Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

2002-2005: The birth and growth of Code Lyoko (seasons 1 & 2)
 
 
Image
[The origins]
Image
[The birth]
Image
[The climax]
Image
[Reloaded]
Image
[Evolution]
 
 

Garage Kids becomes Code Lyoko: Season 1
 
After the departure of Thomas Romain, the creation of project Code Lyoko started. Tania Palumbo became the artistic director. It was at this moment that two key documents of the cartoon were developed.
The first is the Graphic Bible: a book that sets out each character's outfits, the appearances of monsters, set designs...in short, the entire graphic universe of the series. After a titanic searching job, CodeLyoko.fr succeeded in obtaining a copy of this Bible. So you can now find it here:


The second element was developed in consultation with the director, the season 1 writing director and Tania. Two major figures in the Code Lyoko licence then emerged: Jérôme Mouscadet, director of all four seasons. And Sophie Decroisette, writing director for the first three.
This second element is the series Literary Bible. This Bible summarises the whole story and concept of the series. It doesn't go into the details of each season. However, it defines the relationships between the characters, described each one's personal history (friends, family, elements in their past, age...) and the general concept of the story: how Lyoko works, what year it takes place, etc...

Nevertheless, these two documents were very fragmented. Indeed, at the time, Code Lyoko hadn't revealed its potential and was just another cartoon among all the others produced by Moonscoop. There therefore basically was no reason to develop so far.

Once these two guideline documents were developed, the writing of season 1 was launched. Scripts were written between the 16th of January and the 8th of July 2002. The first 26 episodes then went into the creation stage. The series was then completed.

Image

3 September 2003.
Code Lyoko arrived on French screens, marking the birthday of our cartoon. The series arrived on France 3. It was broadcast until the 25th of February 2004.
During the following months, the series arrived in the United States, broadcast Cartoon Network on the 19th of April 2004, and arrived on Canal J back in France in September of the same year: the franchise had launched successfully.
 

Season 2, creation of the backstory & birth of the community
 
Image

Moonscoop realised this long before the arrival of Code Lyoko on Canal J. Discussions then begun for season 2...and the very least we can say is that everything went quickly. On the 7th of October 2004, the first scripts from season 2 had already emerged...

Before getting there, two key steps.
The first: the writers of Code Lyoko were very interested in the opinions of fans of the series. Thus, during the broadcast of season 1, they went on the Catsuka.com forum, where a discussion about the cartoon was born. Under the guise of pseudonyms that hid nothing about their identity, they took part in discussions with fans. From there, they talked about the cartoon: its faults, its good qualities...and especially what the fans would like to get answers about later, mainly on the concept.

The second step was crucial.
Code Lyoko was no longer just a cartoon, but a franchise with potential success. Rather than a repetitive season (like season 1 was), season 2 revolved around a scenario. Sophie Decroisette and Jérôme Mouscadet then changed the Literary Bible we talked about before. They created the entire series background. To put it simply: they invented the origin of Lyoko... The story of Franz Hopper, the creation of the Supercomputer and Lyoko, XANA's revolt. Everything was created at that time. The Literary Bible wouldn't change again until the end of season 4.

The final step: the 3D-CGI was redesigned to boost the series.
The heroes' outfits changed slightly in season 2 (appearance of Yumi's second fan)... New monsters, new places appeared...and especially, Lyoko changed in appearance, becoming brighter, the Forest Sector especially being highly modified.

Image Image

And the writing of season 2 commenced...
The episodes were written between the 7th of October 2004 and 17th of April 2005...

The series only had a small fanbase, scattered over several fansites and blogs... Let's note this little date: 27th of July 2004, CodeLyoko.fr was born.

Image

As the series became a success, season 2 was the subject of a modest advertising campaign. You can find all the information available to fans in the file CodeLyoko.fr concocted at the time.


But there was something more salivation-worthy... This trailer drew many new fans to the series cause... (Notably Shaka, who arrived on CodeLyoko.fr after seeing it... That's worth mentioning, right?)


And the starting signal was fired. Season 2 aired on France 3 from the 31st of August 2005, at a rate of one episode every Wednesday morning. The run lasted until the 8th of February 2006. The USA had also jumped on board and season 2 arrived on Cartoon Network on the 19th of September 2005, less than a month after the start of the French run. Trade agreements made Canal J only able to begin broadcasting after France 3's run had ended. The episodes arrived on the children's channel on the 15th of April 2006.

On the community side, on the 1st of September 2005, V4 of CodeLyoko.fr opened its doors: the site became an essential reference on the show.
 

Birth of a titan
 
The work done on season 2 was already unusual for a simple children's series. But though season 2 was just supposed to be a continuation of season 1, it became the narrative arc that would launch Code Lyoko. Its success would boom...to such an extent that even before the French broadcast was completed, the existence of a continuation was already guaranteed!

