Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

William Dunbar
Image

 
 [Back to homepage]

[Characteristics] [Character and behaviour] [On the virtual world] [Story] [Actor] [Gallery]
 
 

Characteristics
 
Image"You can't give up on this girl, Odd. Look at me, I never lost hope with Yumi. (...) You know, I don't believe in already lost causes. Listen to me, Odd. As long as there is hope, you have to hold onto it."

#16 Confusion

Tall and slender with an angel face, a dark and mysterious air, a deep look in his eyes... William Dunbar is what is commonly known as a hot guy! But William only seems interested in Yumi.
His impenetrable air doesn't stop William from also being a welcoming and friendly teenager. But he's not much of a normal teen, since he shares the Lyoko Warriors' secret, about XANA and the responsibilities entailed.

Unlike the other heroes who quite peacefully hold the secret of their past lives as saviours of humanity, William did not come out from this double life unscathed because he was under XANA's control for several months. This also earned him a tacit animosity from Odd, Ulrich, Jeremy and Aelita. Only Yumi does not seem to have relationship problems with him at the start of Evolution.

In terms of schooling, William seems to have become particularly studious. We often seem him working with Yumi on presentations or other things (episode 05 “Rivalry”). We also learn that he is taking English tutoring. Finally, he seems to be a fan of literature. He offers Yumi a book of poems by Baudelaire in episode 22 “Mutiny”.

William seems to have some mechanical knowledge, as he fixes a damaged scanner (episode 19 “The Trap”).

Final point of trivia. William is the only hero of our group of six to not appear in an episode of Code Lyoko Evolution: episode 03 “Spectromania”. Also note that he only makes a brief figurative appearance in episode 01 “XANA 2.0” and he does not get a photo representation like the other heroes and Jim.
 

Character and behaviour
 
"William is really sensitive, and highly-strung... It's not easy to know what he's thinking."

#22 Mutiny
Image

If you go by appearances, William is, as previously stated, tall, dark and handsome. Silent, distant, William's thoughts are often hard to determine, even for his close friends.

The teenager is revealed to have a slightly abrupt character. He is often on edge. Evidently, his unhappiness was due to the rejection he suffered from the Lyoko Warriors following their previous adventures. He therefore argues with the group on two occasions (episodes 02 “Cortex” and 04 “Miss Einstein”), because he is forgotten by them when XANA returns.

Even after his reintegration into the group, William's resentment stays strong. It remains buried within him and ferments. We then discover a William who immediately becomes hostile towards Yumi in episode 15 “The Codeless”. XANA tries to manipulate him with a clone of himself on this occasion. Losing his way a little and blinded by bitterness, William turns against his friends for a moment before coming to his senses.
Of course, Yumi is one little cornerstone of this resentment. While she didn't leave William on the sidelines, in ignoring the boy's feelings for her, she unknowingly puts a strain on his sense of morality... But William is sentimental. This makes him suddenly irritable and he reacts badly to Odd's outbursts or Yumi's rejection.

He betrays the Lyoko Warriors a second time. In episode 22 “Mutiny”, manipulated by Laura, he lets himself be roped into a solo mission on Lyoko to go destroy the Cortex. The mission goes wrong. We can nevertheless clearly take William's attempt as a desperate gesture to get the group's attention and obtain their approval.
However William isn't thick-headed, as following these two flops, he apologises sincerely to the group, and they gladly forgive him.

In battle, William is determined and a bit of a nagger. As a general rule, he likes action. He is therefore vexed when he is put on the sidelines in episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”.

As well as some of his more sharp and visceral reactions, William can also show himself to be someone who enjoys life. He is enthusiastic and likes to joke, like with his famous line “Mind if I smoke?” before shooting off as Supersmoke.
However, William's humour appears to be a lot more limited when the jokes come from other people. He gets easily annoyed at jokes about him. He also gives Odd a mocking smile when the boy says they will have to team up (episode 11 “Rendezvous”). He also rebelled against the nickname “Will” that Odd gives him in episode 26 “Ultimate Mission”.

William also has a proven taste for competition.
His outsider is of course Ulrich, with whom he competes both in real life (for Yumi's heart) and on Lyoko. This rivalry reached its peak at the time of William's reinstatement into the group. Ulrich had a nervous breakdown and tried to resolve the situation alone on Lyoko. William returns to his little competitive game and eventually saves the karateka's day on Lyoko (episode 05 “Rivalry”). We also discovered a very confident William at the same time.

