Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Cortex
Image

 
 A new mysterious feature of the new series, the Cortex is the main novelty of the Virtual World in our heroes' new adventures. The main plot and central themes of the 26 episodes revolve around its discovery, its exploration and its new dangers.

This page examines this newcomer in the Virtual Universe.

[Back to homepage

[Story & general info] [The Ring of the Cortex] [The Dome and Core Chamber] [Appearances of the Sector]
 
 

Story & general info
 
The Cortex is a virtual world, like Lyoko and XANA's late Replikas. As such, it looks like an island drifting on the waters of the Worldwide Digital Network. Therefore, our heroes need their submarine, the Skidbladnir, in order to get there.

Image

The Cortex consists of the usual elements of a virtual world:
- An outer shell that protects the inside from the digital pressure of the Network. At the south pole of this shell, there is an entrance. You have to hack your way into the sphere, but the code is pretty obvious since it is a date: 25062003; the 25th of June 2003, when Tyron vanished into thin air.
- Inside of the hollow sphere, first, there is the Digital Sea. That is, the part of the Network that penetrated the Virtual World. Since there is no gas on Lyoko, the sky of the Cortex is made up of the digital void.
- At last, the Sector itself: the solid part of the virtual world. We will see that the Cortex Sector is unusual, and can be divided into several parts. It holds the essential Towers, data banks that link together the virtual world and Earth, which allows interactions between the two worlds.

Image

The Cortex has been running for quite some time, though it is impossible to know when it started. It certainly existed when the heroes tried to kill XANA with Jeremy's multi-agent program and when Franz Hopper...since XANA survived by hiding itself in the Cortex. It seems that the multi-agent program was unable to track it down there.

Little question: how come the heroes did not find the Cortex sooner? Quite simply, because the Worldwide Network is infinitely big. As long as they did not know where to look, their chances of coming across the Cortex were infinitesimal. The only reason why they could localise Tyron's world is that XANA's activity provided them with a signal that they could trace (episodes 01 and 02).

So, the Cortex was created by Tyron and his teams of scientists.
It is generated by a Supercomputer similar to that of our heroes, since Tyron built it using plans he had stolen from Hopper years ago; Jeremy finds this out in episode 06 “Suspicions”. However, between 2003 and 2013, time has flown and the two Supercomputers evolved differently.
Even so, Tyron's Supercomputer remains similar to Franz Hopper's, therefore the Cortex is greatly inspired by Lyoko. Tyron must have based his work upon Hopper's since there are some elements that are common to both worlds. First, we can notice that the sky of the Cortex has the same colour as that of the Desert Sector. The appearance of the Towers is strictly identical. But, above all, Aelita has the same powers on the two worlds. Hopper made Lyoko so that Aelita could be its Guardian, which allowed her to govern the virtual world. We see that the Code Lyoko works on the Towers activated by XANA on the Cortex as well as it does on Lyoko. Also, Aelita is the only one who is able to open the Iris, the door to get inside the Dome of the Cortex (see below).

Image

An interesting question that was not answered by the series, but that would have been interesting to develop, is whether the Code Lyoko would have worked on a Cortex Tower if it had been activated by Tyron. Or is this code only effective if it is used on Towers activated by XANA?

As for the Towers, we can wonder how powerful they are compared to those of Lyoko. Are they equally powerful? We know that the infancy of XANA's attacks in episode 01 “XANA 2.0” were launched from the Cortex...and they were not that impressive.
What's more, when Tyron activated a Tower in order to get enough power to generate the time loop of episode 24 “Temporal Paradox”, the Tower disappeared entirely in the end. Is it because there was not enough power for such an attack that the Tower was entirely “consumed”?
To sum it up, it is difficult to ascertain whether Tyron's Supercomputer is as powerful as Hopper's. If it is the case, it seems that the former associate of Aelita's father is unable to use it as efficiently.

In spite of their common points (identical sky and Towers, Aelita's special status), the Cortex and Lyoko are very different. First of all, this new Sector is not a copy of the ones on Lyoko, and that's a first. A detailed description is available below. Secondly, unlike a relatively completed Lyoko, the Cortex is still unstable and constantly evolving.


