Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Code Lyoko MMORPG
Image

 
 A Code Lyoko MMORPG? Maybe you have thought of it. In fact, it's a great idea. And that's why it's really surprising that a lot of fans don't know that this project had almost come to fruition. During the Great Hiatus, between the end of the fourth season and the beginning of Code Lyoko Evolution, a serious project for a Code Lyoko MMORPG had been lead. Unfortunately, this project was never completed It has remained invisible to the eyes of our community. But is this really a bad thing?

This project, which may have been interesting at the start, ended up straying from the original designs and spirit of the series. It could have brought about something bad and disgusting, mixing some things from the universe of Code Lyoko, and the culture of a poor quality MMORPG. From the team's point of view, in the end, it's a good thing that the project was stopped.

However, it's a great opportunity for us to dedicate a brand-new file to this mysterious and unknown project. Have a nice read.

[First announcement of the RPG] [A new PDF from Moonscoop: the first images] [New elements, and first videos] [The last step: the museum of horrors]
 
 

First announcement of the RPG
 
The first reference to the MMORPG was in a PDF from Moonscoop, in 2008. It was the first PDF following the fourth season, which also announced Code Lyoko Reloaded.
Code Lyoko Reloaded was a group of projects which would have started after the fourth season. The Code Lyoko MMORPG was one of the several ideas presented in the PDF in order to continue to monetise the licence.

If you want more information about Code Lyoko Reloaded, you can read the file about it in the History of the show. There is also the PDF, available on the Conceptual Documents page.

Image
First page of the PDF. The first mention of the project.

Just a bit of information in the PDF. Just some guaranties, such as full 3D. It was to be developed by CJ-Internet.
 

A new PDF from Moonscoop: the first images
 
A new PDF from Moonscoop is released in 2010. Like the first PDF, it presents some ideas for the future of the series, through Code Lyoko Reloaded. However, the project seems to have advanced: some images are available.

First review: the drafts are nice. Obviously, the universe has to be adapted in order to become an MMORPG, and here we find some combination of styles that looks nice.

Image
Image
ImageImage
Image
Image

Image Image Image Image

What can we see? Odd and Ulrich's avatars, modified. The monsters seem to be inspired by the series, like the Hornet. And others...more unknown. And finally, some drafts of the Sectors, which present small but sure link with the series. The effect is good, for now.
 

New elements, and first videos
 
Two videos follow this PDF some time after, in order to present the project. We discovered them on a new site, belonging to N'Flute. This seems to have been a group created within CJ-Internet to handle production of Code Lyoko Online.

In the first video, we discover a presentation, and some gameplay. The video shows a character created by the player.


In the second, the gameplay is revealed further. This time, the characters are derived from the ones in the series. The fight against a boss and some weak monsters.


It's the beginning of the end...

Thanks N'Flute's site, we can finally have a source of inspiration. A Beta of the game is available to download...but you need a customer account! =P However, our Dude Dudu, who had already begun his search, was able to find some documents in order to help us discover more about the RPG.

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

We can see the Korean influence on the MMORPG, brought by N'Flute, the company that made the game. Though the first images had been more show-accurate, we can in fact see that the game design is not really in the Graphic Universe of Code Lyoko.
 

The last step: the museum of horrors
 
In 2011, a new thirty-second teaser emerged on the net. It was just some screenshots, but we could see what became of our Aelita... A radical switch from her last appearance...


This last section shows you all different elements found in 2012. Be careful, you may be shocked.
First of all, the Code Lyoko Evolution PDF from 2012, which talked about the MMORPG (and said that the MMORPG would be playable in the summer of 2012...).

Image
Image
Image
ImageImage
Image
Image
Image

Then, in order to immerse you in Asian culture, the team had a hobby of taking photos of themselves.

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image


We've see the team, now, their work...

Image Image Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image Image Image

Yes...the beginning was good... Some trailers to finish off with, and to let you do your mourning...






In the end, the MMORPG was cancelled in December 2012. At the same time, the N'Flute company went bankrupt and the company was closed. The only sources of information are in Korean, and there aren't many of them, so it's hard to analyse why the project had failed. The relationship between Moonscoop and N'Flute remains fuzzy, and the arrival of Code Lyoko Evolution has turned eyes to the television, away from Code Lyoko Online.

A little brutal but the end of the story! Any regrets?

See ya!
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Code Lyoko MMORPG
Image

 
 Un MMORPG Code Lyoko ? L'idée vous a déjà traversé l'esprit ? C'est une idée prometteuse en effet. Et c'est pourquoi, il est très étonnant que la plupart des fans ignorent que ce projet a failli voir le jour. En effet, durant la Grande Coupure, entre la fin de la saison 4 et le début de Code Lyoko Evolution, un sérieux projet de MMORPG Code Lyoko a été mené. Le projet n'a hélas pas abouti et sera resté très invisible aux yeux de la communauté. Mais est-ce un mal ?

Ce projet, s'il semblait très intéressant et prometteur à ses débuts, a fini par se détourner de l'esprit et du design originel de la série. Il aurait bien pu donner naissance à une espèce d'immondice répugnante issu d'un croisement bâtard entre l'Univers Code Lyoko et la culture MMORPG bas-de-gamme. Du point de vue de l'équipe, c'est au final plutôt une bonne chose qu'il n'ait pas abouti.

