Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Ice Sector
 
 [Back to homepage]

[View from the sky] [Characteristics] [Topological characteristics] [Monsters and the Ice Sector] [Appearances in episodes] [Important events] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

View from the sky
 
Image
The Ice Sector on the Holomap
 

Characteristics
 
Temperature: -15°C (5°F)

Climate: Polar

Characteristics: Nocturnal atmosphere

Humidity: None

Description: A dark, nocturnal atmosphere for a calmness that's comparable to that of the freezing cold. Winter has fallen permanently on this Sector, however it never snows. It always covers the ground in a fine layer, the ground being constituted only of eternal ice! (We notice that in season 1, small brown specks can sometimes be seen beneath the ice on the virtual ground. The evolution of the design after season 1 erased this anomaly).
It's evident that the ice makes the ground slippery, for the heroes as well as the monsters. The latter more or less handle this element (although Kankrelats sometimes have trouble). The heroes roam the Sector carefree without slipping, unless they're in someone else's body rather than their own (like Odd and Yumi in episode 42 "A Fine Mess").

Such is the Ice Sector: large plateaux of ice linked by long paths, just as frozen. Mountains of ice are common, less so than in the Mountain Sector as there aren't any floating in mid-air, however icebergs can be found all over the Ice Sector's frozen plateaux and with them, they bring other surprises: sumptuous ice caverns, waterfalls, rivers and tunnels!
The Ice Sector is easily the Sector in which we find the most water!
 

Topological characteristics
 
Numerous characteristics make the Ice an original Sector, and one that's pleasant to visit. Some fights that bring our heroes here are simply unique.

Though the grounds of the Desert, Mountain and Forest are very durable, the ground of the Ice Sector is of no exception, but with a difference: it's breakable and easy to crack. Odd and Ulrich therefore take advantage of this rather unusual attribute in episode 38 "Temptation" when they break the floe they're standing on into little pieces of floating ice that are hard to balance on. Half a dozen Tarantulas get submerged in the water as a result!
In episode 31 "Mister Pück", four Bloks hide under the ice in order to make a noteworthy entrance.

Let's come back to the decorative elements that aren't overly common on the frozen platforms.
First of all, caves. They often create a number of worries for the heroes. Not because it's freezing inside, but because the towers in them are often hidden from view like in episodes 9 "Satellite" and 41 "Ultimatum". When the entrance is behind a waterfall guarded by Tarantulas, the task becomes even more complex.

Let's stop on the word "waterfall", as it's interesting in itself. Water plays a key role in the Ice Sector! Indeed, it's present in the form of small lakes and waterfalls. Yet in the virtual world, it's impossible for a Lyoko Warrior to drown as they know how to swim. This is why Odd, in episode 44 "Vertigo", takes a little dip in order to avoid the Hornets guarding the entrance to a cave and saves Aelita, who was in the Schyphozoa's grasp!
Water is more beneficial to the Lyoko Warriors as the monsters cannot swim. If they fall in water, as we see in XANA Awakens, they sink and become prisoners of the deep water...

We shouldn't confuse the vast lakes found in the Ice Sector with the Digital Sea. Differentiating them is simple: the Digital Sea has a much lower gravitation than the ice floes in the Sector. The lake water reaches the icy paths.

In the Ice Replika, another large lake is seen with a water level higher than that of the paths, and when Jeremy launches the multi-agent program, freezing the water to imprison the Kolossus within the lake, the ice connects together temporarily, bridging the platforms episode 92 "Cold Sweat").
In the following episode (93 "Down to Earth"), we clearly see that the sea level is very low down when the damaged Skid falls from the platform.

Finally, we come to one of the Ice Sector's funniest elements: its tunnels! Often used to link one platform to another, these are long paths that cross the icebergs which are perfectly suited for a sled!
We find them all over the Ice Sector and they always make for appealing chase scenes (Aelita chased by a Hornet, which in turn is being chased by Yumi and Ulrich in episode 26 "False Start")!
Only Kankrelats and Hornets can creep into these passages, as they are too narrow for other monsters. The virtual cockroaches however have trouble keeping their trajectory. The heroes often go through them on vehicles because this method is more practical. When they're unable to do this, they only have two options: slide down either like an ice skater, or on their buttocks!
We should also note that the tunnel exits often lead to cliff faces, and so the heroes need to await a good fall, also a great way to destroy a Kankrelat!
That's also one of the reasons why these tunnels give us a good laugh.

The Replika shows no other difference with its Lyoko model. It is similar to the original.
 