This competitive spirit is found to a lesser extent with Odd, whose “philosophical” considerations he doesn't support (episode 11 “Rendezvous”).

When it comes to human relations, William is not as close to Jeremy and Aelita than the others. At least, he flanks them the least often. On the other hand, the member of the group he appears to be least open to is Laura.
Indeed, he shows to be incapable of stopping her from going to the factory in episode 08 “Virus”, He has never shown to be outwardly hostile about her presence in the group and he accompanies her on her last stand in episode 22 “Mutiny”. During this period, he even draws Laura's attention to the consequences her behaviour would have on her being in the group. In the end, he remains silent during the blonde's exclusion.
This tacit sympathy is due to the fact that Laura is in a more or less similar situation to William's.

In terms of love, William's situation is very ambiguous. He's still in love with Yumi and he doesn't hide it, like when he declares so in episode 09 “How to Fool XANA”, saying he never lost hope. He also shows to be slightly seductive towards the Japanese girl in episode 01 “XANA 2.0” and tries to give her love poems by Baudelaire (episode 22).

However, William seems to have backed down a little, since he never expressed his feelings directly to Yumi as he had done in the past. He even invites Ulrich to support the girl in a moment of weakness (episode 06 “Suspicions”).
 

On the virtual world
 
Image
"No, I have something better than that. I think I kept a little souvenir from my time with XANA..."

#02 Cortex

In the video game universe, William is what we could call a tank.
He is pretty straightforward in nature and doesn't excel in the art of strategy. William likes to think that everything can be resolved by force... So William always quickly draws his sword, even to attack the Iris of the Cortex (episode 02 “Cortex”) or the sphere generating the space-time warp (episode 24 “Temporal Paradox”).
In the heat of the action, he doesn't hesitate to throw Odd towards the tower so he can deactivate it (episode 11 “Rendezvous”).

However William has some good assets:
His sword, long and powerful, is a formidable weapon, Easy to handle, William can use it in any circumstance to hit monsters or block their shots. As a bonus, he can make it appear or disappear at will. He can also throw it (episode 09 “How to Fool XANA”).

The dark warrior also has amazing strength, which allows him to send XANA's monsters flying (like the Blok in episode 9), as well as his own allies.

Of course, what makes him stand out is still his two powers.
The first is the most important: Supersmoke. Granted to him by XANA, it allows William to change into invulnerable virtual smoke. This allows him to move at high speed, without a vehicle, to reach inaccessible places by flying, force his way through barrages of monsters, or to retreat.
With such power, William has a range of unique benefits. He isn't afraid of falling towards the Digital Sea and he's the only Lyoko Warrior who can move through the Cortex without any trouble. This power even gives him the upper hand against flying monsters like Mantas.
The saddest part is that, in the end, William doesn't use his power to its full potential. It's incomprehensible, for example, that he didn't use it to escape from the Scyphozoa (episode 22 “Mutiny”).

William's second power is the ability to throw shockwaves from his sword. It's a devastating power because it destroys everything it touches in a single hit...and once again, is unexploited. William can use it to get rid of several monsters in a row, kill an enemy on the ground (episode 15 “The Codeless”) or even destroy an enemy from a distance.

To top it all off, William is fast and agile. He manages to destroy lots of monsters in splendid combo attacks. All his assets combined make William appear to be, objectively, the best Lyoko Warrior in Code Lyoko Evolution.
We can notably remark how easily he destroys clones and other doppelgängers on Lyoko. Indeed, while Yumi is easily thrown around by William's clone, and even in general, the heroes have struggled to overcome virtual humanoid avatars, William overcomes his own clone. He also destroys a significant number of doppelgängers in episode 21 “False Pretences”, including Ulrich's very aggressive clone.

On the other hand, he doesn't fare as well against Tyron's Ninjas, being unaccustomed to having opponents that think and are unpredictable like humans. Even if he's not the one who's defeated the most Ninjas, William still does particularly well against them. This can be seen with the Ninja in episode 14 “Intrusion”. While the creature gets rid of Aelita and Odd in quick succession, William holds his ground against it for a while before being defeated.


