Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Adaptation and sacrifices : From CL to CLE
 
 Welcome to this article.

The question of the transition from Code Lyoko to Code Lyoko Evolution is a delicate question in the community with which the fans are very split. Whether one agrees or not, it remains a difficult question due to all that was at stake. Having to reconcile with the scriptwriting choices, the autonomy of the new series compared to the old series, the technical constraints of the adaptation, the budget constraints, and above all that... the sensibilities of the fans was quite the dilemma as well.

This article is divided up into two pages. This first page, of which you are currently on, was created immediately after the airing of the first episodes of Evolution. Its objective is to point out the main changes as soon as the start of the new series and to comment on those changes in order to evaluate if Evolution is a successful adaptation or not.

A second page completes the article. Written at the end of Evolution, its goal is to list the whole of the changes within Evolution in comparison to Code Lyoko. Some comments are meant to be lighthearted, but overall, the page is empirical and objective.

[Access the second page of the file]

[Page summary]

[Introduction] [In Short] [Stating the Obvious 1: 2D to Live-Action] [Stating the obvious 2: The new 3D CGI] [The evolution of the design of the virtual world] [XANA, power and spectres] [Small script-writing tricks] [Conclusion]
 
 

Image

Introduction
 
The Transition from Code Lyoko
to Code Lyoko Evolution

Adaptations and sacrifices

Code Lyoko

10 November 2007 : Airing of the last episode of season 4 in France

100% 2D/3D animated series

Cartoon aimed at children

4 seasons with a stable team
Code Lyoko Evolution

19 December 2012 : Airing of the first episode of Code Lyoko Evolution as an advance-premier on the Internet

Hybrid 3D/Live-action animated series

Youth-targeted series aimed at new & old viewers

New team of directors & script-writers

All these elements made so that Code Lyoko Evolution couldn't be Code Lyoko. The same definition of Code Lyoko Evolution compared to Code Lyoko isn't evident...
A season 5? No, Moonscoop repeated: Code Lyoko Evolution is a sort of new series and in no way only the “5th season” of the well-known cartoon. Though the script is the logical continuation to season 4.
A new series? Surely not. The heroes remain the same as well as the concept.
A spin-off? Not really. The environment and the narrative framework preserve the guiding line of Code Lyoko.

And so here we have our result that this succession is not a new season. This new series is in the exact continuation of the previous. This little brother is the twin of the older.

The season has started with its lot of surprises, so good or bad, it is now time to take stock of all the changes that were established during the transition of Code Lyoko to Code Lyoko Evolution.

Is Code Lyoko Evolution comprised of so many novelties that it can be considered a new series?
Or is it so little different that we can consider it as a full-fledged succession to Code Lyoko?
Or conversely, rather than questioning the number of differences between the two, would we be better off considering the nature of the changes and the reason for the modifications? Maybe this path will lead us toward yet another conclusion: Through all the changes, maybe instead we should see Code Lyoko Evolution as a simple adaptation of Code Lyoko to a live-action series.

 

In Short
 
ImageJustified or justifiable by the scenarioScript-writing or artistic choice of the creatorsConstraint due to budget and/or live-actionNo explication
Changes in the appearance and voices of the heroesX
Blonde Sissi – White Samantha – Young Mrs. HertzX
Disappearance of secondary charactersX
Weaker XANA spectresXX
End of “large” XANA attacksXX
Changes in the appearance of placesXX
New 3D-CGIX
Disappearance of the Ice sector and the Forest sectorX
(Suuure...)
X
Changes to the virtual outfits and vehiclesXX
Variations to weapons and powers (Odd & Aelita)XX
New design for the towersXX
Tarantulas shoot from their eye
Crabs ricochet attacks off their backs
X
Everyone can deactivate the towersXX
Impossible to enter the towers without XANA's source codesX
 

Stating the Obvious 1: 2D to Live-Action
 
First of all, let's start by noting that this file is not intended to cover the entirety of the existing differences between Code Lyoko and Code Lyoko Evolution. Given that all the 2D/Earth parts of Code Lyoko were replaced by live-action, the differences are, of course, innumerable.

