Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Jim Morales
Image

 
 [Back to homepage]

[Characteristics and story] [Character and behaviour] [Appearances in episodes] [Actor] [Gallery]
 
 

Characteristics and story
 
Image"Exactly, Della Robbia! PHYSICAL work! You see in front of you the new Kadic cross country course! Cross through the arches, climb staircase A, go down staircase B, jump some benches, I could go on. And the best parts...
Meet up after lunch, and eat lightly!"

#22 Mutiny

An imposing and loud person, Jim is the icon of Kadic Academy. This adult is an essential component in the lives of Kadic's students, and it would be surprising if any student went a whole day without crossing paths with Jim Morales.

Jim, first of all, is the sport teacher at Kadic. He is really attached to his discipline, and puts the heroes to sleep with his long and grandiloquent speeches about the importance of sport. He teaches many different sports to his students: high jump, skipping, and...handstands, as well as the usual warm-up exercises.

As well as this, Jim also manages the sporting clubs at Kadic. He's Ulrich's coach and supports him during the inter-school competition (episode 10 “The Warrior Awakens”). We discover at this moment that Jim himself is a good athlete. In episode 15 “The Codeless”, he mistakes XANA's spectre for someone who plays sports and wants to recruit it for one of his clubs, after having seen it run after Odd.

However, education is but a small element in the list of Jim's functions.
He is also Kadic's general supervisor. We can see him on the lookout in the playground, watching every misdeed performed by a student. He's also the one who gives hours of detention to students who are out-of-bounds, like the storeroom in the cafeteria (episode 02 “Cortex”), or reprimands students who fight with each other (like Odd and...a spectre in episode 03 “Spectromania”).
We also note that Jim has his own dorm room at the school (episode 10 “The Warrior Awakens”). This is where he winds down and caters to his passion for animal documentaries. Jim probably sleeps at Kadic, given that we see him in the park at early hours, doing gymnastics (episode 11 “Rendezvous”). Finally, he's the one who monitors Kadic's front gate, and filters the leaving boarders and non-boarding students (episode 07 “Countdown”).

Jim is also the housekeeper. We understand that he's the one who receives mail orders (episode 12 “Chaos at Kadic”). He also manages catering: he gets out the equipment for the dance organised by Yumi in episode 06 “Suspicions”. Moreover, he's sometimes the principal's courier. He's the one who fetches students when their parents are visiting (like when he tells Odd that his father is at the school in episode 12 “Chaos at Kadic”) or when he brings Jeremy and Laura to Graven so they can take their aptitude tests (episode 17 “A Professional Career Guaranteed”).

Jim also does maintenance. He changes fuses that have been blown by XANA, in episode 01 “XANA 2.0”. We note at this moment that working with electricity is not his strong point.

So, he's a very multi-talented employee. Because he's omnipresent, Jim sometimes has to face XANA, without really knowing it. In episode 01 “XANA 2.0”, his own spectre appears in front of him, and knocks him out with an electrical discharge. Sometimes, he meets a spectre (like the year six kid in episode 03 “Spectromania”) without even knowing what it is. He even encourages William's spectre to run faster after Ulrich (episode 05 “Rivalry”). In case of problems, the return to the past sometimes saves the teacher.

He is also involved in the complicated events between Tyron, the principal and Aelita in episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”. But his role remains secondary as he refuses to pursue Aelita when Tyron instructs him to.
 

Character and behaviour
 
"I'm warning you, you'd better keep it down today! I didn't sleep at all last night because of a mouse or a mongoose, and... I'd rather not talk about it. I'm in a bad mood."
#24 Temporal Paradox
Image

Jim is a...special character.
First of all, he doesn't know a lot about technology. He doesn't know what watts are, and pronounces the “g” in “geek” incorrectly. And, to him, a CD player is a mouth that swallows the CD (episode 01 “XANA 2.0”).
He often acts in a ridiculous manner, either by speaking nonsense...or practising absurd katas. This is why Jim surprises us sometimes when he finally puts his principles into practice.