On the logistical side of things, William has a particularity. He is the only Lyoko Warrior to not have source codes...and therefore cannot deactivate towers. This makes him the central pillar of the attack because his role is often to defend the others and make diversions to allow them to reach the tower safely.

While he should have a logically erased role, William nevertheless steals the spotlight a lot. In episode 06 “Suspicions”, he sacrifices himself to the Cortex's Core defence system to allow Aelita to reach the platform on which the interface is.


In terms of fighting skills, William's biggest flaw remains negligence. The majority of his forced devirtualisations are the result of not paying attention. Sometimes William gets caught by surprise (like by the Blok Wall in episode 07 “Countdown”). Sometimes he makes beginner errors and is inattentive (like when he is devirtualised in episode 18 “Tenacity”, having just arrived on the Cortex).

William has no assigned vehicle like the others (due to his late arrival in the group). However, he usually doesn't need one, as Supersmoke is a good substitute. When he uses one, like the Overbike (episode 05 “Rivalry”), he shows to be quite capable. He also excels in piloting the Skidbladnir and its Navskids. We never see him driving the Megapod.

Finally, we discover a form of XANA-William in episode 22 “Mutiny”, after he falls victim to the Scyphozoa. The monster failing to seize him completely, it remains attached to William. Thus, the XANA Warrior doesn't seem much stronger than his good alter ego. He uses no powers and fights in an average way before being freed.
 

Story
 
"You too, when you send the others to Lyoko! You still don't trust me, do you? Didn't I save the day last time?"

#04 Madame Einstein
Image

William is a young man with a particular history. Roped into the adventure by the Lyoko Warriors, he becomes a victim of XANA and remains under the virus' control for several months. This is why when the artificial intelligence resurfaced, the heroes decide to leave William out.

He isn't fooled, however, as he immediately realises what is happening. His request to rejoin the group is rudely denied. But William doesn't give up. He calls in at the laboratory when the heroes conduct their first mission on the Cortex. When everything goes wrong, Jeremy sends him in as reinforcements and William saves Aelita (episode 02 “Cortex”).

Nevertheless, the Lyoko Warriors sideline him again (episode 04 “Miss Einstein”. Cornered by two successive spectre attacks, they have, once again, no other choice but to request William's help. At the end of a tight battle on Lyoko, a vote is made to allow William back into the group (episode 05 “Rivalry”).

When the heroes discover the existence of source codes, William appears to be the only one to have not received them from XANA. This makes him a more distanced warrior, as he is the only virtual fighter who cannot deactivate towers. That doesn't stop him from becoming vital support to the group when XANA attacks or while exploring the Cortex, always fighting with passion and resolving many situations.

However, being one of the codeless only deprives him of the ability to deactivate towers on Lyoko. On Earth, William is not targeted by spectres... This makes him the only one who can be exposed to them without risk (or almost none...).
It sometimes happens that William takes a particular role in certain situations. When the heroes want to trap a spectre (episode 19 “The Trap”, William is appointed the role of supervising Yumi (bait for the spectre) and intervening if necessary. Later in episode 21 “False Pretences” when the heroes come across a spectre blocking the entrance to the secret passage to the factory, William tries to intervene to give Odd and Ulrich time to run away... Well, he doesn't really succeed... But he had good intentions.

As explained above, William makes the mistake of turning against the heroes twice. First in episode 15 “The Codeless”, manipulated by a clone of himself. Then in episode 22 “Mutiny” in which he is Xanafied by the Scyphozoa.
These two episodes have a happy ending, as the heroes recover William.

William is not given a major role in the group's major decisions. He supports the heroes in the fight against XANA and its spectres, he supports them in the discovery of the Cortex and Tyron's Ninjas. Finally, he is on their side for all major decisions regarding what to do next, especially after the discovery of Aelita's mother's survival.

Silent but faithful to his duty, William has played a leading role in this second war against XANA. When the heroes finally infect the Cortex with their virus, William stands beside Aelita and the rest of the group when they go down to shut the Supercomputer back down again, a clear sign that he earned his place in the group...once and for all!
 

Actor
 
ImageThe actor portraying and dubbing William Dunbar in Code Lyoko Evolution is Diego Mestanza. Click on the picture to access his page!
 

Gallery
 



> Accéder à la galerie complète !