The reason why the Cortex comes into our heores' story is that XANA found shelter there.
To get rid of the artificial intelligence, they decide to destroy the Cortex. So in some way, Tyron is a victim. Unaware of XANA's presence in his system, he suffers intrusions from our heroes, who threaten all the work he has put into the Cortex. Initially, Tyron intended to use the Supercomputer for scientific purposes: it is a wonderful work tool for research in quantum mechanics.

Our heroes discover the Cortex and its activity between episodes 02 and 06. From episodez 08 to 18, they develop a virus to destroy the Supercomputer. The activation of the virus is delayed because they see Anthea (episode 18 “Tenacity”) and try to establish contact with Aelita's mother (episode 20 “Espionage”). Faced with XANA's increase in power, our heroes finally resign themselves to giving up their only way to communicate with Anthea, and they launch the virus (episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”).
To face this emergency, Tyron shuts down his computer, which prevents the virus from activating. The Cortex issue is in standby. The virtual world has disappeared and sleeps inside the Supercomputer. Unless he finds a way to defend it against the virus, Tyron cannot turn the machine back on.

Image
 

The Ring of the Cortex
 
When you enter the Cortex, the first part of the Sector that you see is the Ring; that is also where you land. Appearing as a vast collection of platforms floating above the void and forming a disc around the Dome, the ring is a unique Sector about which our heroes do not know anything yet. Its design looks futuristic, its colour is a metallic cyan, and it is a dangerous zone.

Image

Indeed, the Ring is made up of a great number of blocks soldered together. However, periodically, the region is shaken by earthquakes. A serious and dark noise then sounds throughout the whole Cortex and the Sector begins to move. When this happens, the Ring is entirely reconfigured. Blocks start moving in every direction, platforms dislocate: some rise, others fall right under your nose, others fly away under your feet; some roads get crushed between their walls.

This makes the travel very risky for a virtual avatar. The odds of ending up crushed under a block – or worse, falling into the Digital Sea (episode 12 “Chaos at Kadic”) are huge. Our heroes learn this the hard way from their first visit to the Cortex (episode 02 “Cortex”). Even the vehicles do not guarantee their survival.

To allow our Lyoko Warriors to cross the Ring in one piece, Jeremy develops a new vehicle: the Megapod (episode 04 “Miss Einstein”). Extremely fast and able to automatically adapt itself to the terrain's movement, it allows our heroes to fulfil their missions. Odd turns out to be the best pilot.
However, when they are deprived of the vehicle, our heroes find themselves resourceless. It should be noted that only William is not bothered by the seismic activity of the Cortex: his Supersmoke enables him to cross the Ring without trouble.

Image

The earthquakes are also a problem for XANA's monsters. The artificial intelligence adapted itself to its new environment and only uses special monsters to fight our heroes when they cross the Ring. First, Mantas (episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”). Since they fly, they do not have much to fear. On the ground, it uses Megatanks that can chase the Megapod and strike it at high speed. Or Tarantulas, that run fast behind the vehicle and can, most importantly, cling onto it, or climb on vertical surfaces.

What happens to the Towers during the earthquakes is unknown. Once they are near a Tower of in front of the iris door, the situation is more stable for our heroes, and for the monsters as well. Then, they can have a fair fight...or clean up the place by throwing the Megapod right into the enemies (episode 18 “Tenacity”).

At the end of the battle against Tyron, the scientist manages to modify the Cortex so that the quakes stop, which leaves us with a stabler and less dangerous Sector.
 

The Dome and Core Chamber
 
Image Image

The centre of Tyron's virtual world is, like Sector 5 in Lyoko, a big, hollow sphere.
The entrance is a big metallic door that nothing can force open, not even William's sword. It is only open during the Ring's earthquakes...or when Aelita uses her special abilities on it. Behind the Iris, a platform leads you to a teleporter that sends you to the Core, the Heart room.

There are several elements in this room. At the centre, the Heart of the Cortex.
All around it, semi-circular platforms float above the void. On one of them is the Cortex interface. This interface is the access point to Tyron's Supercomputer...and foremost to the whole computer system of his facilities.