Quickly, let's use this first part for “stating the obvious” and making a point on the most evident changes linked to the transition from 2D to shooting in live-action.

  • The main characters

  • Exactly what Code Lyoko Evolution was awaited for: The adaptation of the series' characters to their real life counterparts, and with beginning actors for the most part. From this standpoint, it's a real “all or nothing.”

    “All” because we can only applaud the casting of the main characters. When the leaks of the actors had started to appear and the casting was revealed little by little, the return of old fans and their opinions were very varied. Love for Diego's angel-face, the scandal over Gulliver's hair. Ovations for the pretty Melanie, worries about the “dense” hairsytle of Quentin. Enthusiasm for the striking resemblance between Marin and Jeremy, skepticism in regards to Aelita's hair.

    Everyone had their own opinion on such-and-such a character that they thought transitioned well and another where they didn't. The second time around, over the discovery of the voices and of the role of each actor! Starting from this moment, the young actors had managed to win over their audience. Despite some grumpy fans (who are surely more talented than the actors...), the critics have become largely silent.
    This silence is owed to some rather significant points. Several actors match their character down to their pores. Gulliver is a replica of Odd Della Robbia by behavior and personal profile (and furthermore, the voice doesn't differ too much from the original) whereas Diego embodies a perfect William due to his sometimes serious, sometimes nonchalant air. Marin, one of the younger actors, without a doubt plays the most difficult role: the one of Jeremy. Often only at the screen (since the other characters are virtualized,) he must shoot sequence by sequence, having only his console with which to share the entirety of his expressions and emotions through his role as an actor. Surprise, fear, worry, enthusiasm, etc... A very complicated role that he fills quite well, improving himself episode by episode.

    Image
    Does something shock you?
    A single element catches the eye of the most demanding of fans: the difference in height.

    We can, on the subject of casting, largely commend the choice made by the two directors to have extended the casting and to have given it extra attention.

    Our final words go to our two unexpected revelations: First of all to Pauline Serieys who embodies the new heroine Laura Gauthier, and who has the difficult task of forging herself a new place within the minds of fans, that we know, oh how well, is narrow.
    And above all to the wonderful Bastien Thelliez who took the role of Jim to an even greater level within the Code Lyoko universe.

    Today, we can consider the casting of Evolution's main characters as the one of the largest successes of the new series. I said, however, that for this casting, it was all or nothing.


  • The secondary characters

“Nothing” as well, since if the casting for the heros was strong, we wouldn't really have as much to say about it for the secondary characters.

There are two ways of looking at this.
The financial constraint was the decisive factor here: Indeed, a multiplication of secondary characters inevitably leads to a multiplication of actors and so of salaries to pay, which would have considerably increased the cost of the series.
Another decisive factor: The young characters of Code Lyoko. The recruitment of minor actors poses a certain number of complications at the legal level. As it happens, Marin, Gulliver, & Pauline were, for example, put in a house with a paid person specifically to supervise them on weekdays except when they were shooting.

So, the Code Lyoko universe must lose some of these characters.
Herb, Nicolas, Hiroki, Kiwi, the parents of all the heros (besides Aelita,) the non-recurring people at Kadic and all the extra students thus disappear from our screens, without explanation (besides Kiwi.)

However, we're yet to come to the immense problem of this casting: The secondary characters still remaining in Code Lyoko Evolution.

Image Image

Hardly need to add more.
This “adaptation” is without a doubt the hardest to accept for the traditional fans for the good reason that it doesn't seem to present absolutely any coherent explanation. Enter Mrs. Hertz, professor of science henceforth rich for having invented a giga-effective anti-wrinkle, Sissi, user of hair-dye more genuine than nature, and Samantha, pioneer of the whiteoplasty, there is reason to be perplexed... Of course, these characters have been relayed such very secondary roles that it isn't ultimately shocking. But all the same, much ink has been spilled over this topic and numerous “What the fuck”s were uttered.
 