> Accéder à la galerie complète !
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

William Dunbar
Image

 
 [Retour à l'accueil]

[Caractéristiques du personnage] [Caractère et comportement] [Sur le monde virtuel] [Histoire] [Acteur] [Galerie d'images du personnage]
 
 

Caractéristiques du personnage
 
Image« Faut pas désespérer avec cette fille Odd. Regarde moi, j'ai jamais perdu espoir avec Yumi. (...) Tu sais, je crois pas aux causes perdues d'avance. Ecoute-moi, Odd. Tant qu'y'a de l'espoir, il faut s'accrocher. »

#16 Confusion

Grand, élancé, une bouille d'ange, l'air mystérieux et ténébreux, le regard profond... William Dunbar est ce qu'on nomme communément un BG ! Néanmoins, William ne semble intéressé que par Yumi.
Son air impénétrable n'empêche pas William d'être également un adolescent avenant et sympathique. Mais pas si normal que cela, puisqu'il partage le secret des Lyoko-guerriers, de XANA et les responsabilités que cela implique.

Contrairement aux autres héros qui portent, assez sereinement leur passé de sauveur de l'humanité, William n'est pas ressorti indemne de cette double vie puisqu'il a été possédé pendant des mois par XANA. Cela lui vaut d'ailleurs une animosité tacite de la part d'Odd, Ulrich, Jérémie et Aelita. Seule Yumi semble ne pas avoir de difficultés relationnelles avec lui au début du périple.

Scolairement, William semble être devenu particulièrement studieux. On le voit à de nombreuses reprises en train de travailler avec Yumi sur des exposés ou autre (Episode 05 « Rivalité »). On apprend aussi qu'il suit un cours de soutien d'anglais. Enfin, il s'avère être un adepte de littérature. Il propose à Yumi des poésies de Baudelaire dans l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie ».

Enfin, William semble avoir quelques connaissances en mécanique, puisqu'il répare un scanner endommagé (Episode 19 « Le piège »).

Dernière anecdote. William est le seul héros de notre groupe de six à ne pas apparaître dans un des épisodes de Code Lyoko Evolution : L'épisode 03 « Spectromania ». Notons aussi qu'il ne fait qu'une brève apparition figurative dans l'épisode 01 « XANA 2.0 » et qu'il ne dispose pas d'une présentation photo comme les autres héros et Jim.
 

Caractère et comportement
 
« William est hyper sensible, à fleur de peau... Pas facile de savoir ce qu'il pense »

#22 Mutinerie
Image

Selon les apparences, William est, comme on l'a dit, et en raccourci, un beau ténébreux. Taciturne, distant, les pensées de William sont très dures à percer, même pour ses amis proches.

L'adolescent se révèle pourtant avoir un caractère un peu brusque. Il est souvent à fleur-de-peau. Evidemment, son mal-être s'explique par le rejet qu'il subit de la part des Lyoko-guerrier suite à leurs précédentes aventures. Il se prend donc le bec avec le groupe à deux reprises (Episode 02 « Cortex » & Episode 04 « Madame Einstein »), du fait qu'il est mis sur la touche lors du retour de XANA.

Même après sa réintégration au groupe, le ressentiment de William demeure vivace. Cela bout en lui et fermente. On découvre ainsi un William d'emblée très hostile à Yumi dans l'épisode 15 « Les sans-codes ». XANA tente de le manipuler avec une réplique de lui-même à cette occasion. Perdant un peu le nord et aveuglé par l'amertume, William se tourne un moment contre ses amis puis finit par revenir à lui-même.
Bien entendu, Yumi est un peu la pierre angulaire de ce ressentiment. Bien qu'elle ne laisse pas William de côté, en ignorant les sentiments que le jeune homme éprouve pour elle, elle met inconsciemment son moral à rude épreuve... Or, William est sentimental. Cela le rend du coup irritable et il va mal réagir face aux excès de Odd ou à un vent de Yumi.

Il fera ainsi une seconde fois un bébé dans le dos des Lyoko-guerriers. Lors de l‘épisode 22 « Mutinerie », manipulé par Laura, il se laisse embringuer dans une mission en solo sur Lyoko pour aller détruire le Cortex. La mission tourne mal. On peut néanmoins clairement comprendre la tentative de William comme un geste désespéré d'attirer l'attention du groupe et d'obtenir leur approbation.
Cependant William n'est pas borné, car suite à ces deux bourdes, il présente de sincères excuses au groupe, qui lui pardonne toujours volontiers.