It seems that Jim has fabricated a whole past life, and we don't know if it's true or just a lie...because he would “rather not talk about it”. At one point he says that he followed the famous Rolling Stones on their tour (episode 06 “Suspicions”).

Despite this ridiculous aspect, Jim is feared by the students. He is tenacious, and even spiteful. His punishments are sometimes very harsh, or clearly blown out of proportion. He doesn't have a problem with giving them out when any student does something they shouldn't have (episode 02 “Cortex”). So, nobody tries to fight his authority...except for our heroes when they know a return to the past will save them from a bad situation (episode 24 “Temporal Paradox”). And it's for the best, because Jim is hot-tempered, and doesn't hesitate to pursue a student when necessary. Odd, as usual, likes to torment the teacher.

Being the sports teacher, Jim takes things very seriously. He is a little sarcastic: the more the students have trouble following his instructions, the happier he is. He proves this with his large Kadic cross country course in episode 22 “Mutiny”.

Nevertheless, Jim is kind. He worries a lot about students when they're feeling down, for example the Aelita clone that's as reactive as a slug (episode 20 “Espionage”), or Odd, allegedly overworked in episode 07 “Countdown”. On this occasion, he goes to Delmas' office with Yumi in order to help the students.
We also notice that he can be softened by the frivolous relationship between Ulrich and Yumi. He likes to surprise them and then excuse himself with a little smirk (episodes 01 and 09 “How to Fool XANA”).
We discover a very emotional Jim when Ulrich comes to thank him for his coaching after having won the karate competition in episode 10.

To conclude, despite his haughty attitude, his ridiculous gestures, his penchant for physical effort and his big mouth, Jim is an appreciable man, especially for the heroes.
 

Appearances in episodes
 
Image
"I don't believe it... Jim's doing tai chi."

#11 Rendezvous

Jim is the only secondary character credited alongside the heroes in the opening credits. And we notice that, even if they are often shorter, he has a larger number of appearances than Laura. He appears in all the following episodes:

Image
#01 - XANA 2.0
Image
#02 - Cortex
Image
#03 - Spectromania
Image
#05 - Rivalry
Image
#06 - Suspicions
Image
#07 - Countdown
Image
#09 - How to Fool XANA
Image
#10 - The Warrior Awakens
Image
#11 - Rendezvous
Image
#12 - Chaos at Kadic
Image
#13 - Friday the 13th
Image
#15 - The Codeless
Image
#17 - A Professional Career Guaranteed
Image
#18 - Tenacity
Image
#19 - The Trap
Image
#20 - Espionage
Image
#21 - False Pretences
Image
#22 - Mutiny
Image
#24 - Temporal Paradox
Image
#26 - Ultimate Mission


An hilarious short-movie about Jim's sticking-plaster ! Enjoy !

Image
BONUS - Jim's sticking-plaster
 

Actor
 
ImageThe actor portraying Jim Morales in Code Lyoko Evolution is Bastien Thelliez. Click on the picture to access his page!
 

Gallery
 



> Accéder à la galerie complète !
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Jim Moralès
Image

 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Caractéristiques et histoire] [Caractère et comportement] [Episodes d'intervention] [Acteur] [Galerie d'images du personnage]
 
 

Caractéristiques et histoire
 
Image« Exactement Della Robbia, des travaux physiques ! Vous avez devant vous le nouveau parcours de cross de Kadic. Traversée des arcades, montée de l'escalier A, descente par le B, quelques sauts de bancs. J'en passe et des meilleures...
Rendez-vous après le déjeuner, mangez léger ! »

#22 Mutinerie

Hurluberlu imposant et bruyant, Jim est l'icône du collège Kadic. Cet adulte est une composante essentielle de la vie des élèves de Kadic et il est peu probable qu'un élève ne passe ne serait-ce qu'une journée sans croiser les pas de Jim Moralès.

Jim est tout d'abord le professeur de sport du collège Kadic. Il porte sa discipline aux nues et endort sans cesse les héros avec de grands discours grandiloquents sur la finalité du sport. Les sports qu'il inculque à ses élèves sont multiples allant du saut en hauteur à la corde en passant par... le poirier et les habituels exercices d'échauffement physique.