Stating the obvious 2: The new 3D CGI
 
Second part of the evident changes: The improvement to the 3D. Not worth going into too much detail over, don't forget that we were familiar with the same thing during the transition of season 1 to season 2.

Among the most striking of elements: A drastic augmentation to the speed of the animation and combat. The 3D is maybe the only element which everyone can be unanimous on. In this respect, Evolution has surpassed its predecessor.

And in particular, whether we like it or not, the facial expressions have greatly evolved.

Image

Finally, of course, there were changes made even to the conception of the virtual universe, but that we'll talk about below!
 

The evolution of the design of the virtual world
 
An explanation for the changes that were made to the virtual world exists half-way between logic and the script-writing choices. The majority were made by Vincent Ferrier, the 3D director for Code Lyoko Evolution. A complete interview with him and Luccio di Rosa is here. Questions on the changes to the design are addressed there. In short, some are simple personal script-writing choices made by the directors, the others were made to simplify the concept of the virtual world for the new script-writers and the new viewers. The goal was to remove any inconsistencies.

Simple example for clarification: As soon as episode 3, we are officially told that a 12 hour delay between each revirtualization is necessary.
Another point, now on vocabulary: The part of the network that enters the virtual worlds is named the “Interior Digital Sea” to differentiate it from the “Digital Sea” that is the network.

The removal of the sectors was a director's choice. The Forest sector was victim “to its lack of originality,” and the Ice sector was axed to avoid making two sectors that were shades of blue (with the 5th sector.) The latter has also been simplified even though the series hasn't talked about it much yet. The towers changed in design for no particular reason.

Image

There is a big error, on the other hand, regarding the rights to entering the towers. It wasn't shocking that some of the other heros have acquired the ability to deactivate the towers, graced with XANA's source codes. However, it is totally false to imply that they couldn't enter the towers before having this ability. They did so on several occasions.

Image

The monsters evolved. From now on, the Tarantulas shoot from their eyes and not in bursts from their legs. The Krabs have been equipped with backs that bounce back force fields. Even more in general, the monsters no longer seem to need to be hit in the eye to be destroyed.

Image Image

Finally, the heros have also changed outfits, including Odd whose weaponry has been completely redesigned.

Image Image
 

XANA, power and spectres
 
XANA's spectres seem to be less “spectral” than before. They had the ability to walk through walls and to “dematerialize” themselves, but from now on they have to break down doors. Will they still be weak to electrical attacks?

Image

Moreover, many people complain about the absence of large-scale XANA attacks. This is by no means an error: First of all, XANA is weakened and not as strong (which also explains his gentle spectres,) well, his goal is no longer to kill the heroes but to recover his codes.
Of course, the gossips say that that is rather convenient for the creators who have no reason to do large-scale attacks... But it's also by this type of “pirouette” that we adapt a cartoon in a consistent manner.
 

Small script-writing tricks
 
Let's end with a listing of some small inconsistencies left in or intended by the script-writers to give some energy to the series.

Before

Image

“Sorry, William. But I don't think you can be trusted.”

#59 The secretImage

“I knew it was a bad idea to bring you into the group.”

#65 Final Round

After

Image

“It's just that... we were a little hard on William, weren't we?”
Translation from the French episode


#02 Cortex

...

Image

Needless to say, although time has healed any bad feelings by Evolution, we can only notice the large script-writing “pirouette” that allows the revival of the love triangle between Ulrich, Yumi, and William, which had been mostly resolved since season 3.

Image
“And it's gonna take months before we can reprogram it.”

#70 SkidbladnirImage

“Great! You were able to reprogram the Skid?”
Translation from the French episode

#02 Cortex


Once again, the need to discover the Cortex accelerated the pacing very quickly... and the reconstruction of the Skid with it!