Au combat, William est déterminé et un brin bourrin. De manière générale, il aime l'action. Il est ainsi blasé d'être mis sur la touche dans l'épisode 26 « Ultime mission ».

Outre certaines de ses réactions un peu vives et viscérales, William peut aussi se montrer bon vivant. Il est enthousiaste et aime blaguer comme avec sa fameuse réplique « Ca te dérange si je fume ? » qu'il lance avant de filer en Supersmoke.
Toutefois, William montre un humour bien plus limité lorsqu'il s'agit des autres. Il s'agace très rapidement des vannes à son encontre. Il adresse ainsi un sourire narquois à Odd qui lui annonce qu'ils vont devoir faire équipe (Episode 11 « Rendez-vous »). Il s'insurge aussi contre le surnom de « Willi » qu'Odd lui donne dans l'épisode 26 « Ultime mission ».

William a également un gout avéré pour la compétition.
Son outsider est bien entendu Ulrich avec qui il rivalise à la fois dans la vraie vie (pour le cœur de Yumi) et sur Lyoko. Cette rivalité est à son comble au moment de la réintégration de William dans le groupe alors qu'Ulrich fait une crise de nerf et essaie de résoudre la situation seule sur Lyoko. William rentre dans son petit jeu compétitif et finit par sauver la mise du karateka sur Lyoko (Episode 05 « Rivalité »). On a pu découvrir par la même occasion un William très sûr de lui.

Cet esprit compétitif se retrouve dans une moindre mesure également avec Odd, dont il ne supporte pas les considérations « philosophiques » (Episode 11 « Rendez-vous »).

En termes, de relations humaines. William est moins proche de Jérémie et Aelita que ses compères. Du moins, il est moins souvent flanqué avec eux. En revanche, il est le membre du groupe qui parait être le moins réticent au personnage de Laura.
En effet, il se montre incapable de la retenir d'aller à l'usine dans l'épisode 08 « Virus ». Il ne s'est jamais montré formellement hostile à sa présence dans le groupe et il l'accompagne dans son baroud de l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie ». Au cours de cette épopée, il attire même l'attention de Laura sur les conséquences qu'aura son comportement sur son intégration dans la bande. Au final, il reste silencieux lors de l'exclusion de la blonde.
Cette tacite sympathie s'explique par le fait que Laura connait plus ou moins une situation similaire à celle de William.

Au niveau amoureux, la situation de William est très ambiguë. Il est toujours amoureux de Yumi et ne s'en cache pas, comme il le montre ses déclarations de l'épisode 09 « Comment tromper XANA », au cours duquel il déclare ne jamais avoir perdu espoir. Il se montre aussi légèrement aguicheur auprès de la japonaise dans l'épisode 01 « XANA 2.0 » et veut lui offrir des poèmes d'amour de Baudelaire (Episode 22).

Cependant, William semble avoir fait son deuil puisqu'à aucun moment il n'exprime directement à Yumi ses sentiments comme il l'avait eu fait. Il invite même Ulrich à soutenir la japonaise lors d'un moment de faiblesse (Episode 06 « Soupçons »).
 

Sur le monde virtuel
 
Image
« Pas la peine... J'ai beaucoup mieux que ça. Je crois que j'ai gardé un petit souvenir de l'époque de XANA... »

#02 Cortex

Dans l'Univers du jeu vidéo, William est ce qu'on pourrait appeler un tank.
Il est de nature assez bourrine et n'excelle pas dans l'art de la stratégie. William aime penser que tout peut se résoudre par la force... William dégaine donc rapidement son épée en toute circonstance, même pour détruire l'Iris du Cortex (Episode 02 « Cortex ») ou la sphère générant la faille spatio-temporelle (Episode 24 « Paradoxe temporel »).
Dans le feu de l'action, il n'hésite pas non plus à jeter Odd en direction de la Tour pour qu'il aille la désactiver (Episode 11 « Rendez-vous »).

Cependant William a de bons atouts :
Son épée, longue et puissante constitue une arme redoutable. Maniable, William peut s'en servir en toute circonstance pour frapper les monstres ou bloquer leurs tirs. En bonus, il peut la faire apparaitre ou disparaitre à volonté. Il lui arrive aussi de la lancer (Episode 09 « Comment tromper XANA »).

