trompera le spectre (Episode 19 « Le piège »).

Enfin, XANA a également fait preuve de manipulation en employant un spectre présentant l'apparence de la mère d'Aelita dans l'épisode 11 « Rendez-vous ». La créature a manipulé la jeune fille en se faisant passer pour sa mère jusque dans l'attitude et les paroles.


Nous reste à voir les rares autres attaques que XANA a lancées.
En premier lieu, notons qu'il emploie parfois de banales techniques pour mieux renforcer son attaque principale. Toujours dans l'épisode 11, il envoie à Aelita un message signé prétendument de sa mère pour lui donner rendez-vous là où le spectre attend.

XANA emploiera trois autres attaques.
Tout d'abord, dans l'épisode 05 « Rivalité », il pirate le réseau téléphonique terrestre. Il met ainsi tous les portables des héros hors d'état et bloque entre eux la communication. Cependant, la finalité de l'attaque reste inconnue puisque rien d'autre d'anormal n'a été relevé à côté de cela.

Autre attaque dont l'objectif reste mystérieux voire complètement insaisissable : L'épisode 12 « Chaos à Kadic », dans lequel XANA pirate de réseau interne de Kadic, faussant les bulletins et créant d'autres gènes. Mais pour quoi faire... mystère...

Dans l'épisode 13 « Vendredi », les héros se font une nouvelle fois manipuler par XANA. L'attaque vise la loterie que XANA fait complètement planter, multipliant les gagnants à travers l'Europe. Les héros désactivent la tour et se rendent compte trop tard que l'attaque du loto n'était qu'une diversion pour occuper l'attention des héros pendant que XANA s'en prenait au Skidbladnir à grand coup de virus. Suite de l'Histoire ? Un cadre plus bas Smiley !


3) Les cibles

« Ce délire c'est une petite expérience pour vous montrer que vous êtes des proies faciles... Et que les sans-codes doivent protéger les codés. (...) Les sans-codes, c'est William, Jérémie et moi. Les trois autres, c'est les codés. Ceux à qui y reste du code. Ulrich, Aelita, Yumi. C'est vous que XANA va cibler en priorité. »
#15 Les sans-codes
Image

Au vu du peu d'attaques que XANA déploie dans Evolution, les cibles en deviennent forcément évidentes.

Les cibles majoritaires sont les porteurs de code-sources, à savoir Odd, Ulrich, Yumi et Aelita. Ils sont sans arrêt dans le viseur des spectres.

Au final, le plus surprenant ne réside pas tellement dans ce que XANA a pris pour cible mais dans ce qu'il n'a pas pris pour cible. En effet, le programme a toujours su utiliser des moyens détournés pour parvenir à ses fins.
Or, durant tout l'épisode de la traque des codes, pas une seule fois il ne s'en est pris à Laura et Jérémie, comme il l'aurait fait dans le passé, pour se débarrasser de ces deux dangereux rivaux. Même remarque pour William qui est pour lui un adversaire de taille dans le monde virtuel.

Il n'a jamais non plus essayé de détruire le Supercalculateur des héros. Privé de leur machine, les héros auraient été impuissants face à une attaque lancée depuis une Tour du Cortex.

Dernière cible potentielle : Tyron !
En effet, XANA aurait pu tenter d'éliminer Tyron et son équipe, afin de prendre un contrôle total sur le Supercalculateur du Cortex. Cela aurait reproduit le schéma que le programme utilisait jadis quand il créait ses Réplikas.
Cette stratégie aurait été d'autant plus porteuse que Tyron a, involontairement, mis les bâtons dans les roues de XANA dans l'épisode 16 « Confusion » avec une mise à jour du Cortex. De surcroît, Tyron n'a aucun moyen de désactiver une Tour activée par XANA.

En conclusion, on peut avancer le fait que, s'il a redoublé d'ingéniosité par le passé, le XANA affaibli du Cortex s'est montré beaucoup moins innovant et particulièrement borné sur son seul objectif de récupération des codes-sources, là où il y aurait peut-être eu d'autres pistes à explorer.
 

Activités de XANA dans l'Univers virtuel
 
Image

« Va inspecter le labyrinthe. S'il y a une tour active,
c'est là-bas que tu la trouveras. »


#12 Chaos à Kadic

Penchons nous à présent sur l'emprise de XANA sur le monde virtuel. Il faut remarquer en premier lieu que XANA semble moins limité sur le Cortex qu'il ne l'était sur Lyoko. En effet, bien que confiné sur le Supercalculateur de Tyron, XANA peut encore activer des tours de Lyoko et y envoyer ses monstres ou encore agir dans le Réseau. Alors que manigance notre intelligence artificielle ?

1) La défense par les monstres
Image
« Jérémie ! Fini les vacances, je suis repéré ! »

#25 Hécatombe

On ne va pas changer la bonne vieille recette Code Lyoko : Pour attaquer, XANA emploie des tours. Et pour contrer l'attaque, les héros doivent s'y introduire et saisir le code Lyoko. Le dada habituel de XANA est donc de défendre les tours à l'aide de ses différents monstres.