Simultanément à cette fonction, Jim gère aussi les clubs de sport de Kadic. Il est le coach d'Ulrich et le supporte durant la compétition interlycéenne (Episode 10 « Le Réveil du guerrier »). On découvre à cette occasion que Jim est lui-même un valeureux athlète. Dans l'épisode 15 « Les sans-codes », il prend le spectre de XANA pour un sportif et veut le recruter pour l'un de ses clubs, après l'avoir vu courir après Odd.

Cependant, l'enseignement n'est qu'un bref élément des fonctions de Jim.
Il est également surveillant général de Kadic. On le croise souvent à l'affût dans le cours, guettant toute fraude de la part d'un élève. C'est ainsi lui qui distribue les heures de colle aux jeunes qui approchent des zones interdites comme la réserve du self (Episode 02 « Cortex ») ou alors qui réprimande les élèves qui se chamaillent (comme Odd et... un spectre dans l'épisode 03 « Spectromania »).
On remarque d'ailleurs que Jim dispose de sa propre loge au lycée (Episode 10 « Le réveil du guerrier »). Il y prend le repos et se passionne pour les documentaires animaliers. Jim dort probablement à Kadic, étant donné qu'on le retrouve aux aurores dans le parc, faisant sa gymnastique (Episode 11 « Rendez-vous »). C'est enfin lui qui surveille le portail de Kadic et fait le filtre des sorties entre les internes et les externes (Episode 07 « Compte-à-rebours »).

Jim est aussi un peu la maîtresse de maison. On se rend compte que c'est lui qui réceptionne les commandes (Episode 12 « Chaos à Kadic »). Il gère également l'intendance : Il sort le matériel pour la soirée de Yumi dans l'épisode 06 « Soupçons ». De fait, il remplit parfois le rôle de coursier du directeur. C'est lui qui va chercher les élèves quand leurs parents sont en visite (Comme lorsqu'il prévient Odd de la présence de son père dans l'épisode 12 « Chaos à Kadic ») ou encore qu'il amène Jérémie et Laura jusqu'à Graven pour qu'ils passent leur test d'aptitude (Episode 17 « Un avenir professionnel assuré »).

Jim est enfin homme d'entretien. C'est lui qui change les fusibles grillés par XANA dans l'épisode 01 « XANA 2.0 ». On constate à cette occasion en revanche que l'électricité est loin d'être son point fort.

Un employé par conséquent des plus polyvalents. De par cet omniprésence, Jim se retrouve parfois confronté, sans trop le savoir, à XANA. Dans l'épisode 01 « XANA 2.0 », son propre spectre apparait devant lui et l'assomme avec une décharge. Il lui est sinon souvent arrivé de croiser des spectres (comme le petit sixième de l'épisode 03 « Spectromania ») sans même le savoir. Il encourage même le spectre de William à courir plus vite après Ulrich (Episode 05 « Rivalité »). En cas de problème, le retour dans le temps ménage le surveillant.

Il est aussi mêlé dans l'imbroglio entre Tyron, le directeur et Aelita dans l'épisode 26 « Ultime mission ». Mais son rôle reste secondaire puisqu'il refuse de poursuivre Aelita quand Tyron lui ordonne.
 

Caractère et comportement
 
« Bon, je vous préviens, va falloir vous tenir à carreau aujourd'hui. Je n'ai pas fermé l'oeil de la nuit à cause d'une souris ou d'une mangouste et... Je préfère ne pas en parler. Je suis de mauvais poil. »
#24 Paradoxe temporel
Image

Jim a un caractère... spécial.
Remarquons tout d'abord qu'il est complètement « archaïque », face à la technologie. Il ignore ce que sont les watts, prononce le mot « geek » à la française : [jik]. Enfin, pour lui, un lecteur CD est une bouche qui avale le CD (Episode 01 « XANA 2.0 »).
Il se couvre souvent de ridicule, soit en se perdant dans ses propres phrases... soit en pratiquant des katas ridicules. C'est aussi la raison pour laquelle Jim surprend parfois, lorsqu'il met enfin ses grands principes en application.

