Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

The Desert Sector
 
 [Back to homepage]

[View from the sky] [Characteristics] [Topological characteristics] [Monsters and the Desert Sector] [Appearances in episodes] [Important events] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

View from the sky
 
Image
The Desert Sector on the Holomap
 

Characteristics
 
Temperature: 35°C (95°F)

Climate: Desert

Brightness: Maximal

Characteristics: Very hot, as if the sun was always at its zenith... Very bright!

Humidity: None

Description: Just like any desert of this name, the Desert Sector is dry, yellow and sandy, anywhere you look. Its plateaux are rocks, covered by a fine sand which gets kicked up when vehicles and monsters travel across it.
Very big, upright rocks pierce the plateaux. As the horizon is generally flat, along with the towers, they are the most noticeable elements in the Sector, but we can find several typical landforms in the Desert, such as the oasis. Even around these rare pools, greenery is absent in the Desert!
 

Topological characteristics
 
The Desert Sector seems to be the vastest of Lyoko's Surface Sectors!
Indeed, in all other Surface Sectors, we find very long pathways which connect platforms to each other, only this Sector makes an exception. It is conversely constituted by very vast plateaux which are interconnected only by small bridges...

Its second peculiarity is that it is the Sector of Canyons and Pits! Indeed, in multiple places of the Desert are canyons that look like deep trenches which wind long distances in the Sector. They are very dangerous because Megatanks regularly circle around them, devirtualising anyone who doesn't run fast enough!
These rabbit holes are sometimes completely underground and lead to sorts of pits! We find two categories: those who don't have a floor and represent deadly wells towards the Digital Sea, and those that do! In the latter, we can sometimes find a tower (episode 1 "Teddygozilla").
When the heroes have their vehicles, they can easily move around and below these craters, but when on foot, they need to take a winding path. This is why these uncommon places also serve as a prison for Aelita and a stronghold for monsters. For the same reason, the monsters frequently try to destroy the heroes' vehicles in these canyons, forcing them to continue on foot (episode 40 "Attack of the Zombies").


In the Desert Replika (episode 83 "Hard Luck"), we find one of these canyons. It's very original seeing as the trench that cuts through it dotted with rocky columns that must be zig-zagged through. An aerial race between Aelita on the Overwing and Hornets takes place there.
Also on the Replika is a smattering of the same rocky elements on a plateau. In the same episode, Yumi confronts William, outwits him and manages to hit him twice, then squashing him by knocking a rocky column on top of him. The Desert Replika therefore presents some rather original elements.


Lyoko's Desert Sector has almost no decorative element, aside from the rocks scattered all over the Sector, excellent for using telekinesis on against Bloks (episode 5 "Big Bug") or even William (episode 69 "Wreck Room"). In certain areas, long, flat rocks are stuck into the ground at various angles. These places are of good use to both the heroes and monsters. They're ideal for confronting a flying adversary, and Odd proves it in episode 33 "Final Mix" as well as episode 69, in which he executes a remarkable trick with his Overboard to kill a Tarantula!

The paragraphs above and below reflect that the mostly flat, barren land is the major characteristic of the Yellow Sector.
 

Monsters and the Desert Sector
 
All monsters seem at ease in the Desert Sector. Indeed, if we were to make a board game out of it, it would incarnate much more basic features: vast, flat terrain, most of the time offering a clear view of everything with perfect visibility. Like the Ice Sector, this suits William, and his best performances were seen in this Sector. He defeats the heroes there on no less than three occasions: in episodes 67 "Double Take", 69 "Wreck Room", 86 "Canine Conundrum", and easily backs them into a corner in episode 75 "Hot Shower". The Replika's stone columns have disadvantaged him, as pointed out above.

So we see all monsters in the vast sandy expanses, even a Manta in episode 58 "The Pretender".
It's hard to establish an order of preference, but we can note that Bloks almost never appear there.
Kankrelats are very good at hiding themselves in the rare dynamic elements, while Megatanks and Tarantulas take advantage of the clear terrain to accost the heroes with their powerful laser fire. Hornets also know how to exploit the large surfaces, coming and going as they please, complicating life for the heroes.

Image

The only penalised monster is therefore the Scyphozoa, which appears the least within the virtual Sahara than in the other Sectors. It lacks hiding places from which to look out for Aelita!
 