The franchise found huge financial partners in France 3, Canal J and Cartoon Network. The phenomenal audience figures of the series on these channels attracted funding... Season 2 hadn't even finished airing and two new seasons had already been ordered...a total of 45 episodes.

Image

The licence took off.
Related products began to emerge. The flagship products so far are a series of children's books published by Hachette in the Bibliothèque Verte collection. The books retold the story of the episodes. The first volume came out on the 5th of October 2005. There were no less than 12 volumes by December 2009!
Simultaneously in October 2005, a Panini sticker album was published.

Other products were commercialised, but rather clumsily. Especially DVDs of seasons 1 and 2...that didn't cover all the episodes. And it wasn't until 2011 that all four seasons were released in English. You can find the release dates on the DVDs page.
 

 
 Code Lyoko, after an engaging start on France 3 and Cartoon Network, revealed its potential with season 2, mainly through Canal J and Cartoon Network. The success of the series quickly brought more related products and two new seasons. 
 

 
 
[Back: Origins][Home][Next: Climax]

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
ipv6 ready

2002 - 2005 : La naissance et essor de Code Lyoko (Saison 1 & 2)
 
 
Image
[Les origines]
Image
[La naissance]
Image
[Le paroxysme]
Image
[Reloaded]
Image
[Evolution]
 
 

Garage Kids devient Code Lyoko : Saison 1
 
Suite au départ de Thomas Romain, la création du projet Code Lyoko démarre. Tania Palumbo devient directrice artistique. C'est à ce moment que s'élaborent deux documents-clefs de la série animée.
Le premier est la Bible Graphique : Un ouvrage qui fixe les costumes de chaque personnage, l'apparence des monstres, le design des décors... en bref, tout l'Univers graphique de la série. Dieu nous bénisse, après un travail titanesque de recherche, CodeLyoko.fr a réussi a obtenir un exemplaire de cette Bible. Vous pouvez donc le retrouver ici même :


Le second élément est élaboré en concertation avec le réalisateur, le directeur d'écriture de la saison 1 et Tania. Deux figures majeures de la licence Code Lyoko émergent alors : Jérôme Mouscadet, réalisateur des 4 saisons. Et Sophie Decroisette, directrice d'écriture des 3 premières.
Le second élément qui s'élabore est la Bible Littéraire de la série. Cette Bible résume tout le scénario et tout le concept de la série. Il ne rentre pas dans le détail des saisons. En revanche, il définit les relations entre les personnages, décrit l'histoire personnelle de chacun (ami, famille, éléments du passé, âge...) et le concept général de l'Histoire : Fonctionnement de Lyoko, année de déroulement etc...

Ces deux documents restent néanmoins très fragmentaires. En effet, à l'époque, Code Lyoko n'avait pas révélé son potentiel et n'était qu'un dessin animé parmi tous ceux produits par Moonscoop. Il n'y avait donc pas de raison de développer fondamentalement.

Une fois ces deux éléments directeurs élaborés, la rédaction de la première saison est lancée. Les scripts seront rédigés entre le 16 janvier et le 8 juillet 2002. Les 26 premiers épisodes passent alors par la case réalisation. La série est alors bouclée.

Image

3 septembre 2003.
Arrivée de Code Lyoko sur les écrans et date d'anniversaire de notre dessin animé. La série arrive sur France 3. Elle sera diffusée jusqu'au 25 février 2004.
Durant les mois qui suivent, la série arrive aux Etats Unis avec un début de diffusion sur Cartoon Network le 19 avril 2004 et une arrivée sur Canal J en septembre de la même année : La franchise a bien réussi son lancement.
 

Saison 2, création de la back-story & naissance de la communauté
 
Image

Moonscoop s'en rend compte bien avant l'arrivée de Code Lyoko sur Canal J. Des discussions sont alors lancées pour la saison 2... et le moins qu'on puisse dire, c'est qu'elles aboutissent rapidement. Le 7 octobre 2004, les premiers scripts de la saison 2 ont déjà vu le jour...

Avant d'en arriver là, deux étapes-clefs.
La première : Les scénaristes de Code Lyoko se sont révélés très intéressés par l'avis des fans de la série. C'est ainsi que durant la diffusion de la première saison, ils se sont rendus sur le forum Catsuka.com, où une discussion était née sur le dessin-animé. Sous couvert de pseudonymes qui ne cachaient rien de leur identité, ils prennent part aux discussions avec les fans. De là, ils échangent sur le dessin animé : Ses défauts, ses qualités... et surtout ce que les fans aimeraient obtenir comme réponse par la suite, sur le concept notamment.