Jeremy creates DMA peripheral cards. When our heroes insert them in the interface, it grants them complete access to it. So they can steal data (episodes 06 “Suspicions” and 14 “Instrusion”), spy on Tyron's laboratory using webcams (episode 18 “Tenacity”) and communicate with people in the lab (episode 20 “Espionage”). Most of all, they can install their own software to disable security or even infect the whole Supercomputer with a virus (episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”).

Image Image

Tyron can also watch what is going on inside this room. He can plan a videoconference with anyone inside, which allows him to communicate with our heroes (episode 16 “Confusion”).
Finally, this Heart room is the den of the Ninjas, the virtual avatars that Tyron sends to defend himself against intruders (episodes 08, 10, 14, 16, 18, 20). Our heroes learn to fight them with difficulty, in order to get to the interface.

The room is not exactly safe from the quakes of the Cortex. When these happen, the large columns that make up the walls of the room detach and brutally fall on the floating platforms, which jeopardises our heroes' avatars, threatening them with immediate devirtualisation (episode 06 “Suspicions”).

Image Image

The state of this room reflects that of the whole Cortex. When Tyron shuts down his Supercomputer (episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”), the light of the Heart flickers. The Ring is the first part to crumble, and the Dome is the last to disappear.
 

Appearances of the Sector
 
Appearances in episodes

#02 Cortex
#04 Miss Einstein
#06 Suspicions
#08 Virus
#10 The Warrior Awakens
#12 Chaos at Kadic
#14 Intrusion
#16 Confusion
#17 A Professional Career Guaranteed
#18 Tenacity
#20 Espionage
#22 Mutiny
#24 Temporal Paradox
#25 Massacre
#26 Ultimate Mission

Important events

ImageIn episode 02 “Cortex”, the heroes discover the Cortex and, inside, a photo of Franz Hopper.
ImageIn episode 04 “Miss Einstein”, first appearance of the Megapod.
ImageIn episode 08 “Virus”, first appearance of the Ninjas.
ImageIn episode 10 “The Warrior Awakens”, first appearance of Yumi's staff.
ImageIn episode 16 “Confusion”, XANA, blocked by one of Tyron's updates, attacks the man in the Core Chamber.
ImageIn episode 18 “Tenacity”, Aelita discovers that her mother, Anthea Hopper, is still alive.
ImageIn episode 20 “Espionage”, Aelita gets in contact with her mother and tells her that she's still alive.
ImageIn episode 22 “Mutiny”, William is captured by the Scyphozoa.
ImageIn episode 24 “Temporal Paradox”, Tyron traps Aelita, Odd and Ulrich in a time loop.
ImageIn episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”, the Cortex is infected with Jeremy's virus and dislocated.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Cortex
Image

 
 Nouvel élément nébuleux de la saison de Code Lyoko Evolution, le Cortex est la nouveauté majeure du Monde Virtuel dans ces nouvelles aventures des héros. Sa découverte, son exploration, ses dangers représentent l'une des intrigues principales et le fil conducteur majeur des 26 épisodes.

Sur cette page, on fait le tour de ce nouveau venu de l'Univers Virtuel.

[Retour à l'accueil]

[Histoire & généralités] [L'anneau du Cortex] [Le Dôme et la salle du Cœur] [Apparition du Territoire]
 
 

Histoire & généralités
 
Le Cortex est un monde virtuel, tout comme Lyoko et comme l'étaient les Réplikas de XANA. En bon monde virtuel, il est donc une île qui dérive dans les eaux Réseau Numérique Mondial. Les héros ont donc besoin de leur sous-marin, le Skidbladnir, pour s'y rendre.

Image

Il est composé des éléments traditionnels qui composent un monde virtuel :
- Une écorce qui protège l'intérieur de la pression numérique du Réseau. Au pôle Sud de cette écorce, un sas d'entrée, qu'il faut forcer. Le code est assez évident puisqu'il s'agit d'une date : 25062003 ; Le 25 juin 2003, date à laquelle Tyron a disparu de la situation.
- A l'intérieur de la sphère creuse, on trouve la Mer Numérique. Il s'agit de l'eau du Réseau qui a infiltré en partie le Monde Virtuel. Tout ce qui n'est pas aquatique est inexistant : C'est le vide numérique qui compose d'une certaine manière le ciel du Cortex.
- Et enfin, le Territoire en lui-même : Partie solide du monde virtuel. On le verra, le Territoire Cortex est atypique, divisé en plusieurs partie. Il abrite les essentielles Tours, banques de données qui relient le Monde Virtuel à la Terre et permettent les interactions.