Appearances in episodes
 
Season 4:

#86 Canine Conundrum
#85 Kadic Bombshell
#83 Hard Luck (Replika)
#81 A Lack of Goodwill (Replika)
#80 Dog Day Afternoon
#75 Hot Shower
#69 Wreck Room
#67 Double Take

Season 3:

#58 The Pretender
#57 Aelita

Season 2:

#49 Franz Hopper
#46 Déjà Vu
#43 XANA's Kiss
#40 Attack of the Zombies
#35 The Chips are Down
#33 Final Mix
#27 New Order

Season 1:

#22 Routine
#19 Frontier
#14 The Trap
#12 Swarming Attack
#11 Plagued
#05 Big Bug
#04 Log Book
#02 Seeing is Believing
#01 Teddygozilla
 

Important events
 
Image

- XANA creates a sand hurricane in the Sector during episode 4 "Log Book".
- Ulrich and Yumi's kiss in episode 22 "Routine".
- Discovery of the Tarantula and testing the vehicles in episode 27 "New Order".
- Destruction of the Sector during episode 58 "The Pretender".
- Reappearance of the Desert Sector. First appearance of new virtual outfits in episode 67 "Double Take".
- Discovery of a Desert Replika in episode 81 "A Lack of Goodwill".
- Destruction of the Replika in episode 83 "Hard Luck".

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Edge of the Sector
Image
Way Tower

3D map
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Le territoire du Désert
 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Vue du ciel] [Caractéristiques] [Particularités topologiques] [Monstres et Territoire du désert] [Episodes qui s'y déroulent] [Evénements importants] [Images]
 
 

ImageImage
ImageImage

Vue du ciel
 
Image
Le Territoire du Desert sur l'holomap
 

Caractéristiques
 
Température : 35 °C

Climat : Désertique

Luminosité : Maximale

Caractéristiques : Très chaud, comme si un soleil était toujours au zénith... Une forte luminosité !

Humidité : Aucune humidité

Description : Tout comme n'importe quel désert de ce nom, le territoire du désert est sec, jaune et sableux, à tous les points de vue. Ses plateaux sont de roches, recouverts par un sable fin qui se soulève au passage des véhicules et des monstres.
D'immenses rochers transpercent les plateaux à la verticale. Comme les paysages sont globalement dégagés, ils sont, avec les tours, des éléments très repérables du Territoire mais on peut trouver quelques éléments de reliefs typiques au Désert, comme les oasis. Même dans ses derniers, la verdure est absente du Désert !
 

Particularités topologiques
 
Le Territoire Désert semble être le Territoire le plus vaste de superficie !
En effet, dans tous les autres Territoires de Surface, on trouve de très longs chemins qui lient les plates-formes entre elles, seul ce Territoire fait exception. Il est inversement constitué de très vastes plateaux qui ne sont reliés entre eux que par de petits ponts...

Sa seconde particularité est qu'il est le Territoire des Canyons et des Fosses ! En effet, en de multiples endroits du Désert se trouvent des canyons qui ressemblent à de profondes tranchées qui sinuent sur de longues distances dans le Territoire. Ils sont très dangereux car les Mégatanks y circulent régulièrement, écrasant quiconque ne courrait pas assez vite !
Ces chemins de taupes sont parfois entièrement souterrains et font correspondre des espèces de fosses ! On en rencontre deux catégories : celles qui n'ont pas de fond et incarnent des puits mortels vers la mer numérique, d'autres qui en ont un ! Dans ces dernières, il arrive qu'on trouve une tour (Episode 1 « Teddygozilla »).
Quand les héros ont leurs véhicules, ils peuvent se déplacer sans souci dans et au-dessus de ces cratères mais, quand on est à pied, il faut emprunter un sentier en colimaçon. C'est la raison pour laquelle ces lieux peu communs servent aussi de prison pour Aelita et de bastion pour les monstres. Pour la même raison, les monstres essaient fréquemment de détruire les véhicules des héros dans ces canyons, pour forcer ces derniers à évoluer à pied (Episode 40 « Contagion »).


Dans le Réplika Désert (Episode 83 « Superstition »), on découvre un de ces canyons. Il est assez original vu que la tranchée qui le traverse est elle-même parsemée de colonnes rocheuses au milieu desquelles il faut zigzaguer. Il s'y tient une course aérienne entre Aelita en Overwing et des Frelions.
Ailleurs dans le Réplika, les mêmes éléments rocheux sont piqués sur un plateau. Dans le même épisode, Yumi y affronte William, l'y sème et parvient à l'atteindre deux fois puis à l'écraser en renversant une colonne rocheuse sur lui. Le Réplika Désert présente donc des éléments assez originaux.