Le guerrier sombre dispose par ailleurs d'une force titanesque, qui lui permet de faire valdinguer autant les monstres de XANA (comme le Blok dans l'épisode 9), que ses propres alliés.

Ce qui le faire sortir du lot, cela reste néanmoins ses deux pouvoirs.
Le premier et le plus important : Il s'agit de la Supersmoke. Conférée par XANA, elle permet à William de se changer en une fumée virtuelle invulnérable. Cela lui permet de se déplacer en grande vitesse, sans véhicule, d'atteindre en volant des lieux inaccessibles, de forcer un barrage de monstres ou encore de battre en retraite.
Avec un tel pouvoir, William a une panoplie d'avantages uniques. Il ne craint pas de chuter dans la Mer Numérique et il est le seul Lyoko-guerrier à pouvoir évoluer dans le Cortex sans encombre. Ce pouvoir lui donne même l'avantage sur les monstres volants comme les Mantas.
Le plus triste reste au final que William ne se sert pas de ce pouvoir au maximum de son potentiel. Il est incompréhensible par exemple qu'il ne l'ait pas utilisé pour fuir face à la Méduse (Episode 22 « Mutinerie »).

Le second pouvoir de William est sa capacité à envoyer des salves d'énergie. Pouvoir dévastateur puisqu'il détruit tout en un coup... et à nouveau, trop peu utilisé. William peut s'en servir pour dégommer les monstres au cours d'un enchainement, abattre un ennemi à terre (Episode 15 « Les sans-codes ») ou encore détruire un ennemi à distance.

Pour couronner le tout, William est rapide et agile. Il arrive à détruire des successions de monstres lors de splendides enchainements. Tous ses atouts combinés font que William apparait être, objectivement, le meilleur Lyoko-guerrier dans Code Lyoko Evolution.
On peut notamment remarquer la facilité avec laquelle il détruit les répliques et autres doppelgänger sur Lyoko. En effet, là où Yumi s'est faite écraser par la réplique de William, et alors même qu'en général, les héros ont toujours peiné à vaincre des avatars virtuels humanoïdes, William surpasse sa propre réplique. Il détruit aussi un nombre non négligeable de doppelgänger dans l'épisode 21 « Faux-semblants », y compris le très agressif clone d'Ulrich.

En revanche, il s'en sort un tantinet moins bien face aux Ninjas de Tyron, peu habitué à avoir des adversaires pensant comme des humains et imprévisibles. Même s'il n'est pas celui qui a vaincu le plus de Ninjas, reste que William s'en sort particulièrement bien face à eux. On le constate avec le Ninja de l'épisode 14 « Intrusion ». Alors que la créature déblaie Aelita et Odd coup sur coup, William lui tient tête un long moment avant d'être vaincu.


Côté logistique de terrain, William a une particularité. Il est le seul Lyoko-guerrier à ne pas avoir de codes-sources... et donc à ne pas pouvoir désactiver les tours. Cela en fait le pilier central de l'attaque car son rôle est souvent de défendre les autres et de faire diversions pour leur permettre d'atteindre la Tour saufs.

Alors qu'il devrait avoir un rôle logiquement effacé, William vole néanmoins régulièrement la vedette. Dans l'épisode 06 « Soupçons », il se sacrifie pour permettre à Aelita d'atteindre la plate-forme de l'interface du Cortex envers et contre le système de défense du Noyau.


Au final, en termes d'aptitudes martiales, le gros défaut de William reste la négligence. La majorité de ses dévirtualisations forcées sont le fruit de grossières erreurs d'inattention. Soit William se fait surprendre (comme par le Mur de Bloks de l'épisode 07 « Compte à rebours »). Soit il commet des erreurs de débutant et d'inattention (comme lors de sa grossière dévirtualisation de l'épisode 18 « Obstination », à peine arrivé sur le Cortex).

William n'a pas de véhicule attitré comme les autres (Reliquat de son arrivée tardive dans le groupe). Il n'en a toutefois pas besoin, Supersmoke remplaçant. Lorsqu'il en utilise, comme l'Overbike (Episode 05 « Rivalité »), il se montre tout à fait capable. Il excelle aussi au pilotage du Skidbladnir et de ses Navskid. En revanche, on ne l'a jamais vu conduire le Megapode.