Monsters and the Ice Sector
 
A monster that's happy in the Ice Sector is the Hornet. Indeed, in season 1, each time the heroes go to the Ice Sector, they nearly always meet squadrons of these monsters, sending down a rain of laser fire onto the Sector's icy floes. Consequently, Mantas also feel comfortable in this Sector. It's where we most often see them outside of Carthage. They traverse the sky very quickly, sending out lasers, explosive mines and desolation on the mortals...

On the other hand, Megatanks hardly ever appear here; the ground must be too slippery for them to safely roll at high speed.

To counteract this frightfully unstable ground, XANA also sends monsters with legs that can easily grip, in other words Krabs and Bloks! The little Kankrelats go "live" on the permanently frozen ground!

Tarantulas are present, like in any other Sector, but they lack anything that allows them to grip the ground. The heroes take advantage of his fault in episode 38 "Temptation" when Odd and Ulrich alternate pushing Tarantulas into the water by cracking the ice into multiple floating, unstable islets!

Image

Like in the Mountain Sector, the huge plateaux seem to play to William's advantage, who launches hard frontal offensives, backing the heroes up against icebergs (episode 84 "Guided Missile"), using his Supersmoke a lot (episode 93 "Down to Earth").
The Ice Sector and its Replikas are the only places where we see the heroes fight the Kolossus. The monster can easily move around the icy plateaux. The heroes can't barricade themselves in caves because the Kolossus's arm is strong enough to break an iceberg, even if it has to strike several times (episode 94 "Fight to the Finish").
 

Appearances in episodes
 
Season 4:

#94 Fight to the Finish
#93 Down to Earth (Réplika)
#92 Cold Sweat (Réplika)
#84 Guided Missile
#82 Distant Memory
#80 Dog Day Afternoon
#76 The Lake

Season 3:

#61 Sabotage
#60 Temporary Insanity
#59 The Secret
#56 False Lead

Season 2:

#50 Contact
#48 Is Anybody Out There?
#45 Cold War
#44 Vertigo
#42 A Fine Mess
#41 Ultimatum
#38 Temptation
#37 Common Interest
#32 Saint Valentine's Day
#31 Mister Pück
#27 New order

Season 1:

#26 False Start
#24 Ghost Channel
#19 Frontier
#17 Amnesia
#09 Satellite
#08 End of Take
#07 Image Problem

Prequel:

XANA Awakens (parts 1&2)
 

Important events
 
Image

- In XANA Awakens, Aelita enters a Tower, types the Code Lyoko for the first time and remembers her name. It is also the location of Yumi's first virtualisation.
- Yumi, prisoner of Guardian in episode 7 "Image Problem".
- XANA creates a virtual bubble in episode 24 "Ghost Channel".
- Destruction of the Sector in episode 61 "Sabotage".
- Rebirth of the Sector in episode 67 "Double Take".
- William struggles against XANA's control in episode 76 "The Lake".
- New virtual bubble created by XANA and appearance of Franz Hopper in episode 82 "Distant Memory" to save Aelita.
- Appearance of the Kolossus on a Replika and salvaging of the William's codes stolen by XANA in episode 92 "Cold Sweat".
- Destruction of the Skidbladnir by the Kolossus and return of William to Earth in episode 93 "Down to Earth".
- Appearance of Franz Hopper to help the heroes finalise the anti-XANA program in episode 94 "Fight to the Finish". New appearance of the Kolossus and the monster's death.

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Edge of the Sector
Image
Way Tower

3D Map

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le territoire de la Banquise
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Vue du ciel] [Caractéristiques] [Particularités topologiques] [Monstres et Territoire de la banquise] [Episodes qui s'y déroulent] [Evènements importants qui s'y déroulent] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

Vue du ciel
 
Image
Le Territoire de la Banquise sur l'holomap
 

Caractéristiques
 
Température : -15°C

Climat : Polaire

Caractéristiques : Atmosphère nocturne

Humidité : Aucune

Description : Une ambiance nocturne et sombre pour un calme comparable à celui des grands froids hiémaux. L'hiver s'abat en permanence sur ce Territoire, pourtant la neige ne tombe jamais. Elle recouvre sans cesse le sol d'une fine couche, sol qui lui est constitué uniquement de glace éternelle ! (On constatera que dans la saison 1, des petites parties brunes de terre virtuelle s'esquissent parfois sous la glace. L'évolution du design après la saison 1 gommera cette anomalie).
Il est évident que tant de glace rend le sol glissant, pour les héros comme pour les monstres. Ces derniers gèrent plus ou moins bien cette donnée (bien que les Kankrelats rencontrent parfois du mal à se freiner). Les héros, eux, jugulent sans souci les dérapages, du moment qu'ils sont dans leur corps et pas celui d'un(e) camarade (comme Odd et Yumi dans l'épisode 42 « Désordre »).