Le Territoire du Désert de Lyoko n'abrite quasiment aucun élément de décor, si ce n'est des rochers éparpillés dans tout le Territoire, excellents pour utiliser la télékinésie contre les Bloks (Episode 5 « Big bogue ») ou même William (Episode 69 « Double foyer »). Dans certaines zones, de longs rochers plats sont plantés à la verticale ou l'oblique dans le sol. Ces endroits sont de très bonnes planques pour les héros comme pour les monstres. Ils sont idéals pour affronter un adversaire volant et Odd nous en donne une belle preuve dans l'épisode 33 « Mix Final » ou encore l'épisode 69 dans lequel il exécute une remarquable figure avec son Overboard pour tuer une Tarentule !

Le paragraphe ci-dessus et celui ci-dessous reflètent bien que le plan de vue ouvert est la caractéristique majeure du Territoire Jaune.
 

Monstres et Territoire du désert
 
Tous les monstres paraissent se sentir à l'aise dans le Territoire Désert. En effet, si on se place dans un jeu de plateau, il incarne un des décors les plus basiques : Terrain plat, vaste, la plupart du temps entièrement dégagé avec une visibilité parfaite. Comme pour la Banquise, cela sert William et ses meilleures performances ont lieu sur ce Territoire. Il y écrase (ni plus, ni moins) les héros dans les épisodes 67 « Mauvaise Réplique », 69 « Double foyer », 86 « Kiwi Superstar » et les tient en respect sans difficulté dans l'épisode 75 « Corps céleste ». Les colonnes de pierres du Réplika, elles, lui ont été défavorables comme précisé plus haut.

C'est donc tous les Monstres qu'on aperçoit dans les vastes étendues sablonneuses, même une Manta dans l'épisode 58 « Le prétendant ».
Dur d'établir un ordre de préférence, on peut uniquement remarquer que les Bloks n'y apparaissent quasiment jamais.
Les Kankrelats savent bien se dissimuler dans les rares éléments de relief, tandis que Mégatanks et Tarentules profitent du terrain dégagé pour arroser les héros de leur coups puissants. Les Frôlions savent aussi exploiter les grandes surfaces où ils vont et viennent à leur guise, compliquant la vie aux héros.

Image

Le seul monstre pénalisé est donc la Méduse qui apparaît moins dans le Sahara virtuel que dans les autres Territoires. Il faut reconnaître qu'elle manque de cachettes d'où guetter Aelita !
 

Episodes qui s'y déroulent
 
Saison 4 :

#86 Kiwi Superstar
#85 La belle de Kadic
#83 Superstition (Réplika)
#81 Œil pour œil (Réplika)
#80 Kiwodd
#75 Corps céleste
#69 Double foyer
#67 Mauvaise Réplique

Saison 3 :

#58 Le prétendant
#57 Aelita

Saison 2 :

#49 Franz Hopper
#46 Empreintes
#43 Mon meilleur ennemi
#40 Contagion
#35 Les jeux sont faits
#33 Mix final
#27 Nouvelle donne

Saison 1 :

#22 Routine
#19 Frontière
#14 Piège
#12 Attaque en piqué
#11 Enragés
#05 Big Bogue
#04 Carnet de bord
#02 Le voir pour le croire
#01 Teddygozilla
 

Evénements importants
 
Image

- XANA lève une tempête de sable sur le Territoire lors de l'épisode 4 « Carnet de bord ».
- Baiser d'Ulrich et Yumi dans l'épisode 22 « Routine ».
- Découverte de la Tarentule et essai des véhicules dans l'épisode 27 « Nouvelle Donne ».
- La destruction du Territoire à lieu lors de l'épisode 58 « Le prétendant ».
- Réapparition du Territoire Désert. Première apparition des nouvelles tenues virtuelles dans l'épisode 67 « Mauvaise réplique ».
- Découverte d'un Réplika Désert dans l'épisode 81 « Œil pour œil ».
- Destruction du Réplika dans l'épisode 83 « Superstition ».

Image
 

Images
 
Image
Extrémité du Territoire
Image
Tour de passage

Carte 3D
 

Image