Image

Finally, genuine violation of Jeremy's character, our genius who drew a blank in high school arithmetic yet who operates a quantum computer. Gosh darn it!
 

Conclusion
 
For new fans, Code Lyoko Evolution isn't presented with inconsistencies. The concept is laid out right off the bat and is without a doubt difficult to comprehend at first, but it remains consistent. Of course, the problem lies with the old fans. However, apart from the nature of any easy criticism (because it is always easier to take something apart than to defend it,) the result is mixed. The chart at the top of the page and a good understanding behind the scenes of the series allows us, however, to qualify our feelings.

So, what to respond to the question:
Was Code Lyoko well-adapted to live-action in Code Lyoko Evolution?

Image
“On our part, we sincerely believe we have made the best possible... At least... Let's say rather that I think that we couldn't have done better with the amount of time and the means that we were given. The amount of time that we had was very short...”

Luccio Di Rosa, live-action director, during the interview with CodeLyoko.fr

Whether we wanted it or not to be an American blockbuster where XANA would blow up half the city in each episode, of course not. Now, if we adopt a realistic point of view.

Code Lyoko Evolution presents obvious successes. The main character castings very much resemble our heroes. The new 3D is very successful. The aspects of the show unadaptable for live-action were able to get around this obstacle by the script-writers “pirouettes.” A weakened XANA and his spectres. A new goal for the artificial intelligence that no longer needs to make large-scale attacks. And especially the novelties (dynamic sequences, new music and animation.)

Finally, the chart at the top of the page proves that the majority of changes and “inconsistencies” tied to the adaptation of Code Lyoko Evolution are justifiable by the constraints of the shooting or even the script-writing. This adaptation has been generally successful, even though there are still serious problems: The secondary castings, the disappearance of two sectors... and finally, some occasional script-writing mistakes.
 

Image

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

Adaptation et sacrifices : De CL à CLE
 
 Bienvenue sur ce dossier.

La question du passage de Code Lyoko à Code Lyoko Evolution est une question sensible dans la communauté, pour laquelle les fans sont très partagés. Qu'on adhère ou pas, cela reste une question difficile à cause de la multitude des enjeux. Devoir concilier les choix scénaristiques, l'autonomie de la nouvelle série par rapport à l'ancienne, la contrainte technique de l'adaptation, la contrainte budgétaire et... par dessus tout cela... la sensibilité des fans était un problème cornélien.

Ce dossier est divisé en deux pages. La première page sur laquelle vous êtes a été réalisée à chaud après la diffusion des tous premiers épisodes d'Evolution. Il a pour objectif de pointer les principaux changements intervenant dès le début de la nouvelle série et de les commenter pour évaluer si Evolution est une adaptation réussie.

Une seconde page complète le dossier. Rédigée à la fin d'Evolution, son but est de lister l'intégralité des changements d'Evolution par rapport à Code Lyoko. Quelques commentaires l'agrémentent mais la page est plus empirique.

[Accès à la seconde page du dossier]

[Sommaire de cette page]

[Introduction] [En bref] [Enfoncer les portes ouvertes [1] : 2D à Live-action] [Enfoncer les portes ouvertes [2] : La nouvelle CGI-3D] [L'évolution du concept du Monde Virtuel] [XANA, puissance et spectre] [Petites entourloupes scénaristiques] [Conclusion]
 
 

Image

Introduction
 
Le passage de Code Lyoko
à Code Lyoko Evolution

Adaptations et sacrifices

Code Lyoko

10 novembre 2007 : Diffusion du dernier épisode de la saison 4 en France

Série 100% animée 2D/3D

Dessin-animé jeunesse ciblée enfants

4 saisons avec une équipe stable
Code Lyoko Evolution

19 décembre 2012 : Diffusion du premier épisode de Code Lyoko Evolution en avant-première sur Internet