Ainsi est la Banquise : De vastes plateaux de glace reliés par de longs sentiers, tout aussi gelés. Des montagnes de glaces sont très présentes, moins que dans le Territoire Montagne puisque aucune ne flotte au dessus du vide cependant les icebergs poussent partout sur les plateaux gelés de la banquise et avec eux, ils amènent d'autres surprises : grottes de glace somptueuses, cascades, rivières et tunnels !
La Banquise est de loin le Territoire où l'on trouve le plus d'eau !
 

Particularités topologiques
 
De nombreuses particularités font que la Banquise est un Territoire original et agréable à visiter. Certains combats que mènent nos héros dedans sont tout simplement uniques.

Si les sols du Désert, de la Montagne et de la Forêt sont très durs, le sol de la Banquise ne fait pas exception à une différence près : Il est fissible et cassable. Odd et Ulrich profitent donc de cette propriété peu commune dans l'épisode 38 « Tentation » lorsqu'ils fissurent le plateau où ils se trouvent en de multiples petits bouts de glace flottants sur lesquels il est très délicat de garder son équilibre. C'est donc une demi-douzaine de Tarentule que les deux Lyokô-guerriers envoient plonger sous l'eau !
Dans l'épisode 31 « Mister Pück », quatre Bloks se cachent sous la glace pour en faire une sortie remarquée.

Revenons aux éléments de décor peu communs des étendues glacées.
Les grottes tout d'abord. Elles créent souvent de nombreux soucis aux héros. Non pas parce qu'il y règne une température polaire mais parce que les tours y sont très bien dissimulées à l'image des épisodes 9 « Satellite » et 41 « Ultimatum ». Quand l'entrée est derrière une cascade gardée par des Tarentules, la tache n'en est que plus complexe.

Faisons un arrêt sur le mot cascade qui est lui-même intéressant. Dans le Territoire Banquise, l'eau tient une place importante ! En effet, elle est présente sous forme de mini lacs ou de cascades. Pourtant dans le monde virtuel impossible de s'y noyer pour un Lyokô-guerrier sachant nager. C'est pourquoi, Odd, dans l'épisode 44 « Vertige », fait un petit plongeon afin d'éviter deux Frôlions qui gardent l'entrée d'une grotte et secourt Aelita qui était dans les tentacules de la Méduse !
L'eau est plutôt bénéfique aux Lyokô-guerriers puisque les monstres ne savent pas nager. Si ces derniers chutent dans l'eau comme on le voit dans « Le réveil de XANA », il coulent et sont prisonniers des profondeurs marines...

Il ne faut pas confondre les vastes lacs qu'on trouve dans la Banquise avec la Mer Numérique. Pour les différencier, une manière est simple. La Mer Numérique gravite bien plus bas que les plateaux de la Banquise. L'eau des lacs est à hauteur des sentiers.

Dans le Réplika Banquise, cette fois-ci, un grand lac a aussi son niveau d'eau à la même hauteur que les plateaux et quand Jérémie enclenche le programme multi-agents, gelant la Mer Numérique pour emprisonner le Kolosse dans le lac, la glace unit l'espace d'un instant, toutes les plates-formes. (Episode 92 « Sueurs froides »).
L'épisode d'après (93 « Retour »), on voit bien que le niveau de la mer est plus bas au moment où la carcasse du Skid tombe de la plate-forme.

Enfin, viennent les éléments les plus comiques du Territoire Banquise : Ses tunnels ! Servant souvent à relier une plate forme à une autre, ce sont de longs chemins traversant les icebergs qui seraient parfaits pour une descente en luge !
On en trouve un peu partout à travers le Territoire Banquise et ils donnent toujours lieu à des courses poursuites pittoresques (Aelita poursuivie par un Frôlion, lui-même poursuivi par Yumi et Ulrich dans l'épisode 26 « Faux départ ») !
Seuls les Kankrelats et les Frelions peuvent s'introduire dans ces passages trop étroits pour les autres monstres. Les cafards virtuels ont d'ailleurs bien du mal à garder leur trajectoire. Les héros les traversent souvent en véhicule car c'est ce qu'il y a de plus pratique. Dès lors qu'ils en sont privés, il ne leur reste que deux options : Glisser tels des patineurs ou descendre sur les fesses !
Reste à noter que la sortie des tunnels débouche souvent sur une falaise et qu'il faut s'attendre à une bonne chute, suffisante par ailleurs pour détruire un Kankrelat !
C'est aussi une des raisons pour lesquelles ces tunnels nous ont bien fait rire.