Image

Le Cortex existe depuis bien longtemps. Impossible néanmoins de savoir quand. Il existait cependant quand les héros ont essayé de tuer XANA avec le programme multi-agents de Jérémie et Franz Hopper... puisque XANA a justement survécu en se dissimulant dans le Cortex. Il paraitrait que le programme multi-agents n'ait pas réussi à le suivre jusque là-bas.

Petite question : Pourquoi les héros n'ont jamais découvert le Cortex avant ? Tout simplement parce que le Réseau Numérique Mondial est infiniment grand. Tant qu'ils ne savaient pas où chercher, les chances des héros de tomber sur le Cortex étaient infinitésimales. S'ils ont pu repérer le monde de Tyron, c'est parce que l'activité de XANA leur a donné un signal à remonter (Episode 01 et 02).

Le Cortex a donc été conçu par Tyron et ses équipes.
Il est généré par un Supercalculateur relativement semblable à celui des héros puisque Tyron l'a élaboré grâce aux plans qu'il avait volés à Hopper dans le passé ; Jérémie le découvre dans l'épisode 06 « Soupçons ». Cependant, entre 2003 et 2013, le temps a coulé et les deux Supercalculateurs ont évolué dans des directions différentes.
Généré par un Supercalculateur identique, le Cortex est par conséquent en grande partie inspiré de Lyoko. Tyron a forcément repris la base de travail d'Hopper puisque certains éléments sont communs aux deux mondes. On remarque en premier lieu que le ciel a la même colorisation dans le Cortex que dans le Territoire Désert. Les Tours ont strictement la même apparence. Mais surtout, Aelita a des pouvoirs sur les deux mondes. Hopper avait fait de sa fille la gardienne de Lyoko, ce qui lui permettait d'interagir avec le monde virtuel. On constate que le code Lyoko fonctionne aussi bien sur les Tours de Cortex que celles de Lyoko quand XANA les active. Aelita est aussi la seule capable d'ouvrir l'iris, la porte d'entrée du Dôme du Cortex (cf ci-dessous).

Image

Un élément auquel nous n'avons pas eu la réponse mais qui aurait été intéressant de savoir : Le Code Lyoko aurait il fonctionné sur une Tour du Cortex activée par Tyron ? Ou bien ce code ne fonctionne-t-il systématiquement qu'avec les Tours activée par XANA ?

En ce qui concerne ces Tours, on peut se questionner sur le rapport de puissance avec celles de Lyoko. Sont elles aussi puissantes ? On sait que les premiers balbutiements des attaques de XANA dans l'épisode 01 « XANA 2.0 » ont été lancés depuis le Cortex... sans grand aboutissement.
De plus, quand Tyron a activé une Tour pour générer la puissante boucle temporelle de l'épisode 24 « Paradoxe Temporelle », la Tour a complètement disparu. Est-ce que le manque de puissance pour générer une telle attaque a fait que la Tour en a été complètement « consommée » ?
La question pour résumer cela est qu'il difficile de savoir si le Supercalculateur de Tyron est aussi puissant que celui de Hopper. Si c'est le cas, il semble que l'ex associé du père d'Aelita ne sache pas aussi bien s'en servir.

Malgré ses trois points communs (Ciel identique, Tours identiques, statut particulier d'Aelita), le Cortex est bien différent de Lyoko. Tout d'abord, c'est un Territoire qui n'est pas une copie de ceux de Lyoko, ce qui est une première. Une description détaillée est disponible plus bas. Enfin, contrairement à Lyoko qui est relativement abouti, Cortex est encore instable et en cours d'évolution.