Série hybride animée-3D/Live-action

Série jeunesse visant un nouveau & ancien public

Nouvelle équipe de réalisateurs & scénaristes

Tous ces éléments faisaient que Code Lyoko Evolution ne pouvait pas être Code Lyoko. La définition même de Code Lyoko Evolution par rapport à Code Lyoko n'est pas évidente...
Une saison 5 ? Non, Moonscoop l'a répété : Code Lyoko Evolution est une sorte de nouvelle série et en aucun la seule « 5ème saison » du bien célèbre dessin animé. Pourtant le scénario est dans suite logique de la saison 4.
Une nouvelle série ? Bien sûr que non. Les héros restent les mêmes, ainsi que le concept.
Un spin-off ? Pas vraiment. L'environnement et la trame narrative conservent la ligne directrice de Code Lyoko.

Et nous voilà ainsi avec cette suite qui n'est pas une nouvelle saison. Cette nouvelle série qui est dans l'exacte continuité de la précédente. Ce petit frère qui est jumeau du grand.

La saison ayant commencé avec son lot de surprise, bonne ou mauvaise, il est temps de faire le point sur tous les changements qui se sont imposés à nous lors du passage de Code Lyoko à Code Lyoko Evolution.

Code Lyoko Evolution comporte-t-elle tellement de nouveautés qu'elle peut être considérée comme une nouvelle série ? Est-elle si peu différente qu'on peut la considérer comme une suite à part entière de Code Lyoko ?
Ou bien à l'inverse, plutôt que de se questionner sur le nombre de différences entre les deux, ne ferait-on pas mieux de se tourner vers la nature du changement et le pourquoi des modifications ? Cette piste nous mènera peut-être vers encore une autre conclusion : A travers toutes ses modifications, ne devrait-on pas voir en Code Lyoko Evolution une simple adaptation de Code Lyoko en série-live...

 

En bref
 
ImageJustifié ou justifiable par le scénarioChoix scénaristique ou artistique des créateursContrainte liée au budget ou/et au live-actionAucune explication
Changements d'apparence & de voix des hérosX
Sissi blonde – Samantha Blanche – Mme Hertz Jeune X
Disparition de perso secondairesX
Spectres de XANA plus “mous”XX
Fin des “grosses” attaques de XANAXX
Changement d'apparence des lieuxXX
Nouvelle 3D-CGIX
Disparition de la Banquise et la ForêtX
(Mouais...)
X
Modification des tenues virtuelles et des véhiculesXX
Variations des armes et pouvoirs (Odd & Aelita)XX
Nouveau design des toursXX
Tir des Tarentules par l'oeil
Crânes des Krabes ricochants
X
Désactivation des tours pour tousXX
Impossible de pénétrer les tours sans les codes sources de XANAX
 

Enfoncer les portes ouvertes [1] : 2D à Live-action
 
Tout d'abord, commençons par remarquer que ce dossier n'a pas vocation à relever l'intégralité des différences existantes entre Code Lyoko et Code Lyoko Evolution. Etant donné que toute la partie 2D/Terrestre de Code Lyoko a été remplacée par le live-action, elles sont, bien entendu, innombrables.

Rapidement, utilisons donc ce premier cadre pour « enfoncer les portes ouvertes » et faire un point sur les changements les plus évidents liés à la transition 2D/prise de vue réelle.

  • Les personnages principaux

  • Le point précis sur lequel était attendu Code Lyoko Evolution : L'adaptation des personnages de la série en vraies personnes, des acteurs débutants pour la plupart. Sur ce point, c'est un réel « Tout ou rien ».

    « Tout », car on ne peut qu'applaudir le casting des personnages principaux. Lorsque les fuites ont commencé à voir le jour et que le casting s'est peu à peu révélé, les retours des anciens fans ont été très variés. Kiffs sur la gueule d'ange de Diego, scandales sur la coiffure de Gulliver. Ovations pour la belle Mélanie, inquiétude pour la chevelure « dense » de Quentin. Enthousiasme sur la ressemblance frappante entre Marin et Jérémie, scepticisme sur le rendu de la coiffure d'Aelita.