Le Réplika ne signale aucune autre différence avec son modèle dans Lyoko. Il en est similaire.
 

Monstres et Territoire de la banquise
 
Un monstre qui se plait à ravir dans le Territoire Banquise est le Frelion. En effet, dans la saison 1, chaque fois que les héros se rendent dans la Banquise, ils y croisent presque toujours des escadrilles de ces monstres qui font pleuvoir une pluie de laser sur les étendues glacées du Territoire. Par conséquent, les Mantas sont aussi à leur aise sur ce territoire. C'est là qu'on les y a le plus souvent vues, en dehors de Carthage. Elles parcourent le ciel très rapidement, répandant rafales, mines explosives et désolation sur les mortels...

A l'inverse, les Mégatanks y apparaissent peu souvent, le sol devant être trop glissant pour leur permettre de rouler à grande vitesse en toute sécurité.

Pour contrecarrer ce sol affreusement instable, XANA envoie aussi volontiers les monstres dont les pattes sont agrippantes à savoir les Krabes et les Bloks ! Les petits Kankrelats, eux, partent « en live » comme de rien sur le sol congelé en permanence !

Les Tarentules sont présentes comme sur tout autre Territoire mais de quoi tenir de manière sûre au sol leur fait défaut et les héros en profitent dans l'épisode 38 « Tentation » quand Odd et Ulrich font glisser à tour de rôle les Tarentules dans l'eau en fissurant la calotte glacière en de multiples îlots de glace flottants et instables !

Image

Comme sur la Montagne, les vastes plateaux semble assez à l'avantage de William qui lance de fortes offensives frontales, coince les héros contre un iceberg (Episode 84 « Missile guidé »), use de sa Supersmoke à profusion (Episode 84 et 93 « Retour »).
La Banquise et ses Réplikas sont les seuls lieux où l'on ait assisté au combat contre le Kolosse. Le Monstre peut se déplacer sans difficulté sur les plateaux de la banquise. Les héros ne peuvent pas se barricader dans les grottes car le bras puissant du Kolosse suffit amplement à briser un iceberg, en frappant dessus à répétition (épisode 94 « Contre-attaque »).
 

Episodes qui s'y déroulent
 
Saison 4 :

#94 Contre-attaque
#93 Retour (Réplika)
#92 Sueurs froides (Réplika)
#84 Missile guidé
#82 Mémoire blanche
#80 Kiwodd
#76 Le lac

Saison 3 :

#61 Sabotage
#60 Tarentule au plafond
#59 Le secret
#56 Fausse Piste

Saison 2 :

#50 Contact
#48 Esprit Frappeur
#45 Guerre froide
#44 Vertige
#42 Désordre
#41 Ultimatum
#38 Tentation
#37 Intérêt commun
#32 Saint Valentin
#31 Mister Pück
#27 Nouvelle donne

Saison 1 :

#26 Faux départ
#24 Canal fantôme
#19 Frontière
#17 Mémoire morte
#09 Satellite
#08 Clap de fin
#07 Problème d'images

Genèse :

Le réveil de XANA (partie 1&2)
 

Evènements importants qui s'y déroulent
 
Image

- Dans le Réveil de XANA, Aelita rentre dans une tour, tape le Code Lyoko pour la première fois et se rappelle de son nom. C'est aussi le lieu de la première virtualisation de Yumi.
- Yumi, prisonnière d'un Gardien dans l'épisode 7 « Problème d'image ».
- XANA crée une bulle virtuelle dans l'épisode 24 « Canal Fantôme ».
- Destruction du Territoire dans l'épisode 61 « Sabotage ».
- Réapparition du Territoire dans l'épisode 67 « Mauvaise réplique ».
- William lutte contre l'emprise de XANA dans l'épisode 76 « Le lac ».
- Nouvelle bulle virtuelle par XANA et apparition de Franz Hopper dans l'épisode 82 « Mémoire blanche » pour sauver Aelita.
- Apparition du Kolosse sur un Réplika et récupération des codes de William volés par XANA, dans l'épisode 92 « Sueurs froides ».
- Destruction du Skidbladnir par le Kolosse et retour de William sur Terre dans l'épisode 93 « Retour ».
- Apparition de Franz Hopper pour aider les héros à finaliser le programme anti-XANA dans l'épisode 94 « Contre-attaque ». Nouvelle apparition du Kolosse et mort du monstre.

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Extrémité du Territoire
Image
Tour de passage

Carte 3D