Le Cortex entre donc dans l'histoire des héros car XANA y a trouvé refuge.
Pour se débarrasser de l'intelligence artificielle, ils optent pour la solution consistant à détruire le Cortex. D'une certaine manière, Tyron est donc une victime. Ignorant la présence de XANA sur sa machine, il subit des intrusions de la part des héros et une menace pour le travail qu'il a fourni sur le Cortex. A la base, Tyron fait une utilisation scientifique de son Supercalculateur. C'est un outil de travail pour la recherche sur la physique quantique.

Les héros découvrent le Cortex et son fonctionnement entre les épisodes 02 et 06. De l'épisode 08 à 18, ils élaborent un virus pour détruire le Supercalculateur. L'activation du virus est retardée à cause de la découverte d'Anthéa (Episode 18 « Obstination ») et les héros cherchent à entrer en contact avec la mère d'Aelita (Episode 20 « Espionnage »). Devant la montée en puissance de XANA, les héros décident finalement de renoncer à leur biais de communication avec Anthéa et enclenche le virus (Episode 26 « Ultime mission »).
Tyron éteint sa machine en urgence ce qui ne permet pas l'enclenchement du virus. La situation du Cortex est en standby. Le Monde Virtuel a disparu et dort à l'intérieur du Supercalculateur. Tyron ne peut pas la rallumer, sauf s'il trouve un moyen de contrer le virus.

Image
 

L'anneau du Cortex
 
Quand on s'y invite, la première partie du Cortex sur laquelle on atterrit est l'Anneau. Vaste agglomérat de plates-formes disposées de manière circulaire autour du Dôme et flottant au dessus du vide, l'anneau est un Territoire unique que les héros ne connaissait pas. D'un design futuriste, avec sa colorisation bleu/vert métallique, c'est une zone de danger.

Image

En effet, l'Anneau est composé d'un grand nombre de bloques, soudées les uns aux autres. Cependant, à intervalle régulier, la zone est parcourue de secousses sismiques. Un grand coup de cor résonne dans tous le Cortex et le Territoire se met en mouvement. Lorsque cela arrive, l'intégralité de l'Anneau se recompose. Les bloques se mettent à bouger dans tous les sens. Les plates-formes se disloquent. Certaines s'envolent vers les hauteurs ou tombent sous votre nez. D'autres se dérobent sous vos pieds. Certains passages se ferment sur eux-mêmes.

Ainsi, cela rend la navigation très périlleuse pour un avatar virtuel. Les chances de finir broyé sous un bloque, ou, pire, de chuter dans la Mer Numérique (Episode 12 « Chaos à Kadic ») sont énormes. Les héros en font les frais dès leur première visite du Cortex (Episode 02 « Cortex »). Même les véhicules ne garantissent pas la survie.

Pour permettre aux Lyoko-guerriers de traverser l'Anneau en un seul morceau, Jérémie conçoit un nouveau véhicule : Le Megapode (Episode 04 « Madame Einstein »). Extrêmement rapide et réagissant instinctivement aux modifications topologiques du Cortex, il permet aux héros d'accomplir leur mission. Odd en reste le meilleur pilote.
Cependant, en l'absence du véhicule, les héros se retrouvent démunis. Notons que seul William n'est pas trop inquiété par la nature sismique du Cortex : Sa Supersmoke lui permet de traverser l'Anneau sans encombre.

Image

Les secousses sont également un problème pour les monstres de XANA. L'intelligence artificielle s'est adaptée et n'emploie que certains monstres particuliers quand les héros traversent l'anneau. Il y a tout d'abord les Mantas (Episode 26 « Ultime mission »). Comme elles volent, elles ne craignent pas grand-chose. Sur Terre, il emploie les Mégatanks qui peuvent tenir la distance avec le Skid et le percuter à grande vitesse. Ou alors les Tarentules, qui courent à grande vitesse derrière le bolide et qui peuvent surtout s'y agripper ou encore escalader les parois verticales.

On ne sait pas ce qu'il advient des Tours durant les secousses. Une fois autour d'une Tour ou devant l'Iris, la situation est plus stable pour les héros comme les monstres. Ils peuvent alors combattre à la régulière... ou alors dégager la place en balançant le Megapode à corps perdu (Episode 18 « Obstination »).