Néanmoins, voici pour nous une excellent occasion de consacrer un nouveau dossier inédit à ce projet mystérieux et inconnu. Bonne lecture.

[Première annonce du MMORPG] [Nouveau PDF de Moonscoop : Premières images] [De nouveaux éléments et les premières vidéos arrivent !] [Dernière étape : Le musée des horreurs]
 
 

Première annonce du MMORPG
 
La toute première mention du MMORPG apparaît dans un PDF de Moonscoop, daté de 2008. Il s'agit du premier PDF suivant la saison 4, qui avait annoncé Code Lyoko Reloaded. Code Lyoko Reloaded était un ensemble de projets qui auraient pu voir le jour suite à la fin de la série, après la saison 4. Le MMORPG Code Lyoko était une des pistes présentées dans le PDF pour continuer à rentabiliser la licence.

Pour plus d'informations sur Code Lyoko Reloaded, vous pouvez consulter le dossier qui y est consacré dans l'Historique de la série. Voici également le PDF concerné, disponible sur la page "Conceptuels".

Image
La première image du PDF. Première mention du projet.

Peu d'informations sur ce premier jet. Seulement des garantis comme une full-3D. Le développeur semblera être CJ-Internet. Il n'en sera en fait rien.
 

Nouveau PDF de Moonscoop : Premières images
 
Un nouveau PDF de Moonscoop sort en 2010. Dans la même lignée que le premier, il présente toujours des pistes sur le futur de la série à travers la nébuleuse Code Lyoko Reloaded. Néanmoins, le projet semble avoir avancé : Quelques images sont disponibles.

Premier commentaire : Bien que non-identiques, les esquisses sont plutôt agréables. Evidemment, l'Univers de la série va devoir être adapté pour devenir un MMORPG et on se trouve ici en présence d'un hybride qui parait assez sympathique.

Image
Image
ImageImage
Image
Image

Image Image Image Image

Qu'apercevons nous ? Des avatars modifiés pour Ulrich et Odd. Des monstres semblants inspirés de la série, comme le Frolion. D'autres... plus inconnus. Et enfin, des esquisses de Territoires, eux-aussi présentant une filiation fine mais existante avec le dessin animé. Cela reste appétissant.
 

De nouveaux éléments et les premières vidéos arrivent !
 
Deux vidéos suivent ce PDF peu après pour présenter le projet. On les a découvert sur le site d'une nouvelle entité : Le site de N'Flute. Cette société a visiblement récupéré le bébé et été chargée de son développement (Plus de nouvelles de CJ-Internet à partir de là).

Dans la première vidéo, on découvre une présentation et un brin de gameplay. Notons qu'elle met un scène un personnage que le joueur créera lui-même :


Dans la seconde, le gameplay est dévoilé plus en profondeur. Les personnages sont cette fois-ci des dérivés de ceux de la série. Ils réalisent deux combats, contre un boss puis de la piétaille :


On commence à avoir les yeux qui piquent...

Grâce au site de N'Flute, nous avons désormais une source d'information. Une Beta est disponible pour le jeu en téléchargement... sous réserve d'avoir un compte client =P ! Néanmoins, notre Père Dudu qui était déjà sur le coup à l'époque a pu récupérer des documents afin de nous faire découvrir plus en profondeur le RPG.

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

On sent l'influence coréenne sur le MMORPG, apporté par N'Flute, la société de réalisation du jeu. Si les premiers visuels étaient corrects, on sent que le game-design s'éloigne progressivement de l'Univers graphique Code Lyoko.
 

Dernière étape : Le musée des horreurs
 
En 2011, un nouveau teaser d'une trentaine de secondes émergeait sur le net, ce sont juste des screens mais on peut apercevoir ce qu'est devenu notre Aelita... Un nouveau changement radical par rapport à sa dernière forme connue...


Ce dernier cadre recense tous les différents éléments trouvés lors de l'année 2012. Cette fois-ci, accrochez-vous à vos tripes, ça vaut le détour ! Tout d'abord, le PDF Code Lyoko Evolution de 2012 qui faisait mention du MMORPG (et l'annonçait pour l'été 2012, enfin bon....)

Image
Image
Image
ImageImage
Image
Image
Image

Et ensuite, pour se mettre dans le bain de la culture asiatique, l'équipe avait pour hobby de se prendre en photo.

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image


On a vu l'équipe, maintenant, voyons le fruit de leur travail...

Image Image Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image Image Image

Image Image Image Image Image Image

Et oué... C'était pourtant bien parti... Quelques trailers pour finir et pouvoir faire votre deuil...






Le MMORPG est finalement annoncé annulé en décembre 2012. Dans la foulée, la société N'Flute fait faillite et dépose le bilan. Etant donné que les seules sources d'informations sont en coréen et qu'elles sont peu nombreuses, il est difficile d'analyser cet échec retentissant et d'en comprendre les ramifications. Les relations entre Moonscoop et N'Flute restent floues et l'arrivée de Code Lyoko Evolution a braqué les projecteurs sur une autre scène que celle de Code Lyoko Online.

Un peu brutal mais fin de l'histoire ! Des regrets ?
A plus, dans l'bus !
 

Image