Enfin, on découvrira une forme xanatifiée de William dans l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie », après qu'il a été victime de la Méduse. Le monstre n'ayant pas réussi à s'en emparer totalement, il reste accroché à William. Ainsi, le XANA-guerrier ne semble même pas spécialement plus fort que son alter-ego gentil. Il n'utilise aucun pouvoir et se bat de manière standard avant d'être libéré.
 

Histoire
 
« Et toi ! Préviens quand tu envoies les autres sur Lyoko ! Vous me faites toujours pas confiance, c'est ça ? Je vous ai pas sauvé la mise la dernière fois ? »

#04 Madame Einstein
Image

William est un jeune homme avec une histoire particulière. Embringué dans la Lyoko-aventure par les Lyoko-guerriers, il devient victime de XANA et reste plusieurs mois sous son contrôle. C'est pour cela que lorsque l'intelligence artificielle refait surface, les héros décident de laisser William à l'écart.

Ce dernier n'est cependant pas dupe puisqu'il réalise immédiatement ce qu'il se passe. Il demande à réintégrer le groupe et se fait violemment retoqué. William ne renonce pas pour autant. Il s'invite dans le laboratoire quand les héros mènent leur première mission sur le Cortex. Quand tout tourne mal, Jérémie l'envoie sur le Cortex en renfort et William sauve la mise d'Aelita (Episode 02 « Cortex »).

Malgré tout, les Lyoko-guerriers le mettent à l'écart une fois encore (Episode 04 « Madame Einstein ». Acculés par une deux attaques de spectres successives, ils n'ont, une fois encore, pas d'autres choix que de requérir William. A l'issu d'une bataille serrée sur Lyoko, un vote fait que William réintègre la bande (Episode 05 « Rivalité »).

Lorsque les héros découvrent l'existence des codes-sources, William se révèle être le seul à ne pas en avoir reçu de XANA. Cela fait donc de lui un guerrier un peu à part, car il est le seul combattant virtuel à ne pas pouvoir désactiver les tours. Cela n'empêche pas qu'il devient un soutien indispensable du groupe, lors des attaques de XANA ou de l'exploration du Cortex, combattant toujours avec fougue et débloquant de nombreuses situations.

Cependant, le fait d'être un sans-codes ne lui ôte pas que la possibilité de désactiver les tours sur Lyoko. Sur Terre, William ne sera pas ciblé par les spectres... Il est ainsi le seul pouvant s'exposer à eux sans risque. (ou presque...)
Il arrive donc que William tienne un rôle particulier lors de certaines occasions. Lorsque les héros veulent piéger un spectre (Episode 19 « Le spectre »), William est désigné pour surveiller Yumi (servant d'appât au spectre) et intervenir si besoin. Plus tard, dans l'épisode 21 « Faux-semblants », quand les héros tombent sur un spectre bouchant l'entrée du passage secret vers l'usine, William essaie de s'interposer pour laisser le temps de fuir à Odd et Ulrich... Bon, il n'y arrive pas vraiment... Mais l'intention y était.

Comme expliquer plus haut, William connait deux ratés au cours desquels il se retourne contre les héros. Tout d'abord dans l'épisode 15 « Les sans-codes », manipulé par un réplique de lui-même. Ensuite dans l'épisode 22 « Mutinerie » au cours duquel il se fait xanatifier par la Méduse.
Ces deux épisodes connaissent un dénouement heureux puisque les héros récupèrent William.

William ne se donne pas un rôle prépondérant dans les grandes décisions du groupe. Il soutient les héros dans la lutte contre XANA et ses spectres, il les épaule dans la découverte du Cortex et des Ninjas de Tyron. Il se range enfin de leur côté pour toutes les grandes décisions concernant la conduite à tenir, notamment suite à la découverte de la survie de la mère d'Aelita.

Silencieux, mais fidèle au poste, William a joué un rôle prépondérant lors de ce second conflit contre XANA. Quand les héros virussent finalement le Cortex, William se tient au côté d'Aelita et du reste du groupe lorsqu'ils descendent ré-éteindre le Supercalculateur, signe manifeste qu'il a gagné sa place dans le groupe... pour de bon !
 

Acteur
 
ImageL'acteur incarnant et doublant William dans Code Lyoko Evolution est Diego Mestanza. Clique sur l'image pour accéder à sa page !
 

Galerie d'images du personnage
 



> Accéder à la galerie complète !




> Accéder à la galerie complète !
 

Image