    Tout un chacun avait son avis sur tel personnage qui allait être bien et tel autre qui allait être nul. Le deuxième temps, celui de la découverte des voix et du jeu de chacun des acteurs ! A partir de ce moment, les jeunes comédiens ont su conquérir leur public. Malgré un certain nombre de fans grincheux et sans doute tous plus talentueux les uns que les autres, les critiques se sont largement tues.
    Ce silence est dû à des points largement appréciables. Plusieurs comédiens respirent leur personnage par tous les pores. Gulliver est une réplique comportementale et caractérielle d'Odd Della Robbia (et en plus, la voix ne diffère pas trop de l'original) tandis que Diego incarne un parfait William dans ses airs tantôt nonchalants, tantôt sérieux. Marin, l'un des plus jeunes acteurs, incarne le rôle sans doute le plus difficile : Celui de Jérémie. Souvent seul à l'écran (puisque les autres personnages sont virtualisés), il doit, de séquences en séquences, seul devant son pupitre passer l'intégralité des expressions et émotions dans son jeu d'acteur. Surprise, peur, inquiétude, enthousiasme, etc... Un rôle très compliqué qu'il remplit de manière appréciable s'améliorant d'épisode en épisode.

    Image
    Quelque chose vous choque ?
    Un seul élément accroche l'œil des fans les plus revendicateurs : la différence de taille.

    On peut, au sujet du casting, largement saluer le choix des deux réalisateurs d'avoir prolongé le casting et d'y avoir prêté une attention toute particulière.

    Dernière mention pour nos deux révélations inattendues : Tout d'abord Pauline Serieys, incarnant la nouvelle héroïne Laura Gauthier, qui a la tâche difficile de se forger une nouvelle place dans l'esprit des fans, qu'on sait, ôh combien, étriqué.
    Et surtout le formidable Bastien Thelliez qui a propulsé le personnage de Jim au rang d'entité encore plus incontournable de l'Univers Code Lyoko.

    Aujourd'hui, on peut considérer le casting des personnages principaux d'Evolution comme l'une des plus grosses réussites. J'ai néanmoins dit que pour ce casting, c'était tout ou rien.

  • Les personnages secondaires

« Rien » aussi, car si le casting des héros a été soigné, on ne peut pas en dire exactement autant des personnages secondaires.

Ici, la poire est à couper en deux.
La contrainte financière a ici été déterminante : En effet, une multiplication des personnages secondaires entraîne forcément une multiplication des acteurs et donc des salaires à verser, ce qui aurait considérablement alourdi les couts de la série.
Autre point déterminant : La jeunesse des personnages de Code Lyoko. L'embauche d'acteurs mineurs pose un certain nombre de complications au niveau juridique. En l'occurrence, Marin, Gulliver & Pauline étaient par exemple logés dans une maison avec une personne payée uniquement pour les encadrer en semaine sur les temps hors-tournage.

C'est ainsi que l'Univers Code Lyoko a dû se débarrasser d'un certain nombre de ces personnages.
Hervé, Nicolas, Hiroki, Kiwi, les parents de tous les héros (Aelita hormis), le personnel de Kadic non récurrent et tous les élèves-figurants disparaissent donc ainsi de nos écrans, sans explication (hormis pour Kiwi).

Reste alors à venir à l'immense point noir de ce casting : Les personnages secondaires maintenus dans Code Lyoko Evolution.