A la toute fin du conflit contre Tyron, celui-ci fait évoluer le Cortex et les secousses s'arrêtent, laissant un Territoire plus stable et moins dangereux.
 

Le Dôme et la salle du Cœur
 
Image Image

Le centre du Monde Virtuel Cortex est, comme le 5ème Territoire sur Lyoko, une grosse sphère creuse.
L'entrée est une grosse porte métallique que rien ne peut f aire céder, pas même l'épée de William. Elle ne s'ouvre que lors des secousses sismiques de l'Anneau... ou quand Aelita enclenche l'ouverture. Passé cet iris, une plate-forme s'avance au dessus du vide jusqu'à un téléporteur qui emmène dans le Noyau, la salle du Cœur.

Cette salle comporte plusieurs éléments. En son centre, le cœur du Cortex.
Tout autour, des plates-formes semi-circulaires flottent au dessus du vide. L'une d'elle abrite l'interface du Cortex. Cette interface est la porte d'accès au Supercalculateur de Tyron... et surtout à l'intégralité du système informatique de son complexe.

Jérémie développe des cartes périphériques DMA. Quand les héros les insèrent, cela leur donne un accès à tout cela. Ils peuvent donc voler des données (Episode 06 « Soupçons » & 14 « Intrusion »), espionner le laboratoire de Tyron via les webcams (Episode 18 « Obstination ») et communiquer avec (Episode 20 « Espionnage »). Ils peuvent enfin et surtout installer des logiciels-pirates pour neutraliser les sécurités ou même virusser l'intégralité du Supercalculateur (Episode 26 « Ultime mission »).

Image Image

Tyron peut lui aussi surveiller ce qui se passe à l'intérieur de cette salle. Il a la possibilité d'y parler en vidéoconférence, ce qui lui permet de communiquer avec les héros (Episode 16 « Confusion »).
Cette salle du cœur est avant tout le repère des Ninjas, les avatars virtuels que Tyron envoie pour la défendre (Episode 08, 10, 14, 16, 18, 20). Les héros apprendront difficilement à les affronter pour maintenir leur accès à l'interface du Cortex.

La salle n'est pas à l'abri des secousses du Cortex. Quand cela se produit, les grande colonnes qui composent les murs de la salle se détachent et viennent violemment percuter les plates-formes, menaçant les héros d'une dévirtualisation directe (Episode 06 « Soupçons »).

Image Image

Enfin, cette salle est le reflet du Cortex. Quand Tyron éteint sur Supercalculateur (Episode 26 « Ultime mission »), la lumière du Cœur vacille. L'extérieur du Dôme de disloque en premier et le Dôme est la dernière partie à disparaitre.
 

Apparition du Territoire
 
Episodes d'apparition

#02 Cortex
#04 Madame Einstein
#06 Soupçons
#08 Virus
#10 Le réveil du guerrier
#12 Chaos à Kadic
#14 Intrusion
#16 Confusion
#17 Un avenir professionnel assuré
#18 Obstination
#20 Espionnage
#22 Mutinerie
#24 Paradoxe temporel
#25 Hécatombe
#26 Ultime mission

Evènements importants

ImageDans l'épisode 02 « Cortex », les héros découvrent le Cortex et une photo de Franz Hopper en son sein.
ImageDans l'épisode 04 « Madame Einstein », première apparition du Megapode.
ImageDans l'épisode 08 « Virus », première apparition des Ninjas.
ImageDans l'épisode 10 « Le réveil du guerrier », première apparition du bâton de Yumi.
ImageDans l'épisode 16 « Confusion », XANA, bloqué par une mise à jour de Tyron, attaque ce dernier dans la salle du Coeur.
ImageDans l'épisode 18 « Obstination », Aelita découvre que sa mère, Anthéa Hopper, est toujours en vie.
ImageDans l'épisode 20 « Espionnage », Aelita entre en contact avec sa mère et lui apprend qu'elle est toujours en vie.
ImageDans l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie », William est attrapé par la Méduse.
ImageDans l'épisode 24 « Paradoxe temporel », Tyron enferme Aelita, Odd et Ulrich dans une boucle temporelle.
ImageDans l'épisode 26 « Ultime mission », virussage et dislocation du Cortex.