XANA défend également deux autres zones : Le Cortex et son canal d'accès : Le Réseau mondial. En effet, le programme se doute que les investigations des héros dans le monde virtuel où il a trouvé refuge n'est pas fait pour faire son affaire. Il essaie donc de bloquer les héros en chemin dans le Réseau avec les monstres sous-marin... ou alors de les faire fuir du Cortex avec les monstres habituels. Pour se faire, il peut prendre en cible directement les héros virtualisés ou alors leurs véhicules : Le Skidbladnir dans le Réseau et le Mégapode dans le Cortex.


Cela peut passer au niveau de ses monstres que XANA booste avec des capacités spéciales en plus. Du mur de Blok quasiment indestructible et ravageur (Episode 7 « Compte-à-rebours ») en passant par la Tarentule invisible (Episode 05 « Rivalité ») ou encore des Kankrelats qui se dédoublent au moment de leur destruction (Episode 23 « Le blues de Jérémie »). Les monstres qui étaient de simples obstacles pour les héros peuvent rapidement se changer en barrière infranchissable.

XANA se montre aussi capable d'utiliser énormément plus de combattants virtuels humanoïdes que par le passé. Ces clones des héros sont redoutables car ils possèdent les pouvoirs des héros et se battent bien mieux que les monstres. On croisera à l'occasion une réplique de William (Episode 15 « Les sans-codes ») et une ribambelle de doppelgänger (Episode 21 « Faux-semblants »).
Auparavant, XANA avait besoin des tours ou d'un scanner pour virtualiser un avatar humanoïde. Désormais, cela ne semble plus être le cas.

Notons enfin qu'avec la montée en puissance de XANA, les monstres semblent devenir de plus en plus dangereux. L'exemple emblématique reste bien entendu celui des Mantas (Episode 18 « Obstination ») qui deviennent capables de quitter les mondes virtuels pour plonger dans le Réseau à l'attaque du Skid.
Moins évident mais non anodin : La force de frappe des monstres. Ceux-ci semblent se défendre bien mieux au corps-à-corps que dans le passé, notamment les Krabes qui frapperont Ulrich et William de leur patte à de multiples reprise (Episode 19 « Le piège » & Episode 22 « Mutinerie »).
Même au niveau des lasers, les héros se font one-shot de plus en plus fréquemment.

2) La défense et l'attaque par les phénomènes virtuels

« Regarde ! La tour s'active et se désactive ! »

#11 rendez-vous
Image

Là où XANA a drastiquement progressé, c'est dans l'usage de phénomènes virtuels divers. Evidemment, le programme avait déjà déployé différents effets spéciaux par le passé (tornade de sable, tour mirage etc...). Cependant, ces manifestations de pouvoir de XANA sur le monde virtuel restaient extrêmement ponctuelles et rares. Depuis son retour, l'intelligence artificielle se déchaine en entourloupes virtuelles pour contrer les héros.

Il s'agit parfois de défendre les tours. Dans l'épisode 11 « Rendez-vous », le programme développe un ingénieux système dans lequel deux tours sont activées en alternance pour générer le même spectre. L'entrée dans les tours et la désactivation devant être concomitant, les héros bloqueront longuement sur ce casse-tête.

Il peut également s'agir d'attaquer. XANA ciblera deux fois le Skidbladnir. La première fois dans l'épisode 13 « Vendredi 13 » dans lequel il inoculera un virus au sous-marin... contré à temps par les héros. Dans l'épisode 23 « Le blues de Jérémie », il se montre plus violent et perfide. Il attire les héros dans le Réseau auprès d'un hub grâce à la signature électronique de Franz Hopper. Arrivé là, le Skidbladnir tombe dans un piège. Il est immobilisé et détruit par un système de protection du hub sous contrôle de XANA. Se servant du Skidbladnir comme relai, l'intelligence artificielle s'offrira dans la foulée la mise hors service de l'Holomap et du Superscan.

Enfin, notons que XANA s'en prend des fois plus nettement aux héros. Dans l'épisode 19 « Le piège », XANA emploie un résidu de spectre virtualisé pour mettre les héros hors-jeu et essayer de les jeter dans la Mer Numérique.
William semble être une de ses cibles favorites... On ne coupe pas ses liens si facilement. Par deux fois, il tente de le récupérer. Dans l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie » par le biais de la Méduse et dans l'épisode 15 « Les sans-codes » dans lequel il utilise une réplique de William pour le manipuler et l'inciter à se ranger une nouvelle fois du côté de XANA.


Pour conclure, XANA peut aussi avoir besoin de réagir en urgence, comme dans l'épisode 16 « Confusion ». Au cours de cette mission atypique, les héros découvrent que Tyron a bloqué à XANA la possibilité de lancer des attaques, involontairement, par une mise-à-jour du système de Cortex. XANA n'a donc pas d'autres choix que de prendre d'assaut la salle du Cœur du Cortex contre les Ninjas. Il échouera à cause des héros mais sa capacité à activer des tours sera rétablie.
 

 
 Au final. Cette nouvelle version de XANA est un petit peu dure à cerner. Elle semble s'être affaiblie sur sa capacité à agir sur Terre (attaques moins variée, stratégie clairement inférieure) mais renforcée sur Lyoko (Monstres plus puissants, attaques spéciales plus puissantes). Évidemment, outre la trame scénaristique, les contraintes budgétaires liées à l'adaptation de Code Lyoko en série live expliquent à elle seules cette différence entre monde réel et virtuel.

La saison s'achève avec un XANA seulement temporairement immobilisé.