Image Image

Guère besoin d'en rajouter plus.
Cette « adaptation » est sans doute la plus difficile à accepter de la part des fans traditionnels pour la bonne raison qu'elle ne semble présenter absolument aucune explication cohérente. Entre Madame Hertz, professeur de science désormais riche pour avoir inventé un anti-ride giga-efficace, Sissi, utilisatrice de teinture plus vraie que nature et Samantha, pionnière de la blanchoplastie, il y a de quoi être perplexe... Bien entendu, ces personnages ayant été relayés à un rôle très secondaire, ce n'est pas ultimement choquant. Mais tout de même, beaucoup d'encre a coulé à ce sujet et de nombreux « What the fuck » ont été proférés.
 

Enfoncer les portes ouvertes [2] : La nouvelle CGI-3D
 
Deuxième étape du changement évident : Le boost de la 3D. Pas la peine de s'étaler sur des lignes, n'oublions pas que nous avons connu la même chose lors du passage de la saison 1 à la saison 2.

Parmi les éléments les plus marquants : Une augmentation drastique de la vitesse des animations et des combats. La 3D est peut-être le seul élément pour lequel tout le monde peut-être unanime. De ce côté là, Evolution a surpassé son aîné.

Point particulier, on aime ou on n'aime pas : Les expressions de visage ont grandement évolué.

Image

Enfin bien entendu, il y a eu du changement dans la conception même de l'Univers virtuel mais ça, on en parle plus bas !
 

L'évolution du concept du Monde Virtuel
 
Les explications sur les modifications qu'a connues le Monde Virtuel sont à mi-chemin entre la logique et le choix scénaristique. La plupart ont été faites par Vincent Ferrier, réalisateur de la 3D sur Code Lyoko Evolution. Une interview complète de lui et Luccio Di Rosa vous attend ici. La question des modifications du concept y est abordée. En résumé, certaines relèvent du choix personnel scénaristique simple des réalisateurs, les autres ont été faites pour simplifier le concept du Monde Virtuel pour les nouveaux scénaristes et les nouveaux spectateurs. Le but était de supprimer des incohérences.

Exemple simple de clarification, dès l'épisode 3, on nous dit enfin formellement qu'il faut laisser un délai de 12 heures entre chaque virtualisation.
Autre point de vocabulaire : La partie du Réseau qui pénètre dans les mondes virtuels est nommée « Mer Numérique Intérieure » pour bien différencier de la Mer Numérique qu'est le réseau.

La suppression des Territoires de Surface est un choix de la réalisation. La Forêt a été victime « de son manque d'originalité », la Banquise, elle, a été supprimée pour éviter de faire deux Territoire de nuance bleue (avec le 5ème Territoire). Ce dernier a lui aussi été simplifié même si la série n'en parle pas des masses pour l'instant. Les tours ont changé de design, sans raison particulière.

Image

La grosse erreur qu'il faut en revanche relever concerne les droits d'utilisation. Il n'ait pas choquant que les autres héros aient acquis la faculté de désactiver les tours, grâce aux codes sources de XANA. Il est en revanche totalement faux de sous-entendre qu'il ne pouvait pas pénétrer dans les tours avant d'avoir cette faculté. Ils l'ont fait à de multiples reprises.

Image

Les monstres ont évolué. La Tarentule tire désormais par son œil et non plus par ses pattes en rafale. Le Krabe, lui, s'est doté d'un crâne qui fait rebondir les champs de forces. De manière plus générale, les monstres semblent ne plus avoir besoin d'être atteints à l'œil pour être détruits.

Image Image

Enfin, les héros ont aussi changé de tenues, notamment Odd dont le mode d'attaque a été complètement repensé.

Image Image
 

XANA, puissance et spectre
 
Les spectres de XANA semblent être moins « spectraux » qu'auparavant. S'ils avaient la faculté de traverser les murs et de se dématérialiser, ils doivent désormais enfoncer les portes. Seront-ils toujours sensibles aux attaques électriques ?