Jim semble par ailleurs s'être inventé tout une vie passée dont on ignore si elle est vraie ou fausse... puisqu' « il préfère ne pas en parler ». Il aurait notamment suivi les célébrissimes Rolling Stones en tournée (Episode 06 « Soupçons »).

Malgré cet aspect ridicule, Jim est craint et redouté chez les élèves. Il est en effet tenace voire rancunier. Ses punitions sont très souvent sévères voire clairement démesurées. Il n'a pas de difficultés à les distribuer à tour-de-bras à tout élève commettant un faux pas (Episode 02 « Cortex »). Aussi, personne n'ose s'élever contre son autorité... sauf nos héros quand ils savent qu'un retour vers le passé cyclique va leur sauver la mise (Episode 24 « Paradoxe temporel »). Il vau mieux, car Jim est quelqu'un d'emporté qui n'hésite pas à poursuivre un élève s'il le faut. Odd, comme à son habitude, aime bien faire criser le surveillant.

En tant que professeur de sport, Jim se prend extrêmement au sérieux. Il est un tantinet sadique : Plus les élèves en bavent à suivre ses instructions, plus il est heureux. Il le prouve avec son grand cross de Kadic de l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie ».

Néanmoins, Jim est bienveillant. Il s'inquiète beaucoup pour les élèves qui se portent mal, que ce soit le clone d'Aelita aussi réactif qu'une limace (Episode 20 « Espionnage »), ou Odd, prétendument en surcharge de travail dans l'épisode 07 « Compte-à-rebours ». A cette occasion, il monte au créneau chez Delmas avec Yumi pour prendre le parti des élèves.
On remarque aussi qu'il se laisse attendrir par la relation frivole entre Yumi et Ulrich. Il aime les surprendre et s'en excuser avec un petit sourire en coin (Episode 01 et 09 « Comment tromper XANA »).
On découvre un Jim très ému quand Ulrich vient le remercier de son coaching après avoir gagné la compétition de karaté de l'épisode 10.

Pour conclure, malgré ses airs hautains, ses gestes ridicules, son penchant pour l'effort physique et sa « grande-gueule », Jim est un individu appréciable et apprécié des héros.
 

Episodes d'intervention
 
Image
« Nan mais j'y crois pas... Jim qui fait du tai-chi »

#11 Rendez-vous

Jim est le seul personnage "Secondaire" crédité au côté des héros au générique d'ouverture. On remarque par ailleurs que même si elles sont souvent plus brèves, il a un plus grand nombre d'apparition que Laura. Il apparait dans tous les épisodes suivants :

Image
#01 - XANA 2.0
Image
#02 - Cortex
Image
#03 - Spectromania
Image
#05 - Rivalité
Image
#06 - Soupçons
Image
#07 - Compte-à-rebours
Image
#09 - Comment tromper XANA
Image
#10 - Le réveil du guerrier
Image
#11 - Rendez-vous
Image
#12 - Chaos à kadic
Image
#13 - Vendredi 13
Image
#15 - Les sans-codes
Image
#17 - Un avenir professionnel assuré
Image
#18 - Obstination
Image
#19 - Le piège
Image
#20 - Espionnage
Image
#21 - Faux-semblants
Image
#22 - Mutinerie
Image
#24 - Paradoxe temporel
Image
#26 - Ultime mission


Par ailleurs, un bonus lui a été intégralement consacré. Découvert des mois après la fin de la série, ce court-métrage, un vrai bijou, revient sur un des plus grands mystère de la série : Pourquoi Jim a-t-il éternellement un pansement sur la joue gauche ?

Image
BONUS - Le pansement de Jim
 

Acteur
 
ImageL'acteur incarnant et doublant Jim dans Code Lyoko Evolution est Bastien Thelliez. Clique sur l'image pour accéder à sa page !
 

Galerie d'images du personnage
 
Retrouvez des images de Tyron à travers la galerie des personnages secondaires.




> Accéder à la galerie complète !
 

Image