La seconde étape est primordiale.
Code Lyoko n'est plus un simple dessin animé mais une franchise à succès potentielle. Plutôt qu'une saison répétitive (comme l'était la saison 1), la saison 2 sera basée sur un scénario. Sophie Decroisette et Jérôme Mouscadet modifient alors la Bible Littéraire dont nous avons parlé. Ils créent l'intégralité du back-ground de la série. Pour parler plus simplement : Ils inventent l'intégralité des origines de Lyoko... L'histoire de Franz Hopper, la création du Supercalculateur et de Lyoko, la révolte de XANA. Tout est intégralement inventé à ce moment là. La Bible Littéraire ne bougera plus jusqu'à la fin de la saison 4.

Dernière étape, la 3D-CGI est repensée pour booster la série.
C'est ainsi que les costumes des héros évolueront légèrement dans la saison 2 (Apparition du second éventail de Yumi)... De nouveaux monstres, nouveaux lieux apparaissent... et surtout, Lyoko change d'apparence, devenant plus lumineux, notamment le Territoire de la Forêt qui est bien modifié.

Image Image

Et l'écriture de la saison 2 commence...
Les épisodes sont rédigés entre le 07 octobre 2004 et le 17 avril 2005...

La série n'avait alors qu'un petit socle de fans, éparpillés sur plusieurs fansites & blog... Notons cette petite date : Le 27 juillet 2004, CodeLyoko.fr nait.

Image

Comme la série a obtenu du succès, la saison 2 fait l'objet d'une modeste campagne de publicité. Vous pouvez retrouver l'intégralité des informations à disposition des fans dans le dossier que Code Lyoko.fr avait concocté à l'époque.


Mais voici de quoi se mettre encore plus l'eau à la bouche... Cette bande-annonce a conquis de nombreux nouveaux fans à la cause de la série... (Notamment Shaka qui est arrivé sur CodeLyoko.fr après l'avoir vue... Ca mérite d'être mentionné, non ?)


Et le top départ est lancé. La saison 2 est diffusée sur France 3 à partir du 31 aout 2005, à raison d'un épisode tous les mercredis matin. La diffusion dure jusqu'au 8 février 2006. Les USA ont bien saisi la vague Code Lyoko puisque la saison 2 débarque sur Cartoon Network dès le 19 septembre 2005, même pas un mois après le début de la diffusion française. Les accords commerciaux font que Canal J ne commence la diffusion qu'après que France 3 a fini. Les épisodes arrivent sur la chaine jeunesse le 15 avril 2006.

Côté communauté, le 1er septembre 2005, la V4 de CodeLyoko.Fr ouvrait ses portes : Le site devenait une référence incontournable en la matière.
 

Naissance d'un titan
 
Le travail fournit sur la saison 2 était déjà inhabituel pour une simple série jeunesse. Mais si la saison 2 ne devait être qu'un prolongement de la saison 1, elle deviendra l'arc narratif qui lancera Code Lyoko. Son succès sera tonitruant... a tel point qu'avant même que la diffusion française ne soit terminée, l'existence d'une suite est déjà assurée !

La franchise a trouvé en France 3, Canal J et Cartoon Network des partenaires financiers assurés de taille. Les chiffres d'audience phénoménaux de la série sur les chaines ont séduit les financeurs... La saison 2 n'a pas fini d'être diffusée que deux nouvelles saisons sont commandées... dans un tout de 45 épisodes.

Image

La licence s'est envolée.
Les produits dérivés commencent à faire leur apparition. Les produits phare sont pour l'instant une série de romans-jeunesse publiée chez Hachette dans la Bibliothèque Verte. Les livres reprennent l'histoire des épisodes. Le premier tome sort le 05 octobre 2005. Il y aura pas moins de 12 tomes jusqu'en décembre 2009 !
Simultanément en octobre 2005, un album-sticker parait chez Panini.

D'autres produits dérivés sortent mais assez maladroitement. Notamment des VHS et DVD de la saison 1... mais qui ne couvrent pas l'intégralité des épisodes. Vous pouvez retrouver toutes les dates de sortie sur la page d'accueil de la rubrique dans le tableau.
 

 
 Code Lyoko, après un début engageant sur France 3 et Cartoon Network, se révèle avec la saison 2 à travers notamment Canal J et Cartoon Network. Le succès de la série va rapidement amener plus de produits dérivés et deux nouvelles saisons. Avant de passer à la page suivante, vous pouvez consulter ce PDF ainsi que celui-ci pour avoir un témoignage chiffré du score de la série. Documents d'époque ! 
 

 
 
[Retour : Origines][Retour à l'accueil][Suite : Paroxysme]