Image

Par ailleurs beaucoup de gens se plaignent de l'absence d'attaques de grande ampleur de la part de XANA. Cela n'est en aucun cas une erreur : D'abord, XANA est affaibli et moins puissant (ce qui explique aussi la mollesse de ses spectres), enfin, son but n'est plus de tuer les héros mais de récupérer ses codes.
Bien entendu, les mauvaises langues diront que ça arrangent bien les créateurs qui n'ont pas de quoi faire des attaques de grande ampleur... Mais c'est aussi par se genre de pirouette qu'on adapte un animé en série de manière cohérente.
 

Petites entourloupes scénaristiques
 
Terminons avec un listing des petites incohérences laissées ou voulues par les scénaristes pour redonner un peu de poil à la bête à la série.

Avant

Image

« Désolé William. Mais moi, je pense qu'on ne peux pas te faire confiance... »

#59 Le secretImage

« Je savais que c'était une erreur de t'intégrer dans notre bande... »

#65 Dernier Round

Après

Image

« C'est juste que... On a été un peu durs avec William, non ?... »

#02 Cortex

...

Image

Evidemment ici, bien qu'un peu d'eau à couler sous les ponts depuis Evolution, on ne peut que remarquer la grosse pirouette scénaristique qui permet de relancer un peu le triangle amoureux Ulrich/Yumi/William, qui avait pourtant été largement tranché depuis la saison 3.

Image
« Ca nous reprendra des mois pour la reprogrammer ! »

#70 SkidbladnirImage

« Wah, Génial, vous avez réussi à reprogrammer le Skid ? »

#02 Cortex


A nouveau, ici, les besoins de découverte de Cortex ont accéléré le mouvement très rapidement... et la reconstruction du Skid avec !


Image

Enfin, véritable viol du personnage de Jérémie, notre génie qui bloque sur un calcul de seconde quand il manipule un ordinateur quantique. Gosh darn it !
 

Conclusion
 
Pour les nouveaux fans, Code Lyoko Evolution ne présente pas d'incohérences. Le concept est amené extrêmement vite et est sans doute difficile à appréhender mais il demeure cohérent. C'est bien entendu du côté des anciens fans que le bât blesse. Cependant, outre le caractère de la critique facile, car il est toujours plus facile de démonter que de défendre, le résultat est mitigé. Le tableau initial de la page et une bonne connaissance des coulisses de la série permettent néanmoins de nuancer nos ressentis.

Que répondre donc à la question :
Code lyoko a-t-elle été bien adaptée en série-live avec Code Lyoko Evolution ?

Image
« Nous pensons sincèrement avoir fait le meilleur possible... Du moins... Disons plutôt que je pense que nous n'aurions pas pu faire mieux dans les délais et avec les moyens qui nous ont été accordés [et] Le délai qui nous a été imparti (...). »

Luccio Di Rosa, réalisateur de la partie réelle, lors de l'interview pour CodeLyoko.fr

Si l'on souhaitait une superproduction américaine où XANA aurait fait péter la moitié de la ville à chaque épisode, évidemment que non. Maintenant, si l'on adopte un point de vue réaliste.

Code Lyoko Evolution présente des réussites évidentes. Le casting des personnages principaux, très ressemblants aux héros. Une nouvelle 3D très réussie. Les aspects du concept inadaptables en série live pour jeunesse ont su contourner l'obstacle par des pirouhettes scénaristiques. Un XANA affaibli, des spectres qui le sont. Un nouveau but pour l'intelligence artificielle qui ne lui nécessite plus de faire de grosses attaques. Et surtout de la nouveauté (dynamisme des séquences, nouvelles musiques et animations).

Finalement, le tableau en haut de page prouve bien que la majorité des changements et "incohérences" liées à l'adaptation de Code Lyoko Evolution sont justifiables par les contraintes de tournage ou même le scénario. Cette adaptation a donc été globalement réussie, bien qu'il reste de sévères points noirs : Le casting secondaire, la disparition de deux Territoires de Surface... et enfin quelques coquilles scénaristiques ponctuelles.
 

Image